B&Q Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding but fairly rewarding
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire21 January 2018
Opportunity to learn but customers expect that everyone should know everything in B&Q. Pay is above average in retail but no other real benefits. Can end up working a lot of unsociable hours.

New skills are a big positive, I knew nothing about DIY when i started and have picked up a lot that I can take away both into my personal life and potentially a future career.
Pros
Hourly pay
Cons
Long hours, shift pattern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medieval Company
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London21 January 2018
These guys need to get in the modern world.

If you’re employed on a low hours contract beware, as you could find yourself doing full time overtime for a few weeks and then by Tuesday of the following week be told there is no overtime and your not needed for 2 days. Also if you go ill during your overtime hours it counts against you as sick leave as most low contracts are scheduled over 5 working days. Which brings me on to the next warning......

Sickness. This company operates a traffic light system...or three strikes and out essetianly. If you get to strike 3 formal action is taken, you don’t get sick pay and could be dismissed. Even if a doctor/GP has signed you off as medically unfit for Work it’s not recognised, unless it falls into the disability category.

Senior management play god and have little care for people’s personal lives or circumstances. Unprofessional behind closed doors, higher paid you are the more power you have to dictate. Managing people out of the business/role isn’t taboo.

Have worked both on shop floor and as part of a management team, have seen both sides of the coin.
Pros
20% Discount, decent Holiday
Cons
Terrible sick policy, zero care for staff and personal circumstances, higher ups rule, don’t recognise any workers Unions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool18 January 2018
lovely staff
full training and support given at all times
great pay rates
lots of flexibility
always making sure staff is happy
typical day isn't bad as you can just stay on the tills
fab workplace
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work day
Trainee Manager (Former Employee) –  scotwood road17 January 2018
my work day at b&q on a normal day, was busy with about 100 customers per day.
i enjoyed working with the team i did and met all different age groups and people with all diffrent personalities.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
counting all the stock
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard bullet to bear
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Dunfermline, Fife14 January 2018
Most definitely changes to be made. The colleagues make it worth while. Scheduling and acceptance for surprise life events could be better. There are definitely worse places to work and this job does heave it's benefits but you really have to like helping people.
Pros
A decent level of autonomy
Cons
Difficult to do your job when you aren't left to do your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you’re in between jobs
Replenishment Assistant CA (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire14 January 2018
Depending on relationships with management can you progress irispective of your work ethic.Job can be hectic but enjoyable.majority of staff are pleasant and friendly
Pros
Discount Card
Cons
Overtime taken away at random, shift changes at random unequal contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Mallusk - PROJECT ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim14 January 2018
Great camaraderie in a small office, good relations between management and Staff. The job is often demanding as we work to deadlines, so the ability to work through problems quickly and provide effective solutions is an essential part of the job role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heavy work and friendly team
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire11 January 2018
It's very heavy work for a woman. But the team was friendly and helpful so it wasn`t very bad but I want to get women`s job.
Management was responsive, understandable and friendly. Was easy to get to work because of public transport.
Pros
public transport
Cons
heavy work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking company, run by bullies.
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  North West10 January 2018
Absolutely shocking place to work. Ran by inexperienced managers , try to rule by bullying staff , preying on vulnerable employees who are scared to stand up to them, wages moderate,considering unsocial hours expected to work, last resort for a job if your desperate.
Pros
Non
Cons
Your just a number no matter who you are, managers inc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see review
Customer Service/Till operator (Current Employee) –  Jersey10 January 2018
As much as i enjoyed my time here, i felt very uneasy everything was so unorganised. The Staff and Management where very friendly however i felt the the overall experienced was brillaint despite how everything was upside down.
Pros
discount
Cons
shift pattens
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  LONDON10 January 2018
BQ is what you make it.

If you work hard you have opportunities to progress well within the firm.

The salary is good, the work culture is great.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
No progression within HR
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
tills (Former Employee) –  London9 January 2018
Working on the tills

Gained product knowledge on various products

Can be difficult at lifting heavy objects

Good atmosphere

Team work was good
Pros
staff discount
Cons
can be tyring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and demanding workplace
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Peterborough, Cambridgeshire9 January 2018
Fun at times and a very good company to work for, dependant on the manager you work with. buys on most days which helps shifts go by and very good when trying to build your experience.
Pros
20% discount
Cons
winter hours are open till 9 on week nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff helpful, training giving advancement if your chosen career
Trading store manager (Former Employee) –  North East9 January 2018
Varied work in different departments, training given in all aspects of store in DIY retail.further career advancement around region and country, flexible hours
Pros
Uniform provided
Cons
Unsocial hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work with great incentives
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kirkcaldy, Fife8 January 2018
My duties included
Cleaning
Cash handling
Customer help
Serving customers
Returns
Re-stock
I feel that B&Q overall is a great place to work, all the staff are very friendly and your always kept busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair and poorly organised work place
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes8 January 2018
the management in this place is nothing but just completely disgusting and to be honest no existence the managers have no idea and you are just a number to them. there is no job security and they will just make youre life hard till you leave if they want rid of you but don't have a reason for it. the hours and rotas are ridiculous and poorly organised i have been know to go from finishing at 9pm and starting at 6:30 the morning after. the manages are rude and not helpful at all there's no support for staff and they bend the rules to how ever they please just to make it worse they dont recognize unions so theirs not even any one to fight you're corner if they do any of this to you. lastly the discount card that they give you after 3 months is just a complete joke because they seem to chop and change the rules of that to match their needs, hardly any training is provided and they just expect you to be able to do everything on day one if not then they will penalize you for it.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drivers mate
DRIVER'S MATE (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear8 January 2018
i worked as a drivers mate for b and q , it was an enjoyable job , we would load on van with minimal fuss and go about our daily deliveries , I liked working for b and q
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Night replenishment assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear7 January 2018
I really enjoyed my time here and would work here again as I was disappointed that my contract was not kept on due to budgets not being enough to keep on a lot of the staff at the store which resulted in many redundancies.
Pros
Excellent location for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work part time.
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Staffordshire6 January 2018
Lovely people but management don't seem to care much for their staff, for example, a lot of staff with families/small children work a lot of weekends.
Holidays are a nightmare to book (you have to book your whole year of holidays in one go) and only two people can be off in one week which is impossible so you rarely get the weeks you actually want.
Progression is possible but your face must fit.
Pay is good for a temporary/first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Store support team (Former Employee) –  Doncaster6 January 2018
Good training
Good managers
Fair opportunities
Not much growing space
Okay shift patterns
Easy to get to
Paid uniform
Good break times
No incentives to suceed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&Q. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,388 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4