Barchester Healthcare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advise people not to work here
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Lowestoft, Suffolk17 January 2018
Done my work placement here a few years ago and I absolutely hated it, someone I know works here and they are treated like dirt, no respect and the staff are always trying to find fault with the person, the staff aren't friendly and don't seem to want to interact with other people, not somewhere you would enjoy working.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
18 January 2018

We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. We continue to improve the support and guidance we offer our employees. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty bad place to work
Housekeeping Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alcester14 January 2018
wouldn't recommend left me to myself on the second shift I had for entire day with no help or guidance had to guess what to do. I had to listen to this person complain about everything as well it was pretty annoying.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
17 January 2018

We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. We continue to improve the support and guidance we offer our employees. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work.
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oxford14 January 2018
12 hour shifts, badly managed and does not give the correct care for residents. The only positive i can think of is that you get 3 days off a week and a free staff lunch. I would not reccommend this company.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours and badly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
17 January 2018

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
Rehabilitation assistant (Former Employee) –  Mansfield14 January 2018
I worked there for 18 months and found it to be a terrible place to work it was all about money and not the patients whenever you queried a problem to management it was brushed under the carpet and made to feel you were the bad person.always under staffed and put into unsafe situations. 12 hours shifts were too long for the amount of pay you got. I would not recommend this place to anyone or any family members either
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Long hours for little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
15 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you feel negatively about working at Barchester. We continue to improve the support we offer our employees, so your feedback is important. If you would like to offer further information about your experiences, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, not much opportunity to advance
Housekeeping Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burwash13 January 2018
Absolutely loved the community spirit at Barchester, and the team was always positive and welcoming. Unfortunately in my case there wasn't much opportunity to improve, and I felt like those employed as anything other than Nurse or Care staff (I was housekeeping) are sidelined a bit. I had expressed interest in Administration and was offered training before I was recruited, and then it was never available when I asked.
Pros
Free lunch, positive environment
Cons
Lack of opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
15 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry you’re no longer at Barchester, but we wish you every success in your future career.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely Appalling
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk13 January 2018
management has favourite and if yourface fits you will do well!
Two best friends running the care home is a joke! Always short staffed! Management moan they dont want to use agency well maybe if you respected your staff and treated them better staff would do more hours. Also agency come in do lesswork and get paid more its ridiculous!
Cons
Treated with no respect, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
15 January 2018

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need a lot of patience.
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worcester10 January 2018
I had to work with dementia patients all across the spectrum. You have to have a lot of patience and understanding as the people you are working with can be easily frustrated.
Pros
Rewarding.
Cons
Not a lot of support and a lot of pressure on lower staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
11 January 2018

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse day of a Regional Trainer
Regional Assessor, Trainer IV (Former Employee) –  Midlands and Wales2 January 2018
I would attend appointments at nursing homes across the Midlands and Wales to deliver training or assess apprentices for their Apprenticeship programmes. This would be done in a professional manor to maintain standards, however my training would always have fun included to encourage people to join in and learn.

I would also spend time with Managers assisting where ever I could in keeping training up to date. We would look at any on going issues and develop strategies to help resolve them. This might mean my visiting the home very regularly.

In addition to this I would induct carers onto programme for VQ level 2 & 3 and support home trainers to maintain high quality training.
I would hold standardization meetings and train trainers to become assessors.
Meetings were always enjoyed as I encouraged staff to become involved and newly qualified assessors were supported by others in the group to understand and learn about the VQ standards.

Our meetings were developmental and in the afternoons we always did something new to assist training. For this trainers might bring their own ideas that they had ben using and share them with the groups. The sessions turned into such fun and allowed the trainers to trust each other and form a strong network. It also enabled me to learn many more tips that I could use in my own training or to pass on to others. This was important as we all worked in different homes and areas and my job was to build relationships that worked.

I would then have to travel long distances or stay in hotel which was the part I least liked about the job.
Pros
I didn't work at a desk all day and I met many different people
Cons
I often work very long hours and stayed away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
3 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We're always sorry to lose great staff, but we're glad you look back positively on your time at Barchester.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs.
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire27 December 2017
Management are spiteful and crafty, will do anything to further their own agenda and completely disregard the wellbeing of their staff to keep their own heads above water, thus incredibly low morale and huge staff turn over.
Residents and their families pay an extortionate amount of money for cheap food and keep the quantities at meal times as low as possible. Gossip is a problem between staff and the genuine caring ones are singled out. The home is surrounded by rats, the traps they have will only get the rats heads stuck as they are huge countryside rats. It's only a matter of time before they enter. Management just brush problems under the carpet. Patrol admit
Pros
Fur coat no knickers
Cons
Too many cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
2 January 2018

