B&M Employee Reviews

Found 1,848 reviews matching the search See all 1,898 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard working environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port17 October 2019
A typical day atwork would entail working from start to finish at maximum energy with no rrom for slack, I learned how to use a till and how to improve my customer service skills when dealing with customers who had issues they needed fixing within store. The hardest part of the job was wrking during the christmas ush, but during this time i learnt how to stay on task and stay posistive during long shifts that culd induce a lot of stress. The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting customers as a large majority of the time they were intriguing and had stories that could turn the day around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham17 October 2019
Personally I just didn’t enjoy myself working there as it was something new I was trying because in the past I have done the complete opposite for work such as manual labour jobs which is what I enjoy. Overall decent company depending on what you enjoy and what it is you want to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
Cash office supervisor (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire16 October 2019
very good place to work for, looked after around 15 staff daily on tills and gained a lot from working here but was expected to do a lot of hours along side studying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
Christmas Temp Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brierley Hill16 October 2019
great helpful environment to work in. the staff where very helpful while i was their learning new skills, the manegmant was great it was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Whaley Bridge16 October 2019
Hated my time working here, management were terrible, pay was terrible, staff were rude, the job its self was terrible. Honestly don't have a good word to say about working here. Worked 8 hours a week on £6 an hour, and got tret like some sort of slave, like we owed then something.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Antrim16 October 2019
terrible management , family of manager that work in b&m get paid more than they should. they will pick fights and do not treat you well at all. breaks are bad , money is bad , people are bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Store Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ryhope16 October 2019
I was only there for 3 months in total. Stocking shelves and replenishing stock. Working in a fast paced environment in Ryhope store, Sunderland....
Pros
Close to home
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading15 October 2019
I enjoyed working at b&m bargains it was fun the staff are nice and friendly good hours good pay my reason for leaving management was horrible to me cus I was sick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shotton, Flintshire14 October 2019
B&M was a lovely place to work i picked up some new skills while working there all the staff were great and the wage was good and weekly. the hours were okay aswell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive & fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire14 October 2019
I enjoyed the one week I had. there was always work, I worked hard, to the best I could do. I am thankful for the work experience. and it helped me to understand retail jobs more.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff
CASHIER SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Elland, West Yorkshire13 October 2019
The staff are really good to work with management need to brush up on ther skills abit the shelves are more full than they used to be which is goo as ther more variety now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with colleagues
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Newport, Newport13 October 2019
Newport store lovely place to work staff are like a family lots of change in management which is frustrating as couldn't stick hours agreed on all in all was a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockport, Greater Manchester, cardigan13 October 2019
Great place to work.
Give you great opportunity to move up in your career.
Very fast and hard working team.
If your hard working this is definitely a place to be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am going to miss my work at Liskeard B&M store!
Customer service supervisor (Former Employee) –  Liskeard12 October 2019
The team is great and the Store Manager is a person for example!
I have managed to learn so much there, I had the opportunity to be trained in everything I wanted to. I was given a chance to grow up on the ladder and I am very thankful for that.

This is the place for you!
Don't miss the opportunity to apply!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Margate, Kent11 October 2019
poor selection of management, dependant on members of staff could be a laugh at times, poor discounts, uneducated members of staff barring a few, shop fitting always a laugh but never worth your while
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Operative
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Blackpool10 October 2019
B&M dispite popular belief is a good place to work, if you have go in you and willing to put in the work to move up all the opportunities are there, a fast pacing work place with great managers that care.
The operations manager of Blackpool and Knowsley Vinny is a good manager that cares and will do anything to get you moved up in the company all you have to do is put in the work and show him that you deserve the opportunity.
Minimum wage to start (but were isn't) but can earn more money with a good bonus scheme and pay rises with experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Told on induction your nothing but a number.
Replenishment Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire10 October 2019
This is the worst place I have ever worked. The working culture within this company is disgraceful. Everybody is disposable. Management simply do not care. You are literally told that you are nothing but a number. Wages are awful, thats even if they remember to pay you right. Avoid like the plague.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Bosses
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hoyland Nether9 October 2019
Had 3 temporary project managers in to help get the shop floor setup and whilst the project managers was throwing balls of plastic at each other they was also telling my manager I wasn’t pulling my weight.
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp work
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashington, Northumberland9 October 2019
Really great place to work and enjoyable a lot of experience is gathered working in a place like this with so many different items on sale and a lot of customer skills is needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran by "clicks"
Retail/Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Holyhead8 October 2019
My own experience was fine for 3 odd years but my last year or so there was terrible, I cannot discuss the ins and outs of what happened but I can say the CAB said my treatment amounted to "Harassment".
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 1,898 reviews
5351
4436
3474
2230
1407

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture