BBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 August 2017
it was a very rewarding place to work, always something different going on from early morning events to live shows with the complex, different people.
Pros
I enjoyed the culture
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  White City4 August 2017
Fantastic place to work. A lot of great people to meet during my time there. Such a vast and faced place to also work with.
Every person was very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Broadcast Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London1 August 2017
Worked in different platforms which gave me the opportunity to learn new things and open to learn and able to work under pressure. BBC helps you to improve your skills.
Pros
you have rights
Cons
Arabic department is a total mess
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job with great opportunities
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Salford1 August 2017
Working at the BBC was great, all of the teams were so interesting and talented. I often met celebrities which taught me a very high level of professionalism which I admire. This job taught me so many things, that I still use in my day to day and work life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BBC Bitesize
Model (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 July 2017
amazing people and an amazing experience I would recommend anyone apply for a job with the bbc its really interesting and I really enjoyed it there although some people may have to travel quite a journey to the studios.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, professional work place
TV Extra (Former Employee) –  Manchester26 July 2017
Friendly cast and crew members assure you are fully informed of what you need to do. The nature of the job can mean you may be on set for hours completing various tasks. You learn alot about how professional filming is done and how you should conduct yourself whilst on set.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity as a work placement
Animator (Former Employee) –  Bristol17 July 2017
I secured valuable work experience at the BBC for their listening project. I was tasked with producing a film based on audio tracks from the BBC Listening Project. Which took me 5 months to complete. I had a lot of support from the BBC in terms of Facilities and Feedback as well as a huge amount of creative freedom.
Pros
Creative Freedom
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Journalist (Current Employee) –  London15 July 2017
-Productive environment
- Fun workplace and nice colleagues
-Possibility to work on different projects
- Many opportunities for career development
- Many trainings and courses
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Steps in FM
Facilities Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 July 2017
This position introduced me to the field of FM and showed me my new career path, which I have been in for the last 17 years. It was an exciting and formative role that opened the door to FM for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for young people
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 July 2017
Very friendly staff, were always happy to let interns engage with activity and always gave fait and helpful advice. They were carefully organised and sought to involve the interns as much as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about BBC?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely love working for BBC News but no job security for freelance and money not great
Freelance Cameraman (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 July 2017
Shooting and editing news for the BBC sure beats working for a living - which I've done as well and it sucks. The real downside is I'm freelance so zero job security and the pay hasn't really increased in the last 15 years. Also if you take a job it is really hard to get career progression because nobody leaves and you have to wait for the old gits to drop dead on air before they make way for the hundreds of people waiting for a job to open.

Overall it's a brilliant way to earn a crust.
Pros
Varied and creative work
Cons
Little chance for career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
TV Producer (Former Employee) –  London6 July 2017
Working at the BBC is never dull!
Everyday offered different challenges and opportunities. It was a pleasure to work alongside such bright and well-motivated colleagues.
Opportunities for career advancement are many and varied. Pay is generally good.
Don't expect fat expense accounts or company cars, but the work itself is very satisfying, especially if you enjoy working to tight deadlines.
Management is generally supportive.
Hours can be long and days can be hectic. (Expect to eat "on the go") But the work is mostly fun.
You also have the kudos of working for one of the best-known and most respected organisations in the World.
Pros
Very interesting and varied work.
Cons
Long hours, sometimes hectic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse workforce
PMO Coordinator (Current Employee) –  White City, Greater London5 July 2017
Working for BBC for 2 years, it's great place to work.
Diverse workforce. Everyone works for the same common goal.friendly people.

High-quality training that you can't get it from somewhere else.
Pros
Ggreat people, long hours, lots of pressure, great experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative environment but little job security
Assistant Producer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester27 June 2017
Brilliant, down to earth colleagues - but vey management heavy and difficult to progress through through the ranks. Good place for a career starter but not much long term potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn new skills and develop your potential
Multimedia producer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 June 2017
The best thing about the BBC is people who work there. Creative, dedicated and professional.
The best part of the job was to know that your work made an impact.
Pros
Pension scheme
Cons
Too many management layers
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Supporting Artist (Former Employee) –  Nottingham8 June 2017
This was only for a bbc drama support work. But it was a great couple of days, yet busy, still fun! I would recommend TV support work to anyone who wants to gain tv experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great expierence
RUNNER (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 May 2017
Had to great time here. A normal day would include a motivational talk as well as lots of love. I learned how to conduct myself in a business environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Management Accountant - Education Finance (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 May 2017
How working for a non-profit company reflects on ugency to get things done.
Almost lost to the workplace and it culture.
Understanding the company and it structure.
Pros
Great place to learn
Cons
Structure of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning
Production Trainee (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow22 May 2017
Everyday different, great fun, lovely people. Learned lots of stuff relating to TV, radio, online. How to film, how to interview, research work. Very valuable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Customer service agent & Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Sittingbourne, Kent13 May 2017
This was a school leaving position and enabled me to learn as much as I could from leaving school.

Great for learning the foundations of sales and customer service in a busy environment.
Pros
Lunch facilities and good planning of rota
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 339 reviews
5183
491
349
213
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture