BAE Systems Employee Reviews in Barrow-In-Furness

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 3,209 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat employees like dirt
designer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria3 October 2018
treat employees like dirt, very backwards in their management structure and processes, they have no regard for their employees mental well being and there is a massive bullying culture aimed at apprentices and lower down staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun and great place to work
Apprentice mechanical fitter for two (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria15 August 2018
worked on all types of valves, pipework, pumps learning all aspects of my trade and gaining new skills and bettering the skills I already had making me work to a high standard and take pride in my work. Management were very informative about any parts of the job, very approachable and understanding easy to talk to. Good and friendly working environment, all one big team always someone to help out if needed. I enjoy all parts of this job as you can still learn new things every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work alonside a world class product
Principal Operations Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barrow-in-Furness5 July 2018
Working alongside a large array of stakeholders to make the job more efficient and reducing cost deductions. Culture is still set away from the current climate but personnel trying to improve this going forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't wait to get out
Office worker (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria19 June 2018
Well what can I say ,this is not for me and not what it says on the tin

This has to be the worst place I have ever worked , As a new starter first week was great then went down hill from there,Couldn't wait to get out
I guess if your a staff person your looked after more and for some people its the only place they've ever worked so they think they know it all,

Working day your just left to get on with it , Send lots of emails and get no responses what's so ever then you go and see the person then they complain to management or they are too busy

Its a bit clicky, some people are jobs worth's some don't speak

Offices I was in dark and smelly office and very hot with no natural daylight , hundreds of people in it , don't know how people worked in here for years can't be good for your health

If you want a long term boring job then this is the place for you
and very low wage for what you do

Its great if your a young apprentices or engineer lots of training and progression
Pros
None at all if your a contractor
Cons
Good Canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria7 May 2018
was ok to work for i was only on a temporary contract and did not really have any permanent work with the company but enjoyed working there when I did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Principal Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria1 May 2018
Great opportunity to learn the many aspects of engineering associated with Submarine Technology. Other engineering aspects such as electrical, structures and dynamics practiced due to the nature of the job.
Pros
Respect for employees
Cons
No career advancement for contract workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
serious workplace
General Operative (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness5 April 2018
was an interesting workplace but very busy and serious thought that it was very interesting because i have never been in such and interesting new build before
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria4 April 2018
Management is basically none existent, I worked there for 2 years and when you have an issue and you raise it to management, they pass you off to the next person, then the next, then the next. You will never get any problems sorted. If you have any issues with the job you are doing, you might aswell just sit down for 3 years, thats how long it will take for someone to realise that you have a problem.
Pros
none
Cons
everything that has ever existed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for the day to day - not for those who want more
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria4 April 2018
Not a great deal going on
Easily get bored with same old silly mistakes being made

More of a challenge needed

Could be a higher input from the lower ranks to improve the business as a whole

Time management 2 / 10
Pros
Money
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Plater (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria5 December 2017
A great place to work. it can get a little tedious at times when there is not much work to do. health and safety is the number one priority, as it should be. I was not able to do the job i trained for to my full ability because there are other trades that do that particular function for you. It narrowed down what i could do considerably. Its all about the nature of the product, building submarines, and when lives are at stake it has to be done right first time which i understand. Would i contract there again........yes.
Pros
the 4 on 4 off shift pattern is great.
Cons
contracting being away from home for the working week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excdllent comapny to work for
Senior Transport & Logistics coordinator (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria14 November 2017
very understanding company willing to always further you career aims and send you on courses. the promotion aspects are second to none. such a good atmosphere in the work place
Pros
local employer
Cons
not a lot of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria28 September 2017
A good overall job well payed good staff challenging job. Hours worked was shift work and challenging.. Time of was good and our holiday allowance was fair
Pros
Good overtime
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging work place
Network Planner (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria13 September 2017
A typical day would be working through change requests from the customer. collating the infromation from the different stakeholders on the change then assessing the impact/cost & schedule.
I learn about different parts of the build on a daily basis understanding why things are being changed whether it makes it more efficient or just a better strategy to do it a different way.
The management are always really helpful, sometimes hard to get in contact with but that can be expected as they're busy people.
The hardest part of the job on a day to day basis is getting agreement from all stakeholders in a timely manner sometimes this can take longer than expected but has to be managed when giving forecast dates on job completion.
The most enjoyable part is, working on such a complex product and learning everyday seeking new challenges.
Pros
New challenges daily
Cons
Low pay compared to other companies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAE Systems Barrow
H&S Advisor Submarines (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria30 August 2017
Really enjoyed working with the team at Barrow .
Excellent range of projects to get involved with and a good range of people /trades to engage with
Pros
The role and the responsibilities
Cons
Contractors not given much notice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Principal Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria16 August 2017
Very professional where each employee knows what is required.

Clear targets and deadlines are set with feedback accepted.

Both technical design and heavy manufacturing are conducted onsite to design and build the next generation Nuclear Powered Submarines for the UK Navy.
Pros
Flexi-Time
Cons
Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging but fun place to work
HR Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria11 August 2017
A complex business due to the nature of the industry and therefore a rewarding place to work. The workplace culture can take some getting used to but a business that really looks after its employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Painter (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria28 July 2017
Good company good long term prospects medical team pension shares always busy only thing is it means working away from home which I don't mind but this was over 9 year
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
Welder (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria26 June 2017
Very good spot to work great people good work nice town good job. Security loads of opertuntiny better for people who haven't had jobs apprentice trading offered
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting location
Site Safety Case Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria20 April 2017
The flexibility and the responsibility afforded from the very start make this a good place to begin a career.
The main negative is that the job is based in Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria. Whilst this will appeal to some applicants, it is not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 Day working week if your located over x number of miles from work
Senior Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness, Cumbria23 March 2017
Great company to work for, lots of oppertunity to progress but slow to recognise talent.
Salary is fair, shares scheme in place SIP,
good pension, and other benifits.
Cons
Barr-in-Furness is located far from anywhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BAE Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 3,209 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3681
2180
1114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture