BDO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work - Easy to grow
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  St Helier, Jersey16 April 2018
I was always working in the BDO network. BDO Jersey has quite a different atmosphere as compared to BDO Mauritius. BDO helped to grow career-wise and I am always grateful to BDO.
Pros
Flexible lunch time
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retained Employee
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire26 March 2018
Work on Consultancy basis to tidy up the Administration of Dixon Motors and collect Debts
All Staff Approachable
All Tasks Treated with discretion and enjoyable time
Pros
All
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Personal Assistant to Director (Former Employee) –  London26 March 2018
Fantastic people! Great London location. All round great company to work for especially if you want to progress your career quickly. Hours are also great!
Pros
Subsidised lunch
Cons
Arent any!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funplace to work
Manager - Tax and Accounting (Current Employee) –  Valence4 March 2018
Involved and innovative partners.
Funplace to work.
Many extra-work events.
A lot of autonomy given as long as tasks are completed.
I strongly recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low salary, repetitive work
Assistant Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk23 February 2018
Good for learning and sits nicely on cv. Very low salary and management doesnt care about your progression. I dont know about other departments but central hubs are not recommended as you are used on very low wages and next to zero progression opurtunities.
Pros
Free fruit
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Mixed Bunch
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire21 February 2018
I have an overall positive experience with this company, as a whole. The office is located in a central position in a fairly new building and is a pleasant atmosphere to work in.

BDO tries to instil company values but I am not sure how effective they are.

In my experience, it appears that the more senior fee-earning staff and certain departments are able to reap more rewards than others.
Pros
Away Days & The odd free lunch
Cons
High Expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Trainee Accountant (Former Employee) –  Ware13 February 2018
Compiled accounts for small businesses and conducted regular audits. Learnt to work accurately, to work well as part of a team and to tight client deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mi perfil
Reception Manager (Current Employee) –  London1 February 2018
Me apasiona brindar un excelente servicio al cliente y creo en inspirar al equipo dando el ejemplo.
Puedo trabajar bajo presión y enfrentar situaciones exigentes de manera profesional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate environment
Risk Advisory Services Trainee (Former Employee) –  Glasgow28 January 2018
Most time is spent at desk working to very tight deadlines. There is very little guidance on how to complete tasks. It is very much a sink or swim environment for new graduates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old fashioned attitudes
PA to Audit Partner (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire17 January 2018
The environment in the Nottingham office was one of fear and uncertainty. Certain managers behaved in a way where staff were shouted at in front of the whole office, spoken down to and at times made to feel embarrassed due to the vociferous manner in which they were spoken to on a daily basis. I would not recommend this office as a good place to work.
Pros
Within walking distance
Cons
Disrespectful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about BDO?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Administrator (Former Employee) –  London17 October 2017
Working in BDO was amazing it was so educational and I found it helped me a lot to further my skills. My overall experience was good, I got to learn how the office environment works and working with different people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Senior audit advisor (Current Employee) –  London24 September 2017
Friendly staff but alot of favouritism and slow career progression.
work ethics is okay.
I enjoy training new staff as this involves coming out your comfort zone and teaching new and ethusastic staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable company
Partner PA (Former Employee) –  London2 September 2017
As an accountancy firm. I enjoyed the work as a Personal Assistant to Partners. The role was varied and interesting.

Room for development and a lot of support was available at all job levels.

Professional atmosphere maintained at all time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice culture
Internship (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 August 2017
Kept busy throughout the day as an intern, amazing staff (friendly and helpful), you could discuss both work related and everyday related stuff. Nice building
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplacces
Audit assistant manager (Current Employee) –  London12 August 2017
Great team work, learning opportunity and career advancement. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people and the wide range of clients you will see from different industries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insightful internship
Work Placements & Internship (Former Employee) –  Glasgow9 August 2017
I took this internship in the Glasgow branch but we were taken for induction to the firm down in London. this gave us a great insight into the culture on a much larger level while working in Glasgow gave me an understanding of the kind of day-to-day tasks involved in accountancy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Audit Senior (Current Employee) –  Belfast City Centre, County Antrim6 July 2017
An enjoyable place to work which and an effective learning environment. The culture of the firm fosters a sense of community and continuous improvement
Pros
Location
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working hours and great place to work
Payables Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire4 July 2017
Rapidly growing business, amazing people to work with and for. Career progression opportunities. A very relaxed working environment but focuses on deliverables.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace with encouraging colleagues
Executive (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire18 June 2017
I truly enjoyed working at BDO, all colleagues were supportive and positive. Management are very professional and at the same time friendly towards others.A great atmosphere at work, definitely a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London30 May 2017
pro- good work life balance, good benefits

con- salary is not very competitive, no bonus so very little incentive to go above and beyond expectations to get rewarded, overall focus on coaching & development program does not compare to big 4 (much worse)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BDO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 904 reviews
5245
4336
3236
256
131

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture