BaxterStorey Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 104 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sous Chef
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire11 February 2019
I worked for the company for a year after telling one of the staff to stop picking her nose and handling money while serving food I got fired.
This is not a good company to work for if your right your wrong. I have a military back ground in cooking so I am very hard on staff but for the right reasons. To make them pay attention do the job right not cook how they cook at home to try and be professional. I would not advise going here if you want to advance your self in the industry
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i work at baxterstorey at presant
Catering Manager (Current Employee) –  net work rail9 February 2019
fill deli counter serve coffees work on the counter cash up take money re stock clean up mop up making sure the kitchean is left clean and take temperatures and filling in allergens sheets I am a fully trained allegen champion
Pros
free lunch
Cons
early start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
profesional
Asistente de hospitalidad (Former Employee) –  Londres25 January 2019
• Las responsabilidades incluyen la reposición de existencias Y Procesamiento de órdenes
• Transacciones en efectivo
• mantener un entorno que cumpla con los estándares de salud y seguridad
• Ayudar con éxito en el logro de objetivos, manteniendo altos estándares de servicio al cliente.
• Respetar las regulaciones de salud y seguridad y manejar el sistema de reservas para asegurar el buen funcionamiento del restaurante.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Graduate Manager (Former Employee) –  London, England23 January 2019
The company was amazing to work for. Very helpful and understood work life balance. There is loads of training available to employees and the company is a fair company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that is always pushing to get the best out of there staff
Manager (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire14 January 2019
I have worked for baxterstorey for 15 years and have progressed over the years.
They are a company that will always try there hardest to get the best out of you.
The company is like one big family and if you ever needed help or advice there is always someone from whichever department you needed on hand to help
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
A big responsibilty
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunities
Various Roles (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend10 January 2019
I previously worked here for a number of years and thoroughly enjoyed my time with the company. I received excellent support and training opportunities and my hard work was quickly recognised by my manager who then provided the support and opportunities to progress within my role.
The team I worked with were like a family to me and as with all families things dont always run smooth. But when things went wrong in our family we always resolved the issues promptly.
Stressful environment under pressure and often understaffed but overall a positive working experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So many opportunities
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  North West3 December 2018
Its a company that has seen large growth. It has some really amazing people that are committed to each other.

Sometimes they get it wrong but having worked for other similar companies the difference is they care.

Everyday brings different challenges and opportunities, you are expected to work at your level and take ownership of your own little part of the bigger picture,

Everyone always see the negatives as they are easier to criticise. If only peoples natural approach was to see and comment on the positives!!!

If you are a self starter and want to make a career then you have to prove you can do it and then take your team with you on the journey.

its fun but hard work.
Pros
Career opportunities
Cons
they don't always communicate as well as they could
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here!
Catering Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea30 November 2018
Finished this month after only 5 months
The working conditions were shocking, management horrendous. Pay wrong every month and have to wait a month to be corrected. Baxterstprey is a joke and a horroble company to work for. In Swansea where I worked 5 people left and just replaced with agency staff who made the job ten times worse the manager doesn't care at all! Still owed money and the payroll dept say only manager can sort which is great when he doesn't answer phone!. Do not work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Despicable management, working conditions and pay always wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalling management
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea5 November 2018
Absolutely terrible management, bulling was rife from management as well as other staff members. No choice of what food we could cook and you were scolded if you tried something new or cooked something differently to their recipe. If you had any issues management wouldn’t care and would just fob you off with excuses. Horrible atmosphere to work in. Pay was messed up and wrong every month.
Pros
Free lunch, uniform cleaned.
Cons
Useless management, bullying, horrible environment, pay always wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Chef (Former Employee) –  London18 October 2018
Horrible agressive management! We tuped in and the first day they took over they started shouting and bullying. Ignorant people managing, arrogance all round and a chaos in setting the aites up. About 30% of staff resigned in the first month! Stay well away!
Pros
none
Cons
Disastrous management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero support. Poor upper management. Menu is dictated.
Head Chef - Former (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea11 October 2018
Baxter Storey Head Chef - Had little to no support. Was the ONLY chef on the day shift catering for 500+ a day. Had no choice in what went on the menu
Pros
Good sociable work hours, Free lunch, Chef uniform and uniform laundry service provided
Cons
Zero support from upper management, No opportunity to progress within the company, Bullying is rife, Area operations manager is clueless, No choice in what goes on the menu, ONLY day shift chef being left alone to cater for huge numbers, Often had to work a 19 hour shift as did the Night Chef so that we could both have a day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management- site in Milton Keynes
Barista (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes4 September 2018
Very poor management, no work place culture and respect, zero planning up front how the week can look like ect, stressed site service staff, management doesn't know how to deal with workplace problems between staff , some staff members are always better, then the other, you are not able to point out whats wrong inside site as you will be moved or lies to move next day, I don;t mean all sites are like that I exprience this at one of baxterstorey site, hope rest of doing really well, as i also met there really nice people, also kind managemet at MK site service at Network Rail
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it !!!!There are better companies
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester23 August 2018
I worked for Baxter Storey for 10 months.I can honestly say its the worst company I have ever worked for,managers are useless their attitude is if you dont like it get another job,the clients are more important than the staff. I felt quite sorry for my manager as they didnt have a cat in hells chance of getting their unit right.It was massively understaffed expected 4 people to do the job of 6.They often employ people giving them the understanding they have a job then a couple of weeks down the line they tell you they is no postition for you.
The only plus side is they offer you training but dont maintain it in other words they dont practice what they preach !!!!
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
you are lucky if you get paid on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run contract
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth23 August 2018
Dont want to say too much as I dont want to get people in trouble.
The job was enjoyable but did not like the way the contract was managed. Would of stayed if managed better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In my opinion it was okay but not the best
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tilbury5 August 2018
When working it was okay but it wasn’t enjoyable but it taught me new skill for example I learned how to cook lots of British food and to communicate with others more and I got a better experience of life at work. The most hardest part was when it was very busy , and working at night to morning because I’d be very tired when I got home and had to get up 1 hour later because of the children’s to get ready for school. I enjoyed when I was helping the chef to prepare the food and when I was selling and my costumers were satirised which made me feel I was doing a great job.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not hearing anymore after interview
None (Former Employee) –  Hampshire1 August 2018
I had an interview with Baxter storey and they didn’t even have the decency to call or email to let you know if you got to the next stage that’s what I call poor management
Pros
None
Cons
Nine
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place too work
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Dunfermline23 July 2018
you go in and help with kitchen duties . learned too help with food prep . nice place too work . hard shift on the dishes . enjoyed working with diferent people
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Kitchen assistant (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire25 June 2018
Brill place to work so much going on at once and so much to do. amazing little place all colleagues were also good to work with. would definitely recommend
Pros
free lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Operations Administration Manager (Current Employee) –  Milton Keynes23 June 2018
They are a good employer and I enjoy working for them but there is not enough support so management is not great. It could be improved by putting in more resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much.
Chef (Former Employee) –  West Midlands21 June 2018
Although the hours and shifts are a dream, I was constantly left alone to do at least a two person job with little or no help/support. In busy periods i was told to go and get the manager, but how could i when the front of house were calling for food and i was the only chef. Although the front of house team would help when they could, they were busy with their own jobs/ tasks and complained alot of the time causing a negative atmosphere. I felt like as I was alone and had little time to complete tasks, i couldn't put out the high standard of food i was used too which became horrible for me and made me lose a lot of confidence in myself. It was monotonous and mundane and made me very depressed.
Pros
Free lunch, hygiene and cleanliness.
Cons
Expect too much with no or little support - lone working. Negative atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report