Birmingham City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with colleagues who want to be treated equally in the work place.
Legal Clerk (Former Employee) –  Woodcock Street, Birmingham B7 4LB18 August 2018
I believe I was good in myprevious role until it changed to Birmingham Childrens Trust when the training I should have got three months prior to the change did not take place. Had the training been given to me I believe I would have managed my new roles better.
Pros
Meals at the place of work can be taken
Cons
The Council care for all ethnic backgrounds, Working alongside colleagues with same work ethics, Management help to progress career prospects, Learning new skills to progress the future of The Council, Working for the Council is a job well earned, Becoming a permanent member of The Council instead of an Agency worker, The work I did at The Council was valuable to me as well as The Council.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good company
Gym instructor/Lifeguard (38 hour weekly) (Former Employee) –  West Midlands17 August 2018
Okay company to work for,lack of progression,friendly staff.working hours are good,pay you on time,however mostly work on a 0 hour contract,management are overall okay.
Pros
good work, family time balance
Cons
poor uniform, false promises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Gardener (Former Employee) –  Birmingham7 August 2018
Had no problems extra ppe was provided when needed tools and equipment were maintained and the management was fair and thoughtful
Summer contracts night
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Payroll Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 July 2018
I worked on a four weekly payroll. I entered starters, leavers, made adjustments to the individuals payrolls, i.e.court orders, bike to work.
calculated ssp, smp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun energetic place to wrk
Team Leader/Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 July 2018
A really good place to work with people from all types of backgrounds working here.the managemnet are ok as long as ur seen to completing work then they leave u alone not strict at all and the managementvteam that I have had dealings with have been very helpful and supportive a job for lif if ur lucky enough to keep one
Pros
Excellent working hours
Cons
Some of the people u wrk with smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable
Clerical assistant (Former Employee) –  pay freeze, stale management3 July 2018
Reasonable place to work although more stressful after all the cuts and pay has been frozen foryears which means a pay cut. management seem to stay for all the wrong reasons- need fresh management
Pros
flexible working
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a variety of in house facilities
Account Executive Commissioning Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham25 June 2018
A typical day can be very productive depending how you plan your work. Clarity in communication and co-ordination with stakeholders is very important.
Pros
Flexible time, working from home, hot desking
Cons
Breakdown in communication, IT issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dreadful
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands19 June 2018
Dreadful place to work, treated like a robot, not interested in helping customers just sticking to targets. No parking senior management useless!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work in winter
Street Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands15 June 2018
deceny people to work with and as i say very cold working outside during the winter months the management were very easy going and very friendly and the rest andrecreation facilities were also very good
Pros
ok in summer
Cons
notin winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Casual Pupil Guide (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands21 May 2018
I've learnt more in this placement than any other, was given the chance to actually work and show that i am capable and reliable. That i can overcome obstacles and was as an individual.
Pros
Everyday was a learning experience.
Cons
Mobiles were not allowed to be charged on premesis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied opportunities and challenges
Comissioning Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham City Centre, West Midlands17 May 2018
Experience in a wide range of areas and opportunities which enabled me to develop new and existing skills. Very supportive colleagues and managers. Really enjoyed the variety on a daily basis and it was very rare that any 2 days were the same.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Computer Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 May 2018
Good job to take up however had to give up due to life events and as I was employed as a temporary teacher, therefore did not get paid for all of the holidays
Pros
Holidays
Cons
Secure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive career
Pest Controller (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 April 2018
I enjoyed my career as i picked up alot of skills and knowledge.
I worked with the public on a day to day basis so i met alot of different people.
i learnt how to use dangerous chemicals and positions safely
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birmingham City Council
Travel Trainer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 April 2018
They are really keen for people to advance through various training courses to ensure the service user benefits and provide day to day support through line managers.
Pros
None
Cons
Unnecessary red tape and cut backs in the wrong areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Inviting, Vibrant learning environment
Class Teacher (Current Employee) –  Birmingham19 March 2018
A typical day in work is an overall duty of care to young children. while teaching them the national curriculum.

The day consists of taking registers, teaching children, assessing their academical need and providing support to improve the learning abilities.

The management is amazing, always providing new opportunities for professional development.

All staff work closely together like a family, brilliant role models to the children.
Pros
Great professional development opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changing
Voulenteer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 March 2018
Been a pleasure working For this company and how teachers are a positive influence on learners in their adult education centres, lovely people and a lovely environment to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a place were there is not a lot of trouble
Youth Worker Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 March 2018
Aday volunteering is a hassal but it is a good place for youths to relax provided by the birmingham city council. it is also a place were older people could stay and enjoy time playing pool etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for pension and benefits
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 February 2018
Birmingham city council were always a good company to work for apart from the salary is lower than average and the pay rises are non existent.
He benefits of a good pension and long term sickness should you need it are a good benefit
Pros
Pension
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  woodcock street28 February 2018
it was good place to work but requires a lot of patience. I think the job is more fitted for people that can deal with being under pressure by the public as some of the customers can be aggressive over the phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun some days
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 February 2018
Typical day at work make tea & toast when the service users come in breakfast set up activities do the menu order for lunch assist anyone encouraged the toilet
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Birmingham City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 282 reviews
581
496
383
28
114

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Birmingham City Council Reviews by Location