BP Employee Reviews

Found 438 reviews matching the search See all 2,959 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in hazardous conditions and some days long hours
Marine Engineer (Former Employee) –  Douglas16 August 2018
Ships staff meeting every morning to discuss all work to carried out that day. Sign all work permits and register in ships log book.
Discuss the weather conditions to confirm that it is safe to carryout the days operations.
The main consideration in all activities is safety if it be work or pleasure
Pros
Three months away and three months at home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an intern at bp
Chemical engineering intern (Former Employee) –  Sunbury15 August 2018
BP is a very friendly fast paced working environment, extremely helpful employees who help you get settled in. Working environment is very suitable and flexibility with breaks makes work life much easier to manage and helps maintain a productive work life. Lunch served by BP in the canteen is excellent with employees receiving £5 free to spend every day and high is enough to enjoy their food.
Pros
Flexibility, free lunch, friendly and productive working environment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A most convivial working enviroment
Forecourt Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kent6 August 2018
Having retired from full time employment secured this position on a part time basis. Fully experienced in a sales enviroment for over 30 plus years the position applied for was totally suitable. Customer based in a very busy environment involving fuel sales along with mini supermarket style shopping under the Spa banner.
Required to carry out regular health and safety, first aid, and fire and security sessions duly certified...
Pros
None
Cons
Eight hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work place
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Pangbourne, Berkshire27 July 2018
Good work and home life balance and a good bunch of people to work with overall, a great company. Supportive managers and extra training provided when available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Marine Engineering Officer Cadet (Current Employee) –  Worldwide27 July 2018
Good Infrastructure in place on board, good people to work with. Current restructure of the fleet means there is a long wait for a job once newly qualified.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Varied
Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  Worldwide24 July 2018
Working for BP Shipping gave me the opportunity to travel the world and gain valuable experience and skills, no day was ever the same.

Good camaraderie on board.
Pros
Opportunity to see the world
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont bother find another comoany not the bp on m6 toll
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norton Canes16 July 2018
Bullies and favorites never change of shift pattern new managers have favorites no team workits gone right down hill no weekends off
Dont waste energy only good thing is pays well training is no existant u are thrown straight into it
Pros
Money
Cons
Where do i start too many chiefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Commodity Finance Risk Analyst (Jr.) (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London9 July 2018
well the week that i went to work it was very busy and always had things to do as i went for work experience. i have learnt a lot like how to present professionally and much more. i went to many departments to learn what they have done such as accounting, finance, tax, an many more.
Pros
can go to different departments
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Insulation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kingston upon Hull26 June 2018
A typical day at work would involve the repair and maintenance of the site. I have learned how to work well within a team and as an individual, while under strict timescales/deadlines. During my time here, I was always busy with a good flow of work coming through. I was already treated fairly and the management are second to none. The most difficult part of this job was working under pressure to provide high standards within a certain time slot, in order to maintain schedules. I loved the fact that I was able to work with different people on a daily basis and the excitement that everyday brought a new challenge.
Pros
There was always regular work.
Cons
The distance between work and home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Sales (Former Employee) –  Christchurch23 June 2018
Great place to work for always room for promotion simple tasks during the day, stocking products and ensuring shop is kept clean at all times,

Checking the forecourt area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Challenging
Materials & Supply Vessel Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen14 June 2018
I worked as a contractor on a short term contract with BP for 7 months. I really enjoyed my time here, it was challenging and I improved my logistical skills, it was my first position working for an operator and the culture was a little different that what I was used to. Great company to work for and the management were great. The best part about this job was the day rate.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Short term contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Summer intern (Former Employee) –  Manchester13 June 2018
Summer interns are highly paid, sometimes work could be repetitive. There were lots of enthusiastic young minds working together which was enjoyable. Good scope for progression in some positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sunbury on thames11 June 2018
A very responsible job, which intailed the security and fire protection of the entire reseach site. The BP Research centre in sunbury was at that time a great job.
Pros
Good shift hours
Cons
Very noisy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Csa (Former Employee) –  rutland5 June 2018
2 shift patterns available every shift was the same very boring . Back stabbing management and if you weren't in the click with other members of staff you might as well not be there .I found it very stressful and sometimes it was like being back in kindergarten to be honest
Pros
Half price lunch while on duty.free coffee
Cons
Mind numbingly boring shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic company
Deployment Manager (Former Employee) –  global5 June 2018
I would never have left BP, sadly the cuts affected a lot of people, and i was one of them.


I learnt so much from so many talented people, and have taken the culture of BP with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sense of achievement.
Deck Officer (Current Employee) –  Worldwide5 June 2018
A typical day at work would be two 4 hour watches (shifts) the first in the morning the second in the evening, These are either on the bridge maintaining a safe navigational watch iaw international and company regulations, whilst the ship is on passage or at anchor. When the ship is in port the watch will be in the Cargo Control Room, conducting cargo operations.

I have learnt many different skills, and have gained knowledge and experience of shipboard operations during my career.

On board each ship there is a strong safety culture this is actively promoted by the on board management team, the officers and ratings.

The hardest part of being in the Merchant Navy is being away from home for a period of time, however the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the world, and the time at home on earned voyage leave.
Pros
Time at home
Cons
Being away from home for three months
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent People to work with
Contract Position, Aftermarket Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen City5 June 2018
Their main asset is their people, on the whole an excellent group of individuals.
The personal facilities are excellent , work environment relaxed and productive.
Pros
Workforce
Cons
Moved you around quite a bit no time to settle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company, dont care for people
CSA (Former Employee) –  Bicester, Oxfordshire14 May 2018
stacked shelving. served customers. cleaned forecourt. people were good to work with. management treated people with no respect. don't want people who work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enlightening
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  London and America9 May 2018
A very different culture - autonomous management which was difficult to implement a worldwide system and process's.
Many political issues to overcome and overcome.
Pros
Good American environment
Cons
Long uncomfortable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Interim Global Category Director, Retail Assets (Former Employee) –  Sunbury, Surrey3 May 2018
I always recommend BP to others. Great and varied opportunities in large multi-national blue chip. Can be very difficulty stakeholder engagement as a very decentralised structure with individual business units have P&L accountability. In procurement you need very good stakeholder engagement skills to deliver.
Pros
All you would expect from a global blue chip
Cons
Currently going through manger change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 2,959 reviews
51.2K
4915
3581
2149
1142

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture