Bill's Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 90 reviews matching the search See all 97 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bill's
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Epsom9 February 2019
Generally a very pleasant place to work. Management were hardworking and fair. Free meals for each shift were a great perk. Competetive salary. Typical stresses of the hospitality industry when the restaurant was busy. Great team and atmosphere made it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to cook
Chef (Former Employee) –  Southampton, UK18 January 2019
Prepared hot and cold food for a busy restaurant
Able to multi-task and manage my workload
Stay calm whilst working under pressure in a busy environment
Stock rotation tasks required attention to detail
Preparing reports at the end of the week, including staff control, food control and sales
Maintaining high standards of quality control, hygiene and health and safety
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bills
part time waitressing staff from October 2016 (Former Employee) –  Marlow16 January 2019
I loved working at bills challenging myself individually and helping to work as a team to create success. i thrived working under pressure when the restaurant was full and when faced with customers upset i addressed the situation with composure and positiveness.
Pros
lunch, paid fortnightly, good management, clothing
Cons
not allowed tips, did not recieve service charge
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere, good work ethic, positive attitude
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City15 January 2019
As a manager I was responsible for leading evening service, taking care of delivering sales targets and providing customer service. Best part of this job is interaction with customer. Only bad part is long working hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Waitress/Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Marlow, Buckinghamshire10 January 2019
Fun work place, nice people, excellent management .
Hardest time is Christmas time and weekends.
Service charge is not for staff thats is very disappointing. They just stool our money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef
Chef (Current Employee) –  London2 January 2019
I make preparations of dishes following the guidelines already established by the restaurant. Make sufficient preparations prior to lunch and dinner services.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Sheffield22 November 2018
I did 3 days here then quit. They put service charge on the bill that does not go to the staff, it is used to top up the hourly pay and God knows where the rest goes-clearly the company... Was told that it was a "grey area" by colleagues when it came to knowing what happened to the service. I even over heard a manager lie to a customer telling them that it went to us. The kitchen was upstairs making it not only awkward to carry food down the stairs but also dangerous as you can't see where you're walking. There is a lot of outdoor furniture to bring in and out every day and this is done despite wind or rain, summer/winter. I've worked in a lot of places and this is by far the worst.
Pros
"Free food"... Which isn't free seeing as staff recieve the service charge
Cons
Service charge does not all go to the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving and rewarding company
Waiter/Bartender/Senior Team Manager (Current Employee) –  dishes, UK15 November 2018
Working at Bills consists of serving and upselling to customers, managers on shift give their full support. However i do feel the marketing ideas to which the head office come up with are not beneficial. But in the day to day life at bill's the whole team is enthusiastic which the company believes is one of the main points in providing a great customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mangement are a joke
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  glasgow16 October 2018
unless you are applying for managers role the place is a joke. not very well managed. breaks can be difficult to take due to busyness. full menu changes every 3 months and no one is ever ready for the change but expect everything to work out fine. management do whatever they can to NOT help you in anyway (with the odd exception) expect you to have things made in less time than it takes to cook and if its not done in the 10 mins you have theyr in your face until its ready.
Pros
free meals from a set menu (cheapest options) unless your managent
Cons
management, hours are long, busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not as fresh as it used to be
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  West Sussex15 October 2018
typical day of work would be ordering, putting invoice on the operating system used, ensuring kitchen is up to a high standard of cleaning meeting companies high standards.
Pros
100% off of food bill in any bills
Cons
not allowed an opinion
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa agradavel e dinâmica para trabalhar
Garcçonete (Former Employee) –  Berkshire7 October 2018
Gostei de trabalhar no Bill's. O equipe de trabalho foi muito animado e os encarregados sempre disponíveis para solucionar o ajudar você em caso de ter um problema.
Não são perfeitos, como qualquer empresa tem seus problemas de coordenação, mas mesmo assim foi uma boa experiência.
Pros
Refeição na empresa
Cons
As pausas, muito cortas.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Social workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Cardiff20 September 2018
Very well organised and run. Managers are friendly and approachable. Staff are welcoming and inclusive. Extensive and detailed training.Ways to progress.
Pros
Hours, wage, perks
Cons
Christmas time period is very hectic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  London20 September 2018
I started as a kitchen porter and now I am an assistant manager. Good company to get experience. As a manager you need to work 6 shifts per week spread in 5 days.
Pros
Meals on duty, staff and manager discount. Payed holidays.
Cons
Service charge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex6 August 2018
Wages paid by your service charges. You don't really get tipped as service charge 10%is on each bill. All staff gets back is 20 min break and free burger over 10 hour shift. Extremely heavy outside furniture was carried out by girls when it was - 3 at 7 am in Chelmsford.
If you in management it's not bad.
Pros
Burger and full English breakfast for free after 6hour shift
Cons
Busy, understaffed, no budget, no stop working and very robotic
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively and fast paced
Waitress (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire19 July 2018
There is a strong team that always has your back. Working with people you enjoy is easy and fun and I really enjoyed my time there. I would recommend bill's restaurant as a job placement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine place to work
Waiter/Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Surrey5 July 2018
Bills was a quite a good company to work for. Flexibility around shifts and days of working was great. I was was also easy for me to move between two of there locations were I had to move home but also keep my job.
Pros
Staff food
Cons
Tips not shared evenly between staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Barista/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Glasgow3 July 2018
Bill's it's a big british company where it's possible to learn good skills in the hospitality range. Everything is organized to reflect the philosophy of the brand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Taunton23 June 2018
Typical day was waitressing and dealing with your own sections on the shop floor.
Learned skills including: communication, customer interaction
Hardest part of the job: fitting in with staff
Most enjoyable part of the job: interacting with customers
Pros
free lunches
Cons
bad team ethic
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company and managment
Team Member - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex16 May 2018
No service charge, no brakes, under staff always!Very bad and pore managment! Treat everyone different! Contract with 0-8 hours. Dodgy Terms & Conditions
Pros
Non really.. nice team ( if same people still in there, but dint think so)
Cons
Long hours, no lunch or brakes, unprofesional line manager, no service charge, dont waste your time. Use service charge to pay your wages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Kitchen porter (Former Employee) –  London28 April 2018
Hard work,very busy in the week end.
Good atmosphere and friendly customers.
good communication with the restaurant team.
I was very busy in the section kitchen porter.
Pros
tasty food
Cons
finish work late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bill's Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 97 reviews
528
432
318
211
18

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture