Aviva Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great..
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk21 February 2018
My manager was not at all supportive. Plus they were biased towards old employees. Not a great place to work with. Work life balance is not respected at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with a reliable income
Claims Handler (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk29 January 2018
Aviva is a good company to work for and a lovely working environment. However, I found that there wasn’t fair treatment regarding progression and development. This seemed to be based on who you know. In a large company it can seem as though you are just a number on a payroll.
Pros
Good pension schemes and staff vouchers
Cons
Wages are low and not clear how to meet the targets for higher pay increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aviva review
Head of Digital (Current Employee) –  City of London, Greater London23 January 2018
Good company
lack strategic execution but is has vision and strategy sorted out
Plenty of opportunity in digital, and a leader in its vertical
complex org structure.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Complex structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Advisor (Former Employee) –  Home Based20 January 2018
Part time working from home
Online training
Busy on calls most days
Enjoyed interaction with customers, but pressure of call taking did not allow for polite conversation, which generated complaints.
Pros
Work from home on decent work plan
Cons
Very intense on calls with added pressure of scoring system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Personal Incident Manager (Former Employee) –  Southend18 January 2018
There was a vast array of personalities at Aviva in Southend which made it a great place to work.

They took me straight off of a building site and opened my eyes to office life which I will always be grateful for.

I learned so much in my 6plus years at Aviva, from how offices function to general insurance and insurance policies.
Pros
Bonuses, free lunch days, Christmas and summer parties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working business
Surveyor contracts manager (Former Employee) –  UK4 January 2018
Great company to work for. long hours and hard work but very rewarding. The pension scheme and health benefits are second to none and the shear option scheme is a great way to invest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and enjoyable
Motor BI claims handler (Current Employee) –  Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire18 December 2017
Aviva and it’s flex benifit allows you to work a 35 hour week without the fatigue of a normal 9-5 job. The ability to build flex time which can be taken whenever the business allows (which is all the time). Flexible working hours allowing a 4 day week however maintaining your 35 working hours.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Location of office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 December 2017
Taking calls from customers and going through policies and discussing requirements. Renewing policies and soft selling other products.
Dealing with complaints if necessary
Pros
work from Home
Cons
long hours and weekenend work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive at all times
Commercial property claims handler (Current Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex4 December 2017
I loved working for Aviva and the only reason I
Am leaving is because i am being made redundant all our work is migrating to Perth and I cannot relocate .
Pros
Parking pension 25 days holiday flexible hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous place to work
SME Enterprise Systems Management (Former Employee) –  Norwich4 December 2017
I think these guys have it right. Good and fair place to work. give all that you can take what is on offer and make sure you are noticed for the work you do well and own up to the things that are not quite what you did well.

Value in honesty will get you far here. Enjoy.
Pros
Pension, holidays, bonus scheme
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aviva should be better than this
Fraud prevention (Former Employee) –  Norwich1 December 2017
rinse and repeat, they care little about there staff and you are treated as just a number, little chance of promotion as you need to be "in" with the right people, if your face does not fit, they will never promote you, strong "coke" culture permeates the offices.
Pros
its nine till five
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
CHANGE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Dorking, Surrey30 November 2017
good company to work for, great people, interesting challenges. Not much about growing potential, a lot of people are stuck at the same roles for years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
PMI Claims Assessor (Former Employee) –  Chandlers Ford29 November 2017
Great team and bunch of people. Insurance company of the year for many years in a row for a reason. Good culture and location was good for me and fits with my needs.
Pros
Team
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxing workplace
Senior Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire14 November 2017
A typical day at work would involve meetings with stakeholders and being aware of how each thing you do impacts other teams.

A fun and friendly workforce of diverse interests.
Pros
Free drinks machines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally ok to work there
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Norwich16 October 2017
The part I worked in was busy and it was a bit "battery hen" but most of the people were ok. There was scope for some fun and dress down Fridays and charity days made for a nice culture.

Most managers were ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly staff
Client Admin Support (Former Employee) –  Dorking, Surrey11 October 2017
Prepare quotes from daily list provided. Attend training sessions to help with career development and to keep up-to-date with job requirements. Assist with sending out statement in post if required.
Pros
Car park, near to public transport, restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Administrator (Contract) (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London3 October 2017
Busy and great place to work. People were helpful and the working atmosphere was good. Very difficult to give a full review in view of the amount of time I was working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great promotion potential
Team manager (Former Employee) –  Norwich30 September 2017
Really was allowed to grow as a person in this role. Gained vast management/customer handling skills.
Lots of redundancies and felt at risk on numerous occassions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks after their staff financially
Senior Trading Underwriter (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London29 September 2017
Nice company; reasonably good work life balance; looks after their staff financially; nice culture; always busy as it's a big name insurer and there's never a lull in enquiries coming in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company.
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Norwich21 September 2017
I reached the age of 60 in 2017, so was able to take retirement. A noticeable change in culture during my final 2 - 3 years meant I knew it was time to move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 782 reviews
5256
4285
3184
235
122

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture