B&Q Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Trade Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanmore, Greater London25 May 2018
Great place to work. easy work to do. mainly carrying heavy material. sit behind a desktop to fill in customer orders and walkj around shop floor to help customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Customer advisor (Current Employee) –  Greater Manchester23 May 2018
Lots of opportunities for people to excel in their strong areas, lots of different paths to choose from e.g. working on departments, checkouts, cash office, telephonist etc
Pros
Store team bonus
Cons
Rota sometimes only a week in advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kitchen designer
Instore design consultant (Former Employee) –  Leeds22 May 2018
I Loved this job and if it hadn't of been for a falling out with one of the managers I would probably still been there
A good place to work, all though the wages didn't reflect the level knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving and stimulating but ultimately infuriating
Head office role (Former Employee) –  Chandlers Ford, Hampshire22 May 2018
there's never a dull moment and it's always interesting but a succession of poor decisions, an autocratic board and too many large scale transformation projects being attempted at the same time pile the pressure on.

There have been some really big strategic changes which may well improve things but not for a good year or two.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but Mangement is difficult
Customer Advisor/Till Operator (Former Employee) –  Yeading21 May 2018
as a first job it was so lovely, i made friends and learnt a lot of information, which was the main reason i joined b&q to learn and understand. I also learn to problem solve.
It was hard work, heavy lifting but i didn’t mind, the only problems was the management, it was very difficult since they kept changing so we didn’t have time to know each other, Also there is a certain manager that is especially difficult, you will know who it is as soon as you start working there.
Pros
People are lovely
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place & productive workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury18 May 2018
A good workplace where everyone helps everyone. Good pay for my age and talking to customer can always be an eye opener. The learning curve was pretty difficult but its worth it when you get it all done and can be put on larger pay. they also work around your college hours to help you out.
Pros
Good break times and how many you get for how many hours you work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Retail Job
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Poole, Dorset15 May 2018
This is a standard retail job. The people you work with make the job, a large part of the job is customer service and you get some specialised training based on which section you work on.
Kingfisher is a good company that pays reasonably well for a retail role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Showroom Adviser (Former Employee) –  Basildon14 May 2018
Non existant training, poor working culture, sales reviews every other day. Commission poor compared to other similar companies. Sales targets high from the very start, but difficult to achieve as the majority of the day is spent doing general duties.
Pros
Some oppurtunity to earn commission
Cons
High targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not a long term career opportunity
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Paisley14 May 2018
Good Place to work, the staff are great. Excellent management team. Majority of the time they are willing to be flexible with hours. However there is not route for progression within the company, not a company you can create a career with.
Pros
Excellent Staff, Flexible Hours
Cons
Limited opportunities to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Royal Tunbridge Wells14 May 2018
Some Management need more training, work boxing day new years bank holidays can be booked of but unlikely, CA staff are helpful and approachable, 20% discount for staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, Hampshire12 May 2018
Awful place to work aggressive management/supervisors who are always on a power trip
Underpaid for the duties they tell you to do
Only upside are the brief encounters with other customer advisors and customers
More focused on company targets than the customers them selves
Pros
Total of 1.5 hours of breaks
Cons
Manegment attitudes also over worked and underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Oxfordshire3 May 2018
Poor management, constantly left on my own to deal with situations I didn't have much training for, help wasn't available when needed, were not supportive of my study needs. Management did not seem to care or want to help make things better until I handed my notice in. Company attracted abusive and impatient from customers due to tills not working properly on a regular basis and other faults.
Pros
Good discount for products at Screwfix as well as B&Q
Cons
lack of proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees3 May 2018
good place to work, friendly colleagues. great opportunities to learn from other people as well as a lot of training available. Exciting opportunities every day with new and interesting customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Berkshire30 April 2018
I loved to work in B&Q.
my working day was making sure the shelfs were full, and serving customers.
There was 2 managers that made my life hard to work there, so i had to leave there
Pros
20% discount
Cons
shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Show Rooms Salesman (Former Employee) –  Romford Town, Greater London27 April 2018
I feel having management and HR in the same building tends to have a negative effect on how processes are followed. Relationships are made and therefore loyalties are formed, which effects how staff are treated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and brilliant to progress
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Nursling, Hampshire27 April 2018
A brilliant place to work, such a family atmosphere in store, really sales driven company, and ever changing which is good so that you don’t become complacent. I start B&Q as a part time customer advisor, now within a year I have become full time and a supervisor, this really shows that it is possible for progression you just really have to be after it!
Pros
Great chance for progression
Cons
Rules being broken but not followed through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Customer advisor - Stock replenishment (Former Employee) –  England23 April 2018
The main role in the job was stock replenishment. My duties where to collect stock from the warehouse and distribute it into the shop floor. I did this by using a pallet power truck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant place to work but impossible to advance
Customer Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Isle of Wight23 April 2018
I loved working here but there just isn't enough chance to advance. Some people are very complacent too.You find that you're having to do more than you're required to an awful lot of the time.
Pros
Friendly environment.
Cons
Bad management at times. No advancements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day challenges
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset23 April 2018
a good group of guys to work for and plenty to learn. everyday was a new challenge and great to help customers with their home improvement projects. days can seem a bit long at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced multi task environment
gopher (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester21 April 2018
Been Working here for nearly 22 years & yes before you say ask the question why?i can honestly say i just don't know everyday is different you can have a horrible day with customers & the job, go home kick the cat (joke) & swear you will never go back but the next day the alarm goes off you get up & do it all again,and you have a lovely day & customers are great its not for everyone though its really fast paced & sometimes well most times if you havent worked in retail you really are thrown in at the deep end it really is on the job training you will have a couple of modules to do on the computer but then its on the floor would i recommend working here yes if you have worked in a retail environment if not then it might take a liitle bit of time to adjust
Pros
20% staff discount, great staff camaraderie
Cons
a lot of staff not flexible enough for the shifts which results in poor staff deployment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&Q. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,521 reviews
5391
4482
3350
2147
1151

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture