BAE Systems Employee Reviews in Glasgow

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 3,265 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
industrial painter
Industrial Painter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow7 March 2018
This was good company to work for and I gained a lot of experience within the industrial side of painting. I learned to work with different tools and equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work good money
PSG (Current Employee) –  Glasgow3 March 2018
Was a PSG in BAE for 8 months then my car broke down couldn't make it there anymore. would love to start back. good company to work for. hours are decent as well. don't work friday's which is a bonus
Pros
good money good hours.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and adaptive workplace
Assistant Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 January 2018
Glasgow-based production sites, providing the future capability of the Royal Navy. Multiple programmes offer a huge range of roles and opportunities. Flexible working patterns, flexitime and working from home all available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Fabricator/Welder (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow20 November 2017
Every day is different and challenging. Its great to have such a big company behind you on your CV for the future. The work force are extremely friendly.
Pros
Short weeks
Cons
Very cold
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy and Fun Environment
ASSISTING FINALIZATION OF SHIPS (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Scotstoun30 March 2017
BAE Systems was my main job for 35 years, they set me up for life with a great pension plan and shares within the company from when I first started in 1980. Even after 35 years of working there they still provided great benefits and was treated like a member of a big family.
Pros
job security, great benefits, pension, shares
Cons
sometimes given really long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow15 January 2017
This company are good at advancing your education through college or university. in the maintenance department you have a great variety in your day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming workplace with very flexible working times.
Finance Intern (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 June 2016
The average day was very fulfilling. Everyone was friendly even while working under pressure. I learned how to use many new accounting and filing systems while also learning new organisational skills. Management was good for me as i was in daily talks with them because i was managing a project myself..Hardest part of the job was finding files in the outdated filing systems. Easiest part of the job was setting up meetings and talking to people about my project.
Pros
Flexible hours system and friendly workers.
Cons
Was unable to accomadate me as a part time worker when i had to start back at university
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company to work for with good opportunities for advancement
Head of Finance - Accounting and Control (Former Employee) –  Glasgow7 April 2016
Excellent management and co workers, good team work.
Always looking for improvements and increased governance and cost control.
Most enjoyable parts are dealing with other functions outside of finance and team working within Finance.
Hardest part is dealing with the impact of political implications on the business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Piping Designer (Current Employee) –  Glasgow2 March 2016
BAE Systems is an excellent company to work for overall
Flexible working hours
Good working atmosphere
Great management
Co-workers are friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good...Mostly
Principal Engineer (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT15 January 2016
Work environment and people are great but lack of job security not so great. Good culture, nice people, nice office, good line managers.
Pros
Flexible working hours
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Marine Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT12 November 2015
done my apprenticeship here. served me well in my 10 year here, promising place for training opportunities i suppose? shift work. opportunity to work different places
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Working at BAE Systems
Steel Fabricator/Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Glasgow and Rosyth, Scotland14 May 2015
Learned a lot whilst at BAE. Workers were great to work with and very informative about how to do jobs and procedures to carry out whilst working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team
Designer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT22 April 2015
I enjoyed working with the team and every day was different. Office management easy to work for. The team all pulled together.
Pros
Flexi-time
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produktive and fud worplace
joiner, carpenter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT14 April 2015
very good atmosphere at work
work was not a problem
launching of the ship
good organization and help in dealing with various issues
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here
TELEPHONIST (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT22 March 2015
I enjoyed working for this company. I also enjoyed working with the other employees and I had no problems. I was happy working here and it was fun also.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  glasgow3 March 2015
type 45 and the aircraft carrier but the works coming to an end been working with bae for 11 years and its time to move in to the oil and gas side of pipefitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but mostly enjoyable
welder (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT20 February 2015
get your task for the day ahead and left to get on with it. how to communicate with all levels of authority and respect for others,how to work as a individual or part of a team,the management could be firm but fair,the co workers were the ones that made the company a place you enjoyed going to work,the hardest part of the job was managing times for deliveries between runs,the most enjoyable part was knowing that you had done your best and a lot of gratitude from co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Caulker/Burner (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT17 February 2015
Fair managers and foremen who listen to workers on various issues. Highly skilled workforce. Colleagues friendly and helpful. Can on occasion be physically demanding, however a good workforce makes work enjoyable.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Apprenticeship
Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, SCT6 February 2015
This is a good place to learn the basics of fabrication but not somewhere you want to work for 40 years.

Not all but certain managers and supervisors have no interest in the job and act more like policemen.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Trainee Detail Designer (Current Employee) –  glasgow13 November 2014
good place to work with brilliant career advancement also very supportive of furthur education
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,268 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3695
2184
1114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture