Barrett Steel Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Bradford25 September 2019
It's an ok place to work do enjoy working here just wanting to move up, the pay is good if you enjoy working shifts then this job is for you, the hours are ok and they are very understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best
CLASS 2 WORK (Former Employee) –  Birmingham23 September 2019
Not the best in the world stressful and multidrops not good i fell asleep behind the wheel due to multidrop work and the company didnt allow my breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  Tividale6 June 2019
The role was straight forward and I took comfornt in speaking to my customers daily.
There were several divisions withi the the building but no one spoke to anyone else unless it was accounts.
I learned about specialist products and the market place for those products.
Management good.
The hardest part of my job was letting my customers down due to other departments not meeting their promises but the most enjoyable part was building relationships with new and existing customers.
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a good job but not anymore
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Bradford17 January 2019
The management at lower levels now, have no respect for the workforce. No job is safe. They get rid of workers if you don't click with them. I feel sure James Barrett does not Know what is going on.
Cons
long hours with low overtime pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands31 August 2018
poorly run management dont know how to treat its staff machines are on the floor yet still buying new ones they need to concentrate on thr ones theyve got worst days job i dif comming here
Pros
none
Cons
just avoid
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and progressive company
Operations Director Southern regions (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire30 August 2018
For those who like to be part of a team in the heavy industrial sector this would be a good company to join and can offer training and progression along with a reasonable salary
Pros
training and development
Cons
heavy industry and cultural issues
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands29 August 2018
Terrible company to work for, management haven't got a clue how to work with their staff and run the business. I regret the day I started at this awful company
Pros
There are none
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 21NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty ok
Internal Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  York4 June 2018
Nice easy company to work for.

Easy computer systems

Mostly friendly staff

Must be tenacious if working in sales.

Travelling can’t be a little stressful having to commute from site to site

Too many ‘managers’ at the same site
Pros
Company car
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor conditions and poor tools and equipment
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Reading14 March 2018
Started off good then quickly went down hill, staff turnover is insane!, atmosphere is horrible, working and tool conditions are very poor and pay is terrible for work expected, plenty more issues aswell, definately one to avoid
Pros
A few good lads left
Cons
Poor wages, poor equipment, poor communication, horrible atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job at first
sawman (Former Employee) –  York26 December 2017
good at first, trained up was going well, new staff taken on. but it started to fall apart, office staff useless any of there mistakes where blamed on us, staff not good enough to do job, machines in poor state of repair just botched up and make do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atmosphere is non existant
Warehouseman/Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands2 October 2017
Have to work a Saturday morning for 4 hours for FREE every 4 weeks so over the year,they get over a months work out of you without paying you.AVOID!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Overtime rates.Work 4 hours on a Saturday morning every 4 weeks for nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  midlands13 November 2016
management very poor, co-workers ok hardest part of job was working with my manager, my work day consisted of stock checking and updating records on system
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 9Report

See more Barrett Steel reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barrett Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 14 reviews
52
41
35
24
12

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.5Culture

Barrett Steel Reviews by Location