Aviva Employee Reviews

Found 377 reviews matching the search See all 972 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with amazing progression opportunities
MI Development Consultant (Former Employee) –  Norwich15 March 2019
I loved my time at Aviva, the management are, in my own experience, highly professional and treat their staff very well. The Company has a great vision and prides itself of its culture.
Pros
Amazing benefits package
Cons
Car parking at some sites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical 2019 Giant
Reporting & Analytics Analyst (Current Employee) –  York26 February 2019
The base hourly rate is low and Aviva claim to 'make up for this' by paying overtime at time-and-a-half and by offering quarterly bonuses. IT Care exclusively employ people on a temp basis from Adecco and string them along claiming that a permanent contract will be offered 'soon'. Typical 2019 taking full advantages of changes in employment law that allow them to suspend people perpetually in uncertainty and low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like a rudderless ship
Manager (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire11 February 2019
Should be a great company to work for - some of the benefits (i.e. pension) are very good but the salaries are very inconsistent and there is a real lack of leadership.

Aviva promote themselves as a company who champion mental health, equal rights and many other things that make them sound good but the truth is, most of the leaders are clueless in dealing with people. And I say this as a leader. The overall leadership structure in Sheffield is terrible, and it's well known at board level but ignored.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
International Admin Team Account Handler (Current Employee) –  Chandlers Ford, Hampshire4 February 2019
Aviva is a good company to work for. Everyone is very friendly. You work as a Team. Help is given if you are not sure of a process. Last minute changes can be hard. The people and variety of work are the most enjoyable part of the job. Never boring.
Pros
If they win awards they share with you i.e a free breakfast or a voucher
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really supportive
New Business Administrator (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol3 February 2019
when working with AVIVA they did a they could to help me with my mental help and childcare if I could go back I would they were really good to me, Only thing I wished forwas a better salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues
Senior Personal Lines Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow25 January 2019
Progression was slow due to the numerous changes at business levels. Was taking the role away from core Underwriting. Not a lot of opportunities available at Bishopbriggs, Glasgow. They were accommodating for me personally to help with childcare though it was getting increasingly difficult to be happy there as not much more left to do in the department itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sheffield25 January 2019
worked there on a temp basis and really enjoyed my experince. got along with all staff and management had weekends off and flexitime start times available.
Pros
all staff pleasant
Cons
parking spaces a nightmare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it
New Business Administrator (Former Employee) –  Stoke Gifford22 January 2019
Very busy inbound call centre, high standards expected and management is absolutely terrible within the customer services department in bristol.

little chance of progression and multiple lies told about the working hours.

management also like to prey on young girls - so if you are a young pretty girl interviewing you will almost definitely get the job :D
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Claims Handler (Former Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex21 January 2019
I loved working for Aviva for various reasons namely, company benefits, great colleagues and good social events. I am still gutted a year later, to have been made redundant!
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unclear
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire8 January 2019
I had an interview which I thought I basically smashed and had experience in the area I applied for, even when the job itself says NO experience is needed as you’ll be fully trained, however got told I was unsuccessful due to my level of experience. Also they’re clearly not looking for bubbly, enthusiastic people as the office floor felt like walking into a morgue. But hey ho
Pros
You get interview feedback
Cons
It doesn’t make sense
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Call Centre Agent (Former Employee) –  Bishopbriggs, East Dunbartonshire6 January 2019
Minimal training, and a system where every single thing you do is scrutinized. Ten minutes a day to go to the bathrooms which are a football pitch distance from your desk, constant pedantically marked call reviews where any deviations from the script are gleefully leap upon so they can sit you on the naughty step and put another black mark in your file (which they use to threaten you with if they want to get rid of you)...

If you're on a call when it's home time, you have to stay with never any thanks or extra pay - ten percent of the time you go in only to find there are too many people in and get sent home. Office is difficult to get to and in the middle of nowhere.

Never ever work here.
Pros
You are allowed home occasionally
Cons
Everything about this job is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like a good re-structure
Insight Manager, Marketing (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire4 January 2019
If you like constant change then this is a great place to work. Lots of opportunities to do new things.

work / life balance is ok / depends on the team you work in.

pay and benefits are pretty good.

Culture could be better.

Re-structure fatigue for many.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and collaborative environment
Actuarial Trainee (Former Employee) –  London2 January 2019
The office at Aviva was dynamic and exciting. Everyone was friendly and professional. The teams worked together to get the best possible work done and were always excellent at promoting a positive atmosphere.
The wider office was easy to get on with as well. There was a community dynamic at Aviva, where people participated in social activities alongside their work functions (cake club, book clubs, Christmas decoration competitions and quizzes).
Pros
Great area of London, wonderful company ethos
Cons
If you live outside of London, long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting better but a long way to go
Claims Handler (Current Employee) –  Glasgow5 December 2018
Improving flexibility with the implementation of working from home (currently on a pilot); however, still under immense pressure to do work yet little staff (staff relocated or left and not replaced).

Office politics does apply to alot!

Overall package good, but still a bit off what others offer.
Pros
Free tea, coffee, juice
Cons
Office politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice plqce to work
Corporate receptionist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 November 2018
it is a good experience i learned a lot and i wand to learn more and more; i can say that aviva gives me the chance to discover corporate role and also to work in a busy environment,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Complaints and Customer Experience Administrator (Current Employee) –  Norwich21 November 2018
Excellent place to work, good work to life balance, lots of work events and charitable events.

Everyone is friendly, welcoming and fun to work with.

Excellent location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk20 November 2018
Great company, and excellent package and rate of pay. Friendly and relaxed environment. Would highly recommend this company. Extensive training and lors of opportunities for progression.
Pros
Excellent pension and benefits package
Cons
Weeends and late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor payers and morale
Bodily Injury/Complaints Handler (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk12 November 2018
Unfortunately, whilst the people who work on the front line are doing their best, the management does not create a happy culture. There is also a real difficulty in advancing within the company if you do not "fit in" with the right people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure company to work for
Technical Support Consultant (Former Employee) –  York7 November 2018
Working at Aviva, like most large corporates is a mixed bag. There are aspects of the culture which are very good, such as the dedication to the customer. However, in practice there are issues with internal politics where some individuals in key positions can lack transparency and at times focus on there own interests and do not wish to collaborate.

I worked in numerous roles within the company in 10+ years, and the culture varies from leader to leader and department to department. There are some great people in the company who really want to put the customer first, but internal communication and transparency is still a blockage - despite years of this culture being preached
Pros
flexible working, employee support programme, good holiday package
Cons
micro-management culture, poor pay review system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Commercial Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire5 November 2018
Very Supportive of all their employees.
offer career progression.
Excellent benefit
pension plan
good fun working environment
good location
easy commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aviva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 972 reviews
5332
4345
3212
251
132

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture