BAE Systems Employee Reviews

Found 407 reviews matching the search See all 3,274 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good employer with some drawbacks
Integrated Delivery Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth6 December 2017
A Global Company with a very emphatic ethos towards implementation of its Code of Conduct, but that has a drawback in that at times excessive beurocracy has developed amongst the Management which has a counterproductive effect on what the customer wishes the Company to achieve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Plater (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria5 December 2017
A great place to work. it can get a little tedious at times when there is not much work to do. health and safety is the number one priority, as it should be. I was not able to do the job i trained for to my full ability because there are other trades that do that particular function for you. It narrowed down what i could do considerably. Its all about the nature of the product, building submarines, and when lives are at stake it has to be done right first time which i understand. Would i contract there again........yes.
Pros
the 4 on 4 off shift pattern is great.
Cons
contracting being away from home for the working week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, interesting work
Subcontracts Manager (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey4 December 2017
Great people , enabled me to hone my cyber, IT and Government contracting skills. Varied work and some great training courses.
Team spirit, technically innovative.
Pros
Free KitKats
Cons
Too thinly spread
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional all round standards
Customer Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire1 December 2017
BAE are at the forefront of working ethics, H&S and Personal Development

Tools and PPE provided

A respect at work policy is in place and a good rapport exists between levels.
Pros
Good Working Contitionbs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they were good
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  all over21 November 2017
Was a family at first. Then they became only about the money. They no longer cared about the employee. They were really good at first . No longer took care of problems that arose
Pros
was a family
Cons
became cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Fabricator/Welder (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 November 2017
Every day is different and challenging. Its great to have such a big company behind you on your CV for the future. The work force are extremely friendly.
Pros
Short weeks
Cons
Very cold
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire19 November 2017
Very good employer,busy role,good company values and opportunities that allow you to move around the company and apply for jobs. You feel very valued and able to use your initiative.

Regular performance reviews which is soo helpful as you then have a good idea about were you're heading in the business and what your goals are.
Pros
Great, encouraging atmosphere
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear15 November 2017
great company with big reoutation enjoyed my time there but uncertainty in work clouds the mind, lots of talented people have left in recent years which is a shame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excdllent comapny to work for
Senior Transport & Logistics coordinator (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria14 November 2017
very understanding company willing to always further you career aims and send you on courses. the promotion aspects are second to none. such a good atmosphere in the work place
Pros
local employer
Cons
not a lot of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a changeling environment which allows the improvment of all abilities
Aircraft Mechanical Inspector (Current Employee) –  RAF Marham9 November 2017
A forward thinking company who encourage the personnel development of its employees. Championing education to ensure thats its staff are of the highest standard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly put down
Mechanical Fitter (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire23 October 2017
Not somewhrere id reconmend to anyone.. Wages arent great.. To many management and forever pushed with no incentive.
Only upside is the pension and shares.
Pros
Pension
Cons
No oppertunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
another one of your asks on foreign companies.
Senior Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  bristol, uk17 October 2017
all I want to do is apply for a job on your site and don't need to fill in about other companies not even in the usa. can we stop wasting time as this is the 5th one you have shoved at me.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
process leader (Current Employee) –  Washington16 October 2017
A good job that offered the chance to learn new skills, Has recently been through a transformation period and moved sites with some big investments made to update outdated technology.
Pros
excellent salary
Cons
unions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
safety (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear12 October 2017
generally a good company to work for. middle management engage and are positive about work. downside is executive level who make decisions without any working knowledge or discussion with those that do, hence ridiculous decisions made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring place to work
Programme Manager (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire9 October 2017
A rewarding career with flexible working and job satisfaction supporting the armed services. An amount of change required to become lean and competitive. I would happily work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace with good team spirit.
Technical Trainer (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire2 October 2017
My present job can be very rewarding. Due to company conduct and its stance within a growing Engineering environment it has the potential to shape a great future for the next generation. My role requires me to draw on my previous experience as a mechanical fitter and deliver course material to apprentices and naval staff. I am also responsible for carrying out regular learning reviews and creating new courses for the changing market. I also have to follow set ou KPIs to meet the companies needs.
Pros
Great benefits, Good salary
Cons
Hours, Stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and informative
General office management (Former Employee) –  Rochester, Kent2 October 2017
learning about all the different departments can be fun yet also overwhelming. however once you have found your desired place, you will fit right in as the workforce are friendly and helpful.
Pros
welcoming and accomodating
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Experience
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Rochester, Kent2 October 2017
This was great and exciting place to do work experience and to learn more about the company and what sorts of things they do. I enjoyed my week there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria28 September 2017
A good overall job well payed good staff challenging job. Hours worked was shift work and challenging.. Time of was good and our holiday allowance was fair
Pros
Good overtime
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Caulker (Current Employee) –  Cumbria28 September 2017
This is a good company to work for, with a good wage at the end of the month, friendly work colleges and team leaders.
improvements could be made...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,274 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3699
2184
1114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture