Play YouTube video button
Barchester Healthcare
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews
Here to help
Coronavirus update
Information from Barchester Healthcare:

Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews

Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom706 reviews
Found 706 reviews matching the search
See all 731 reviews
Featured review
Barchester Healthcare selected this as a representative review
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would recommend Barchester healthcare to a friend
I have always been treated fairly and with respect, I feel supported and valued and there is always a senior manager I can approach if I need guidance. Barchester is a progressive company who are aiming to be a top healthcare provider, they want to employ dedicated people who work as a team and support the ethos of the company so as long as employees work hard and have the same values they are very fair and a great company to work for.
Pros
Teamwork, seeing our residents enjoy their days and be happy
Cons
sad when residents who are elderly pass away
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
16 April 2020
It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us enjoyable and rewarding.
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
At the time i left manager's were bullies and also i didn't smoke so i was not a member of the click and did not get a lot of breaks like the smokers. To many training courses which some not for the job you do i know you have to do training as it is a care home
Was this review helpful?
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly team
Joining the team during the pandemic, I was aware that emotions may be high at this time. I was cautious of how this would impact the working environment. Thankfully, the team is supportive and proffesional, even during these trying times.
Was this review helpful?
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy work life
Job specification at interview was not correctly informative. I only worked there for 2 weeks it was awful . Pay incorrect for job role . Kitchen staff coming in before official start time to get breakfast ready for no extra pay ,so they don't fall behind in there work. 12 hour shifts with out a break. No time to stop for somthig to eat .Relentless work with no end from when you start to finish. Not a healthy work lifestyle at all.
Was this review helpful?
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid, understaffed and management only care about money
I worked with Barchester Healthcare from 2016 to 2018 at both of their Fulwood homes in Preston. Whilst I worked with some amazing staff in the Court you are really quite underpaid and undervalued for the work you do with this company, especially relative to the earning potential of the same job in NHS or agency work. Management was unstable, unprofessional (to the point of shouting, verbal abuse and bullying in some cases), changed regularly and only cared about the bottom line for their bonuses. There is no opportunities for job or skill progression unless you were best pals with the nurses in charge. Very cliquey. The staffing ratios were horrendous to the point that it was sometimes three carers to 15 residents (most of whom required two carers and a hoist to mobilise) thanks to the companies useless DICE tool (clearly designed to save money rather than give residents the care and attention they were paying for)

All in all not a great experience; my advice would be to get your care experience and leave as soon as you can
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 May 2020
We’re very sorry to hear that you feel negatively about your time at Barchester. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
This is one of the worse care homes I am working for. We are always short of staff sometimes we are only two on the floor looking after 25 residents which is dangerous, and then you have staff who are very lazy don’t want to work. Too many bullies in the work place. And a rude deputy manager.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 May 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. Please be assured that all concerns raised are taken seriously. They are internally investigated and, where appropriate, action is taken. If you would like to give us more detail, please email in confidence, to onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Barchester took over the home at the start of the year and seemed very proactive and exciting for the first month. I had high hopes. But then their true colours were revealed after the short honeymoon period. The new management were bullies and didn't seem to care about the staff or the residents, just the money coming in. The team were constantly barked orders at and made to feel that their job was on the line unless they toed the line. The recent pandemic has only served to show them in their true light as incompetent, lacking PPE or clear direction and frightened of being questioned by staff fearful for their own health and those of the residents when they chose to speak out. A great location that was once full of team spirit is now being eroded by bad management.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 May 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Excellent management. Excellent teamwork, could push more for promised training and have a more equal pay structure. Overall a friendly company to work for
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 May 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Barchester Healthcare?
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Happy to work for barchester and my team are brilliant. The rate of pay is poor though when taking into consideration the job we do and the cost of living.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Poor wage
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 May 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit before care. No prospects for moving forward
Lovely home. Levels above the home bullish cultural. Ideas not listened to and no help from then regional director - manager was running two homes for two different companies
Pros
Beautiful home with some fantastic staff
Cons
Profit before care
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 April 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was glad to leave! 2018
2018!
Nothing was ever good enough.