We’re sorry you’ve left Barchester feeling negative. We continue to improve the support and guidance we offer our employees. Happiness within the business is vital, so your feedback is important. If you would like to give us further information regarding your experiences at Barchester, please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good clean sites and well organised
Temporary contract (Former Employee) –  South East18 December 2017
Good place to work with and easy going culture, large geographic area to cover. Friendly staff at each care home visit with well kept properties and PPM schedules in place for on site maintenance.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Large area to cover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
19 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback – we value all responses and appreciate you taking the time to leave yours.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brackley
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  brackley juniper house18 December 2017
poor management, bossy and dominant,
head chef is wonderful,
learn alot about food hygiene
long hours for poor pay,
not much interaction with residents,
Pros
learn recipes
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
19 December 2017

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor and going downhill iver the years
nurse (Former Employee) –  Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire17 December 2017
Not a bad place but carers are always poorly paid. Nurses lots of responsibility needs of patients not taken into account because of a non clinical manager. Bullying culture over many years senior team are aware but choose to do nothing easier for them Poor environment too small and necmcer a hospital
Pros
free parking
Cons
harsh management long hoyrs prssed into doing extra shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
19 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us to provide the best experience possible for our employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor worklife balance
Management (Former Employee) –  Field Based13 December 2017
The staff were very friendly and hardworking.

A very reactive organisation that didn't plan well. Senior Management were poor decision makers.

Culture had moved towards bullying with the new COO.
Pros
Excellent Benefit package
Cons
Long hours and nights away from home. Poor culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
14 December 2017

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Uckfield11 December 2017
Good company to work for, managers are approachable and there are good opportunities for promotion, worked harder there than anywhere I've worked in care on 12 hour days. Good camaraderie amongst staff, but wages are average in spite of the high fees charged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
13 December 2017

Thank you for your message. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review – we're sad to lose you, but wish you luck in your future career.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous place
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex7 December 2017
I worked for Barchester for 6 months a year ago. It was my first time doing care and I was mortified. People weren’t using manual handling correctly. Most nights we had 3 carers with 55 residents. I was cornered up and screamed and sworn at by an employee on a night shift yet I still had to work with the person for another 2 weeks as it was the Christmas period and management weren’t in. The pay wasn’t good at all. I feel bad for the residents. When leaving the job and going to another home I learnt how you should care for a vulnerable person and provide good practice.
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
11 December 2017

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Kitchen Porter (Former Employee) –  Hayling Island6 December 2017
working fr barchester had its benifits such as training when you request it, paid breaks, a great team working there and getting to meet some really amazing people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
7 December 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We're always sorry to lose great staff, but we're glad you look back positively on your time at Barchester.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well what is good about barchester
Rehabilitation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Forest care center Hospital27 November 2017
Worked there over a year seen management come and go current manager is rubbish at her job no people skills pure ignorant and the clinical leads are no better if your face fits your fine and talk about furthering your Carer which You can’t progress in this job don’t listen to the stuff they preach in the induction!
Pros
Home time
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 November 2017

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other corporate organisation
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 November 2017
Working across numerous locations across the country can be quite stressful. A corporate culture is not for everyone but for those who want a challenge its great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
28 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback – we value all responses and appreciate you taking the time to leave yours.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult..
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Malton24 November 2017
Barchester certainly have enough finances at their disposal but I found most funding was used to portray an illusion to the public/media. The Service Users were the main factor that so many employees remained there. Management & organisational criteria were both dismal to say the least. Favouritism was blatant throughout the whole staff compliment and bullying between staff rife. Nurses were pushed beyond the limit that they could reasonably be expected to endure despite the accepted hard nature of the job to start with hence the turnover. Carers were treated poorly with no management support over the weekends. Training was, however, good but same was impossible to put into practice due to the ongoing disorganisation of The Off Duty Rota. The Home I was in was very political to say the least with little incentive or motivation given to HCA's.
Pros
A big powerful company.
Cons
No support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
27 November 2017

We’re sorry you felt this way about your time at Barchester. We would like to hear further details on your experiences with us. If you could please email us at: onlinefeedback@barchester.com

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Healthcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  The Lawns, Darlington24 November 2017
i have been in this place of work for only a few months. Within these few months, i have found this role to be very rewarding, taking care of those who are vulnerable and in need.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough hourly shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Barchester Healthcare
27 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback – we value all responses and appreciate you taking the time to leave yours.

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Barchester Healthcare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 335 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.6
Culture
2.8