Autism West Midlands Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands6 February 2018
Unfortunately, it is very disorganised, service users do nothing during their day. It's not rewarding. Some service users can be extremely aggressive, hit staff and we are not even allowed to protect ourselves. Some clients should be living in different places, as mental health issues take place.
Management never announce any changes, they just do it without telling you.
Cons
Mentally drowning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable development in confidence
Volunteer working group member (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands15 November 2017
It is inappropriate to comment on Salary for this as it was voluntary. But it gave me some good analytical, and networking skills which I have been able to apply and go to university. I am now looking forward to a career in law.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very structured environment
Support Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham23 May 2017
was always willing to support staff in a structured environment
i worked in supported living with young people who had Asperger syndrome.
supported with daily routines, such as dressing, toiliting, food preparation, budgeting, assisting on outings and daily chores.
Pros
very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company,
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 April 2017
No work life balance, expect you to work illegal hours. No support from management. Very backwards in the care they deliver, restrictive practices, locks on everything! Residents not kept safe and not matched well with other residents in there home's
Pros
Training provided was good
Cons
Care provided very poor/ company support
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work, good management
Support Worker/Carer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands2 February 2017
A typical day would consist of 1to1 or 2to1 work with your client, helping them with daily chores, hygiene & also interacting with the public with many of different activities. I became a man working there & really learned responsibility. Sad to have ever left. Great place with great staff & management
Pros
Feels like home, even to me now
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
causal bar (Former Employee) –  West Midlands20 October 2016
was a very good workpace to work for, enjoyed doing many different tasks, would recommend anyone to go work for this group, very helpful and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
passionate and caring
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Birmingham9 August 2016
Getting to know the service users is the most important thing to do in any service. Every day at work is interesting. the best part of the job is going home at the end of the day knowing you have made someone's life easier.
Pros
feel good factor
Cons
needs consistancy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company for a Great Cause
Volunteer Befriender (Current Employee) –  Walsall15 June 2016
A truly great company that strives to provide Autistic adults with the respect and opportunity they deserve in every day life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring place to work
Head office support (Current Employee) –  ENG23 December 2015
AWM is a really caring organisation - they always seem to put the service users at the centre. You learn a lot day to day and its a really fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
employee (Former Employee) –  autism west midlands28 June 2015
Poor communication, poor support for employees, unacceptable management of head office employees, bad practice, poor following of policies and procedures. good salary, good training programmes
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Support worker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham29 May 2015
Work with Challenging behaviour and autism. Really rewarding job. The staff here are definantly the best I've ever worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthy and rewarding field
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Smethwick West Midlands12 January 2013
Each day in my work place is different, some days my job is very challenging and some days very rewarding.
I have worked within this field for ten years now but am still learning, Autism is such a complex and interesting condition.
I really enjoy working with people and get great satisfaction as i watch them progress and develop with the support and guidance i have provided.
Pros
making a difference
Cons
community outlook
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Autism West Midlands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 13 reviews
54
45
32
20
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Autism West Midlands Reviews by Location