Lucky to get a break.

I was told in interview the pay was minimum wage but I was then told by manager that I wasn’t on minimum wage (Payslip confirmed I was on minimum wage).

If other units were short staffed it was never made fair to who went up to help it was always me as I was the new girl.

I asked a senior for help walking a resident from the bathroom to their bed as they were struggling to walk due to injury and I didn’t feel safe doing this alone I was the only carer on this unit (which is home to up to 20 residents and it was only my second shift on this unit first shift working alone I didn’t know anything about the residents or their needs and I wasn’t told anything about them apart from who I needed to wash and who can wash themselves) the seniors reply to me was “you need to think smarter than this as I’m doing your job and my job and no one is doing my job for me”.

No point talking to the manager as she always let this senior get away with this kind of behaviour.


Handed my notice in the next day as got offered another job at a home, best thing I ever did leaving this home!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 April 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. Please share your views in more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company to work for
I have been in sales or over 23 years, I am appreciated and valued but most of all respected at Barchester
I find it very strange reading the negative reviews as Barchester are the complete opposite

My first position in this sector and I love it
Pros
Great team to work with
Cons
work long hours because i love it so much !!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 April 2020
It’s a pleasure to read such positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to share them here – and we hope you continue to find life with us enjoyable and rewarding.
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fourhills
Good place to work co workers a bit 2 faced and if your face fits but i enjoyed my job but to many people at the mix and i got unfairly dismissed but i loved my job and unfortunately as manager took alot of people's word that worked their for longer than me she found it in her power to dismiss me , but she needs to look under her nose and see what really goes on
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 April 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barchester
Very friendly work team management were always available to listen to what you had to say. Work was hard but managed well within the team. Great atmosphere
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 April 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us why you enjoyed life with Barchester!
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and didn’t get treated fair
My experience working for Barchester was horrible the way they treated staff and clients was unacceptable they harass staff if there off and bad mouth you to other people I wouldn’t work for them again
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
16 April 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are interested in helping the elderly then Barchester offers you the best chance of success.
I was Bank Chef for Orchard House in Newport IOW. WARNING-This is not a job for Whimps. The work was challenging and also very rewarding. My supervisor was amazing and very supportive. I would recommend Orchard House if you are looking for an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of vulnerable people, you won't look back!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely company to work for with good Training facilities/ training school
I worked at Barchester for about a year as care home trainer, the home itself was going through a rock patch, with interim managers swapping and changing, its the only reason I left
Pros
Good training and caring staff
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team.
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would stay clear
Residents are treated like a number a and not cared for proper! Proper pressure relief not given due to not enough staffing and having to rush no time with the residents the manager and her daughter both work their and both very unprofessional due to belittling staff! Some staff are nice shame about the way the home is run!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. Please share your views in more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Devalued staff! Poor management
The company will act positive pre interview which will be ripped out of you within the first week if you make the first week. They are not interested in change just to get through inspection. CComplacent staff
Pros
Nursing care
Cons
Overpaid hierarchy whi arnt as good as they think.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalling
A terrible company.
Always short staffed.

Manager totally unprofessional.

Has her favourites.

Mental Health bullying occurred.

Chef would often eat food as they prepped. Rarely washed hands after smoking.

Staff would all just slag each other off.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at onlinefeedback@barchester.com
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, demanding, treated/spoken to like trash.
Long hours, demanding, if your in a click your fine, but if not you get picked on/bulleyed, by other staff members,
EG: Nurses/Carers. To much time spent on paperwork and not enough time to spend/interact with service user's
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
9 April 2020
We never want anyone to feel negatively about their career with Barchester, so we’re very sorry to hear this. We take accusations of this type very seriously so we would really appreciate if you could give us more detail by emailing us, in confidence, at onlinefeedback@barchester.com. Thank you.
Claimed Profile
Want to know more about working here?
Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barchester Healthcare. Our community is ready to answer.
Overall rating
2.7
Based on 731 reviews
5
149
4
118
3
114
2
91
1
259
Ratings by category
2.7
Work/Life Balance
2.5
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.6
Culture