Birmingham City Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Casual Pupil Guide (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands21 May 2018
I've learnt more in this placement than any other, was given the chance to actually work and show that i am capable and reliable. That i can overcome obstacles and was as an individual.
Pros
Everyday was a learning experience.
Cons
Mobiles were not allowed to be charged on premesis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Overall
Computer Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Birmingham13 May 2018
Good job to take up however had to give up due to life events and as I was employed as a temporary teacher, therefore did not get paid for all of the holidays
Pros
Holidays
Cons
Secure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive career
Pest Controller (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 April 2018
I enjoyed my career as i picked up alot of skills and knowledge.
I worked with the public on a day to day basis so i met alot of different people.
i learnt how to use dangerous chemicals and positions safely
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birmingham City Council
Travel Trainer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 April 2018
They are really keen for people to advance through various training courses to ensure the service user benefits and provide day to day support through line managers.
Pros
None
Cons
Unnecessary red tape and cut backs in the wrong areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Inviting, Vibrant learning environment
Class Teacher (Current Employee) –  Birmingham19 March 2018
A typical day in work is an overall duty of care to young children. while teaching them the national curriculum.

The day consists of taking registers, teaching children, assessing their academical need and providing support to improve the learning abilities.

The management is amazing, always providing new opportunities for professional development.

All staff work closely together like a family, brilliant role models to the children.
Pros
Great professional development opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changing
Voulenteer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 March 2018
Been a pleasure working For this company and how teachers are a positive influence on learners in their adult education centres, lovely people and a lovely environment to be around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a place were there is not a lot of trouble
Youth Worker Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 March 2018
Aday volunteering is a hassal but it is a good place for youths to relax provided by the birmingham city council. it is also a place were older people could stay and enjoy time playing pool etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for pension and benefits
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 February 2018
Birmingham city council were always a good company to work for apart from the salary is lower than average and the pay rises are non existent.
He benefits of a good pension and long term sickness should you need it are a good benefit
Pros
Pension
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  woodcock street28 February 2018
it was good place to work but requires a lot of patience. I think the job is more fitted for people that can deal with being under pressure by the public as some of the customers can be aggressive over the phone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun some days
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham27 February 2018
Typical day at work make tea & toast when the service users come in breakfast set up activities do the menu order for lunch assist anyone encouraged the toilet
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good working environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 February 2018
I used to management the project to increases the membership to the library services from the Asian and ethnic minority. directly dealing with community organisation and individuals and organizing programmer to promote the councils services.
Pros
fuel paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Placement
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 February 2018
I received excellent support and guidance throughout my first practice placement. I had the opportunity to hone my skills as a social worker. I was provided with excellent opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swish building
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 February 2018
the office was very contemporary and a fun place to work in. The staff were really friendly and management was supportive when starting a new role. I was able to approach the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Street Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Birmingham10 February 2018
I would go into work sign in then gather work mates jump in the van and go clean the streets like overgrown alleyways edging the footpaths graffiti removing and then putting green bags in the waste management truck then go an dispose it ar violia
Pros
One
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work place
Waste Collector (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 February 2018
Working on the bins was a early start job witch u need to get stuck right in, positive work colleagues who work together as a trange to get the job finished
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive company
Community Enablement Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands30 January 2018
always provided with referrals
excellent work life balance
in passed gave excellent training but not anymore
very good support to community
worked for them for 23 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Refuse Collector (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 January 2018
I enjoyed my job as a bin man and other roles id had to take part in I as happy to be part of the team made friends and helping the streets to stay clean
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
EHC Transfer Review Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 January 2018
Job is constantly changing. There are no days the same. It is very challenging but rewarding when you achieve good results for the service users you work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Part time Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands17 January 2018
ok for a part time students job whilst studying. pay isn't very good but as a casual worker you can boost your income by choosing to do more hours. staff are friendly too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Birmingham (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 January 2018
I absolutely loved working for Birmingham City Council. I would go back to the same job any day as i enjoyed it very much.

As a result of becoming a full time mummy at the time i had to give it up but would definitely say that it was the best place i work in.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Birmingham City Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 272 reviews
580
491
380
28
113

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Birmingham City Council Reviews by Location