B&M Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Placement
shop assitant (Former Employee) –  Stenhousemuir Larbert Falkirk16 July 2018
i would talk to the manager as i have arrived to see what jobs to do for my shift. One of thosses jobs were to stack the shelves and to do a stock trasfer witch was to put the newist to the back and the oldest to the front.
i would also sweep the floor before lunch time before the school teenagers would come in to the shop.
Pros
good experance, leanred new things with in the industry
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimalists with no intention of helping you progress.
General assistant (Former Employee) –  Selby, North Yorkshire15 July 2018
Positive is made good friends their and can't fault them. Buisness model is misguided and just a cash cow to some greedy folk who cut corners to meet targets, don't bother with training as they will still be minimalists no matter how qualified you are. It's ok as a stop gap but not really a viable job.
Pros
Good people there.
Cons
No hours unless you can be taken advantage of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience but long repetitive days and short breaks
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockport14 July 2018
Working at B&M was a good experience, however days consisted of long hours which became repetitive. There was just a 15 minute break every 4 hours, meaning on Saturday and Sunday i got a 15 minute break for doing 6 hours of work. A typical day at work was standing at the checkouts until closing time and then doing put-backs.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly
Sale assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire13 July 2018
B&M is a nice place to work for staff are so friendly plenty of things to do in retail. have to work in a fast speed to get stock out. if you have never done retail you learn how to stack shelves, working on tills, cleaning shop floor and learn more customer service skills.
Pros
get discount
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard graffting in the warehouse
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Liverpool12 July 2018
this is a good job working in the warehouse and a grate company to work for as a warehouse operative, the work enviroment is great and everyone gets along, they provide and pay you for training and include it in your first months wages.
Pros
great cafe in house
Cons
very cold in the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Daventry10 July 2018
A typical day at work was walking into work to be working with amazing, hard working people. I learnt so much and my confidence grew stronger. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know so many people throughout my experience. Good management. The hardest part of the job was nothing at all because I enjoyed everything. I learnt how to deal with the customers the correct way and making sure all my customers were leaving with a smile on their faces and making them feel at ease.
Pros
You get a lot more confident, they can offer you short or long hours depending on what hours you would want, but they would help you out.
Cons
Better pay rate and longer hours needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn’t recommend
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Port Talbot10 July 2018
Wouldn’t recommend to anyone the store is not a happy environment to work in and the management team are unprofessional when it comes to dealing with store issues
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Min wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job of my life
stock replenishment (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, Oxfordshire9 July 2018
i would not recommend working here for starters i got massively taken advantage of working long shifts all day just over £3 an hour as i was 17 and was asked what i didn't want to do due to being anxious i asked not to work on the tills and they said they wouldn't yet thats where they put me. the group of supervises just stood out front of the shop smoking. if you smoked that entitles you to a break in a 4 hour shift if you dint smoke no break. The attitude of people higher up towards till staff who clearly had special needs were disgusting calling them "spastics". i constantly heard them talking about taking wages away from people who diddnt work hard enough but weren't shown how to for example a girl who was told to build a shelf had no idea how to so it took "longer than it should have" they took wages away from her without telling her and were laughing about it in the office and saying how the adults are the only ones who work hard. I also was told buy staff about some comments the manger made towards me whilst i was stacking shelves that made me very uncomfortable.
Pros
nothing
Cons
manger and supervisers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum Hours and Low pay
Customer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weston5 July 2018
Replenishment - from inside the stores wear house there would be pallets of products, with a pump trunk i would pull the pallet to the aisle, then following by organising and stacking them on to the correct shelves.

Cleaning - keeping the staff room clean and the store.
Pros
Awesome Team Mates
Cons
Minimum Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,
Till Assistant (Former Employee) –  Evesham3 July 2018
very good management, someones always there to help if u get stuck. the hardest part of the job is stading up all shift at the till. the jib is very enjoyable as you meet new people and learn and gain more experience.
Pros
experience
Cons
stading up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A laugh
Member of the Recovery Crew (Former Employee) –  Redditch3 July 2018
People were nice but there are certain personalities that drove me away. There also aren't enough staff to get the job done efficiently. They kept me on after I temped though which I, as a student, was thankful for.
Pros
I was kept on
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester28 June 2018
a typical day at B&M would consist of o 9 hour shift just continuously stacking shelves and fetching stock out from the back. At the end of the day I would clean down my aisle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 June 2018
i was a cashier and it was a good job to help me out as like a proper first time job the best part of the job was the people they as very nice and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast and hardworking workplace
Floor Worker (Current Employee) –  Newport27 June 2018
the initial job when i began at the company was very stressful, however i soon got around to what i was meant to be doing on each day etc, however recently it seems that each layer of management has a different idea of what the staff should be doing at set times/jobs, which usually leads to a '1 step forward 2 steps back' type scenario, also the building that i work in is prone to flooding as the plumbing is through decades old pipes, which also destroys the ceiling whenever it does heavily rain, also to mention is the air conditioning, at the front and back of the store there are air conditioning, however it i sub par and constantly turns itself off, also the middle of the store in the summer heat is really unbearable, i often overhear customers complaining about this and they stand next to the open chillers which leads to a traffic build-up within the store, the most enjoyable part of the job is the job satisfaction when we work together to clear the stock from the warehouse, no matter how much twisted communication there is from the management, i also have to note that some higher up staff have quite bad attitudes and can get quite irate and swear in the back areas of the store
Pros
10% discount
Cons
stressful conditons, heat, certain staff attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1st career
Replenishment Supervisor (Lates) (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge21 June 2018
the lack of development and structure within the company left the potential for someone eager and high drive to ush forward and progress quickly. whilst those two statements contradict each other, its means that you could develop with the correct manager supporting you.However, the company didn't have a set regime in place to push higher talented staff to go further.
Pros
discount, quick progression
Cons
lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more more more
csr/filler (Former Employee) –  Rochford19 June 2018
they just want more from every hard worker and treat them with little to no respect some nice people there help you through but its not worth it if your young or can afford it go back to college
Pros
none
Cons
its not fun or rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stanway18 June 2018
hard work for little reward, minimum wages for underage workers doing the same job as others. rota changes without informing staff. lack of understanding from management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun bit not alot of oputinities
Customer service/Warehouse operator (Former Employee) –  Bridgend, Bridgend17 June 2018
I enjoyed working in b&m but there's was no hours and favouritism was very common there, here was no moving forward in this store it was cone to work and go home but for very minimum hours
Pros
Co wokers
Cons
Wasnt treated fairly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
B&m
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barking, Greater London15 June 2018
B&m was a very good inviroment to work in but the pay wasn’t the best and magenment was not very friendly and took a diss likening to curtain members of staff for no reason
Pros
Good invroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Runcorn, Cheshire15 June 2018
thought it was a good enviroment to work in got on well with everyone really management were good apart from when i went on to nights was one certain manager who showed favouritism to a few others the banter was good no hard pats of the job really enjoyed working there overall and would of stayed but had to care for my mum mark talbot night manager wouldnt help with time off
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at B&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 1,487 reviews
5289
4362
3368
2185
1283

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture