Barking & Dagenham College Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an interesting challenge
Tutor (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 August 2018
Working as an Esol Tutor at Barking & Dagenham College was a really interesting experience. I enjoyed the time with my students and l learnt a lot with and frrom them. The feedback from my students was amazing too! They made me feel special, empathetic and efficient teacher. In my classroom there were students from 10 different countries which made my job even more interesting. Coping with situations made me stronger and eager to work as a teacher in future. I am keen to make a difference in Education and l will do anything to get there. I am also willing to apply for QTLS in September 2018.
Pros
the opportunity of working in the College
Cons
Some of the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to study
Conceptual Design Projects (Former Employee) –  Romford10 June 2018
I spent a just over three years at the college, studying various courses, and gain a lot of opportunities and made a lot of friends. I will never forget my time at the college or my friends.
Pros
Great place to study
Cons
didn't get paid for the commissions
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lecturer of GCSE & Functional Skills Mathematics (Former Employee) –  London11 March 2018
Challenging but supportive environment. The distance was a real issue because of my accommodation then and the ages of my children.

The management was supportive too.
I will always remember the turn around of my students to love Maths and the positive effects on their results.
Cons
Dstance to my home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable
IT Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London13 October 2017
This college is not an enjoyable work life and can leave you depressed and stressed.

Colleagues are rude and bring work moral down. The office is always untidy and is very boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Pace to Work
Learning Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rush Green, Romford26 June 2017
Very supportive team with a family feel.

There are lots of different areas to work within the college and staff are very supportive and helpful.

every area is different and the website is very useful.
Pros
term time working
Cons
10 week summer break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  BDC7 May 2017
Disaster, messed up, management is incompetent, many of them unqualified with no or little experience and skills therefore mostly unfair causing chaotic learning and teaching experience at every level
Pros
No comment
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work
Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  Romford, ENG6 November 2014
busy busy busy - something new every day- good team manager - all great- working during enrolment 8.30 -9 pm everyday for 4 weeks. Meeting and helping new students.
Pros
good holidays
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Sales Ledger Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Romford, ENG10 March 2014
Normal Working Hours 8.30am -5pm - interact with students, lecturers and business support staff.
Pros
Long Holidays
Cons
Slow Progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Enviroment
Apprentice at Barking & Dagenham (Current Employee) –  Dagenham, ENG30 December 2013
Helping Customers with queries and course information.

Learn't how to use Microsoft office, gained better confidence and customer service skills.

Management was okay at times but sometimes the atmosphere was to dull and made people not want to come to work.

co-workers were brilliant, all hardworking and very helpful.

having to work for the apprentice wage.

learning what I could and gaining all the experience.
Pros
Finish early on a Friday
Cons
Very bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
respond to emails, visit users to obtain updates on requirements attend meetings on a add hock bases, acquire updates from staff on project progress,
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  ENG29 August 2013
a typical day would involve going though emails and a getting updates on project progress, the hardest part of the job was trying to get good products at cheap prices, the most enjoyable part was once the project reached closure and i could see the finished room being used.
Pros
local to where i live
Cons
no free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barking & Dagenham College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 11 reviews
51
44
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture

Barking & Dagenham College Reviews by Location