Barclays Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workmates, reasonable working hours
Senior Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Liverpool23 June 2018
In complaints i worked mainly 2-10pm shifts Mon-Fri

Mainly complaint and unhappy customer environment. Good team menatality but i was the youngest team member by about 10 years as a senior complaints handler.
Pros
Team, modern software
Cons
Lates and complaint minded environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Project Co-ordinator / Business Analyst (contract) (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf22 June 2018
Barclays is a great company to work for. There are a lot more benefits for being a permanent employee rather than contract however for a company like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Finance Data Analytics Insights (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom21 June 2018
Working from home is encouraged highly.
Lots of areas and opportunities are available as the company is really diverse.

Very technology savvy company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment to work in
operations manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds20 June 2018
working at Barclays is a fun and wonderful experience. You are treated very well by the staff and are respected and treated equally.The staff at Barclays offer their services to help you when you are in need and are willing to spend their time with you to help you improve.
Pros
long lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
first cashier (Former Employee) –  Hanley, Staffordshire19 June 2018
Rubbish managers. They act like they are there for you, but the moment you have a problem, "you are not Barclays material". a lot of favouritism in this branch.
Pros
one nice worker there
Cons
managers are vile and talk down to you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learning curve
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dagenham19 June 2018
this was my work-experience, there for this was the first time I had ever ' gone to work' and it was thrilling. I was fond of maths and most my day work included some sort of maths so I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ko
Essential Banker (Current Employee) –  Bootle18 June 2018
26 Jan 2016 - The FitnessGram™ Pacer Test is a multistage aerobic capacity test that progressively gets more difficult as it continues. The 20 meter pacer test will begin in 30 seconds. ... The running speed starts slowly, but gets faster each minute after you hear this signal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London18 June 2018
I only worked there for two weeks as part of my schools work experience scheme.
However everyone was professional and easy to work with.
i worked at the main reception.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but challenging
Essential Banker (Former Employee) –  Dalston, Greater London16 June 2018
I would used to help out all the customers and give them 5 star services.

I would go to any zones that needs support such as I would go on the tills I needed.

the management would always support the decisions I make.
Pros
1 hour lunch, colleagues
Cons
stay behind and to all the remaining extra duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome company
AREA PERFORMANCE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London15 June 2018
Did many years with Barclays and loved it all. Great leadership and the company is constantly evolving. Really look after their staff and will go globally for the best leaders.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work. Fun events regularly available for staff
Complaints Handler (Current Employee) –  Cardiff14 June 2018
Opportunity to carry out charity and community work. Good salary and health benefits
Quite difficult on occasions due to having to deal with unpleasant customers
Pros
Private health care
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packed days of productive activities in the banking world.
Assisting the Cashier (Former Employee) –  London13 June 2018
• Assisting and advising customers.
• Counting sums of money for it to be recorded in the banks systems.
• Shadowing the cashiers.
• Posting the banks personal packages.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barclays - A great place to work
Application Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cheshire13 June 2018
I have worked for Barclays for over 10 years and have loved every minuet of it. I have had the opportunity to develop old skills and learn new ones. I have met some great people who want to help you reach your career goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Northwich, Cheshire12 June 2018
Managing a team of seven managing their daily workload, ensuring staff wellbeing and development, producing and analysing MI for the team and reporting this to stake holders, as well as using this MI to complete regular performance reviews for team members. I work as part of a larger area specialising in products across the bank and therefore often cover for colleagues to manage teams and assist with stakeholder management when needed. This role has allowed me to develop my ability to deal with challenging situations, manage difficult conversations and lead people through difficult situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entry level
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  London12 June 2018
The hardest part of the role is having to do the same thing day in and day out, not very exciting. Learn everything there is to know about banking and finance through the training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive learnt new skills and it was a friendly working environment.
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southgate Station11 June 2018
I would come into work at 9am in the morning, start work with helping customers who need assistance and I'll would look at what my co-workers would do, so that I can further improve my skills. I learned to talk with customers confidently and solve their problems to provide the best service I could.
Pros
1 hour Lunch, staff room to relax, free teas and coffe. Free water.
Cons
Long hours, when it's busy their is not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global bank with great opportunities
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  West Midlands11 June 2018
Great opportunities for those who seek them and are willing to put in the hard work. Great family of collegues where i made lifelong friends. Opportunities to train in many different sectors and internal job oportunites are readily available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monotunous
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff8 June 2018
no flexibility or understanding when it came to family or difficult personal cicumstances. management were poor in any support capacity. due to this did not enjoy any part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  London7 June 2018
Barclays is known for professionalism and it shows in the way the finance and IT projects are managed and delivered. I would love to go back and work for Barclays.
Pros
A Professional bank with good reputation for project delivery
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Vacancy
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London6 June 2018
Able to work flexible shared hours. Was on a team at the front desk of the Barclays bank.
Good experience answering phone calls and setting up meeting rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barclays. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,979 reviews
51.4K
41.5K
3817
2201
1106

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture