BP Employee Reviews

Found 438 reviews matching the search See all 2,964 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Whittlesford16 November 2017
Serving customers on tills is necessary. Other duties include merchandising, cleaning and general upkeep of warehouse and stock areas preventing slips and trips.

Management are kind and fair. Least enjoyable aspect is the irregular work pattern.
Pros
50% discount on lunch. Convenient location. Competitive Wage.
Cons
Irregular work pattern. Serving on tills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Oil Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thetford15 November 2017
BP gives everyone great opportunities to progress through the company very easy going workplace and very down to earth, there is plenty of training which is made fun to do and i really enjoyed working for them
Pros
Meal voucher/ sickpay
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hold you back unless your a Graduate
Demurrage Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Canary Wharf, Greater London15 November 2017
They tell you to be ambitious but management do not like to see it. They see it as a threat. You need to be a graduate to get anywhere, otherwise you will be stuck for years.Graduates are pushed up quickly, and others are held back. I recently didn't get a job because i "Showed too much ambition" in an interview.
Pros
Good pay, allow training
Cons
No progression for people not on graduate schemes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thetford10 November 2017
hard working team, always busy, great staff friendly customers you get your regulars who can make your day, management are excellent you know you are well looked after
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Manager Operations (Former Employee) –  Shephers bush London5 November 2017
A few places where Bp
Mines I dont approve of, else company runs on good ethical & moral Grounds. People are valued & given good insurance packages. This was in UK. I dont know how good BP remunerates internationally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Pretty Decent Place to Work
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Westcliff2 November 2017
The managers at BP are Firm but Friendly, they are happy to help and train you and provide plenty of support where needed.
They allways make sure you are taking your breaks and are comfertable.

There is alot to take in to begin with and a lengthy training process in the begining but once you get passed that it all becomes second nature.

The hours arent allways good and you can be expected at times to do alot of back to back shifts but they allways try to be fair when putting rotas together and the pay is good.
Pros
15% store discount and 50% off lunch
Cons
night shifts and late nights can be exhusting
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Energy Company with exciting international projects
PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey23 October 2017
Very challenging environment to work in. Some excellent people work there and there are opportunities to advance one's career. Company, like other oil & gas majors, has suffered from low oil prices and has made many people redundant.
Pros
Exciting global company
Cons
Uncertainty due to downsizing as a result of low oil price
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting and challenging place to work
Hydrocarbon accountant (Former Employee) –  Easington20 October 2017
It was a very interesting experience working for them in Gas production planning and management.
The only downside was the 12 hour shift patterns and long drive to work.
Pros
Interesting and varied work.
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but pay isn’t great
Duty Manager (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, Cambridgeshire19 October 2017
BP is a great place to work in terms of management, holiday allowances and flexible shift patterns but pay for a duty Manager is pretty bad. You’re expected to be able to do the same job as a store manager and store deputy manager but pay is only marginally more than being a CSA and if you take into account the extra hours duty’s do without being paid for because it’s a salary position, CSAs end up on more than you.
Pros
Good Management, great environment to work in, 50% off lunch
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Trainee in engineering (Former Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull18 October 2017
As I was only there for work experience, I cannot make much of a comment on BP, however, I was treat well and given responsibility. I enjoyed my time at BP, it taught me many things about working, including values, and etiquette
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teams, just short staffed with too high of a workload.
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire17 October 2017
Very much the same tasks day in and out with little variation. Not enough team members to cover all of these tasks. Great teams with great attitudes. HO keep changing how processes work in store without looking at how this impacts stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and interesting workplace
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnersh15 October 2017
Days was running so fast there becouse of perfect team wich one makes all problems look tiny.Loved to meet hundreds of new people and build long relationship with regular clients.
Pros
Free coffe
Cons
cold in freezer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Instrument Commissioning Technician (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City15 October 2017
Its great as it always challenging or something new to keep your minding thinking and ticking over. Always new work scope to tackle and a sense of achievement once you complete tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shambles
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sonning10 October 2017
I wouldn't advise anyone with a short temper to work at BP. A lot of the members of staffed are poorly trained and extremely lazy with the management lacking in any skills to control and maintain and good day to day business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bp
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 October 2017
Learned various of different skills, great teams. Receiving delivery in the morning, putting stock out on shop floor. Serving customers for food and fuel.
Pros
50% off Marks and Spencer's
Cons
Long early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Customer care (Former Employee) –  carmondean6 October 2017
i was not a lover of my shift partner but i got on with it i loved servicing customers and meeting new people i worked night shift to start with then fell pregnant with my daughter and got moved to day and back shift
Pros
discount meals
Cons
long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bp
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent4 October 2017
BP were a fair company they gave holiday's and contracts to everyone but they would just sell the site on you and put your job at risk. Other than that there no too bad.
Pros
N/a
Cons
8 Hours Shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people,fun working
Console Operator,bakery staff (Former Employee) –  Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire3 October 2017
I am working there for about 3 years now,is great hours,people are very nice and they treat you with respect.the hours are perfect for me because i do have time to enjoy olso my personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MSc intern att BP Sunbury
MSc Intern (Former Employee) –  Sunbury2 October 2017
Excellent place to work, from the people to the work culture. Constantly challenged me in the everyday work load, and provided adequate support.
The BP culture encourages an excellent work life balance, which included flexible working hours and clubs/societies.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Far from Central London
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work as a whole
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, Lancashire30 September 2017
i worked there for a week for school work experience and i had a great time. i worked on the till and got to learn communication skills from talking to customers. i worked with the stocks and handled what goods came in and what went out and i stacked shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,964 reviews
51.2K
4915
3585
2149
1143

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture