BP Retail Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search See all 125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
CSA (Current Employee) –  Cheadle Hulme27 January 2019
The store is run on limited staff, Self learning on e-learning.
Management don't interact enough with staff only bothered about company bosses coming into store.Staff under a lot of pressure to do multi jobs while on shift.Not given the time to work safely.Best part of the job is when you finish shift.Staff moral is always low.
Pros
None
Cons
Over worked underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Online application process - Never heard anything further
Customer Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leigh Delamere25 January 2019
This is the typical big company that want a lot and offer nothing in return.

The job description was hilarious, littered with spelling mistakes, while advising you needed to have a good standard of literacy.

The application process is done online, you can't call BP Retail to discuss anything, special requirements etc.

However I completed the BP retail online application process...... never heard anything again.

My advice - AVOID multi-nationals, they just seem to be worker fodder factories.
Pros
The could spell their own company name.
Cons
Arrogant and uninterested in potential employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful not happy
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough23 January 2019
This place is disgusting and the employs smell like curry and i cannot stand it so i had to leave, the managers a bit of a perv too , manegment is poor even if they pay you triple time dont work there you rather stay on job seekers then this job ( the smell is vile)
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire21 January 2019
Never work there .
Brands hill bp is an absolute disgrace the staff have no idea how to respect others.

The manager is being fooled by all the freshies who steal and do fraud.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Staff is disgusting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nottinghamshire18 January 2019
I have enjoyed working at Bp but found the promise things that they can not deliver. I also now feel that as a night worker, this takes over your life to a large degree.
Pros
flexibilty
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place, shifts very repetitive
Customer Service assistant (Former Employee) –  Bagshot14 January 2019
Loved working here. Shifts were lovely, so were hours, tough when doing both day and night shifts but that’s due to your chosen availability.
Not a lot of communication from management but it has gotten better now.
Pros
50% off food if it comes to £6
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only fun when on shift with someone happy
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wickford12 January 2019
One manager no names very very rude needs to have anger management or on them sort of lines many have left because of this person.
Very cold place to work in.
Not the best and warmest clothes they provide you with.
Very busy and hands on.
Pay is better than most I guess.
Pros
Paid lunch, discount on lunch
Cons
Stingy 15% discount for m&s bp garage STAFF. Long 8 hour shifts if you have children
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, Dorset1 December 2018
Terrible atmosphere, as it’s such a closed in work space, especially with employees who have worked there for years, who are not great to the younger members of staff. Management is okay and they try to help you and treat everyone equally still certain members of staff get angry/ annoyed with you if you don’t know how to do something or need help. You can enjoy the job to a certain level but the hours are long and the older members of staff are very difficult to get on with a lot of the time. I myself literally had people telling lies about me to try and get me into trouble. not a pleasant experience.
Pros
50% percent off during your break time on everything.
Cons
long hours, not much training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at some customers can be rude
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Luton, Bedfordshire26 November 2018
At bp the most enjoyable part was to have a conser conservations with Customers to make their day and also they make my day.Ithink the hardest part of the job is that the team was not good which lead to promblems..
Pros
Good customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Trainee Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire2 November 2018
Bp is where I started my management trainning, its a good place to work if you want to get higher. Hours were a little all over the place. Manager would leave for weeks
Pros
Training
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at times
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 October 2018
The company itself is not that great, the people you work with make it much better though. However dealing with rude customers, aggressive shoplifters and people who generally want to either hurt you or make you cry, the pay just isn't good enough, I don't think anyone would want to be hurt over trying to stop a shoplifter nicking a box of chocolates.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Aggressive customers and a lot of extra work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad for your health
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire30 September 2018
This job destroys your mental health,
Too much to do all the time
Always short staffed
Never switch off from the awful place
Customers moaning about offers with m&s
Pros
Discounts on lunch
Cons
Long hours workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Price & Product Assistant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire21 September 2018
Management had a tendance to "bully" certain members of her team.

Work/Life balance was non negotiable and work long hours.

I would not work here again.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on manager
CSA (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire12 September 2018
When I first started the manager was very reasonable and approachable, even if he did make some questionable staff choices. However, he retired and for the last year I was there it was run by a narcissistic, self important little man who only cared about one person. Area manager couldn’t care less cos he was a mate, even though I had an unblemished history. Within a few months of being there I had 2 disciplinarys, and was eventually forced to leave. Absolute shithouse to work for!
Pros
None!
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Towcester16 August 2018
A typical day at work varies depending on what other shifts have done and what local events are on
iv learned a variety of different skills
a fun place to work once you get settled
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grays
CSA (Former Employee) –  Grays, Essex10 August 2018
I worked for BP in the late 1999 brilliant place to work for, Manager supported me, in becoming a trainee manager, But have to leave due to family problems, Went back 1 year ago, what a change, Manager, don't give a dam, as long as the shift is covered, so they can go home, The Manager expect a lot out of you, Stayed a week, wrote to head office told them why I left, not even an acknowledgement from BP Head office, to them your a Number. Keep away from this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management, fun place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City6 August 2018
colleagues are a good laugh. you'll never be bored. Management will listen to you and try to help personal or professional issues. pays a little over minimum wage. communication lacking between head office and stores.

on the whole it's a good job.
Pros
15% off in shop. 50% off lunch up to £6
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 July 2018
Disgusting company to work for.
Management are very one sided and do not listen too staff members. Constantly swear at members of staff and bully them. They spend their shifts sat in the office watching CCTV looking for reasons to tell you off! Worse company to ever work for!!!
Pros
50% lunch
Cons
Treated disgusting. Managers are awful. Bully place!
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bp retail
Customers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole20 July 2018
Team player key holder and doing reductions
Enjoy working customers cash handling
Dealing customer needs and team player
Doing fuel delivery I did lots shifts that I enjoyed.
Pros
Working team
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment in store with good team .
Retail store manager (Former Employee) –  Northamptonshire3 July 2018
Worked for this company for 17 years and thoroughly enjoyed most of them. However over the last few years there have been changes in area management replacing excellent managers with great people skills with bullies who seem intent on getting rid of experienced managers in favour of younger candidates who they can bully and intimidate. Particularly true in the Midlands where there is a cluster of area managers mentored by a senior who can only be described as a playground bully of the worst kind. Any grievance raised will be swept under the carpet.
Pros
Great store teams
Cons
Poor head office support and area managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report