Atkins Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for
Possession Planner (Former Employee) –  Swindon8 June 2018
After leaving East Kent Project i went to Swindon to work away from home and Atkins made this very easy by being understanding and not expecting me to work weekends and good for getting information from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Working Environment Ever!
Unified Communications Consultant (Former Employee) –  Home, London, Glasgow, Hong Kong27 May 2018
Best Working Environment Ever! Contracted With Atkins As A Consultant For The Hong Kong Government New Future IT Infrastructure. Covering All Aspects And Presented Proposals And Strategy To The Hong Kong Government In Wanchai For 5 Days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive an fun place to work
Electricians Mate/ SPC-London Underground (Former Employee) –  London22 May 2018
Fun place to work, enjoy the job for the years I was there, mainly might work which suited my life situation at the time I have no bad words to say about my time working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive culture
Resource Manager (Current Employee) –  Witney, Oxfordshire19 May 2018
Upper management very caring about diversity and inclusion. There are lots of opportunities if you go out of your way to offer help. The general culture is very friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
telecommunications assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham17 May 2018
Enjoyed working for Atkins at work experience everyone was always very happy to help out and allow me to understand the day to day running of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunities
Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen26 February 2018
Great people to work with
Very professional
Plenty socials
Opportunity for career progression
Trains new graduates
Good for young engineer development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company
Clerk of Works (Current Employee) –  M1 J19-16 SM ALR19 February 2018
Great place to work and Atkins are a great company to be apart of.
Great managers and work colleagues that work well together to achieve a common goal
Pros
Very professional
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol18 February 2018
Atkins / Faithful+Gould used to be a great company until they started focusing on the bottom line. Then it got even worse when they were taken over by SNC Lavalin. Staff development is now not a priority. They paid below market which used to be ok when the company car scheme was great.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Focus on bottom line at expense of everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally Atkins Rail is a good place to work.
Interlocking Functional Tester (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom2 February 2018
In my employment with Atkins Rail I was able to enhance my career prospects becoming a 'Tester In Charge' whilst under their employment.
Like most jobs of this nature it requires the employee to spend the majority of their working life away from home which can cause some domestic problems so I would not recommend a job of this nature to any young married couples with children.
With that said, Atkins on the whole is a good place to work and they do value their workforce and assist both professionally and personally too.
The work is stressful and run to a tight schedule especially on commissioning's where your role is to ensure the safety and integrity of the signalling system before signing the certificate of conformance and handing the system over to the operations department of Network Rail.
Pros
The ability to 'be your own boss'. Good on-the-job training. Friendly atmosphere.
Cons
Away from home for long periods, Long hour's and elevated stress levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Regional Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  South West8 November 2017
its not too bad. You need to stand your ground a bit else you will be leaned on to do more than your fair share. Safety Culture good , getting more and more corporate and less about the people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
variety
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester7 November 2017
Variety of work is interesting, ability to move around the orgainisation if you wanted. Very demanding at times, have to prove you can do a role before you are rewarded with extra even if its not included in your original job title!
Pros
flexible (ish) working
Cons
demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good company to work for
Security Vetting Administrator (Former Employee) –  Epsom, Surrey8 October 2017
A very busy job. Learned new systems and gained further knowledge on Security Vetting. Good company. I was employed on a temporary basis through Hays Employment Agency and would have stayed on if they extended my contractor further. Would also have accepted a permanent position if offered one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace low salary!
Assistant Accountant (Current Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire3 October 2017
Fun workplace but really low salary compare to other offices around the company, no room to climb the ladder in this particular office but if you go further afield there is. No longer have job security.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surprised
Senior Geophysical Technician (Current Employee) –  Epsom, Surrey2 October 2017
I anticipated that Atkins would be far more organised as an entire company.
Unfortunately departments are far too focused on their immediate business area rather than everyone working towards a greater goal for the company. To such degree that departments almost compete against each other and in some cases hinder another department from gaining work.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
lack of organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity Dependent
Lead Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol18 September 2017
Great culture and place to work with many different opportunities and experiences. These can be both good and bad, and are also dependent on business requirements. You can be sent offsite / abroad without much room to argue if there are no other opportunities available. Similarly, the type of work may not align with the direction you want to develop.
Great work/life balance. Average salary.
Pros
Positive environment
Cons
Sometimes uninteresting projects, poor training (only driven by project and quite often 'on the job')
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Admin Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol12 September 2017
Good place to work. Not much parking. Great facilities: café, restaurant etc. Great working environment. Open plan, light office on a business park with two ponds. Great cycling facilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Euston Tower26 August 2017
Excellent Learning the way of Consulting Engineers and Architects
Presented with Client design brief to then create and present engineering drawings and modelled Revit of concept design
Engineering Consultancy is the industry fit for solutions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Catering assistant (Former Employee) –  Birchwood, Cheshire25 August 2017
I was hired by an agency that sub let me to Atkins, my job was to take care of board meetings deliver refreshments and keep the rooms clean sometimes could be up to 50 people, the staff were very friendly and I had a great time there.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Labourer (Former Employee) –  everywhere22 August 2017
worked with atkins years ago, very friendly staff, very experienced, bit rough of the younger workers, fun and enjoyable, decent pay, long hours but reasonable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joined in hopes of a future and let down
Project Controller (Former Employee) –  The Hub15 August 2017
Due to the buyout redundancies were being made.....

Due to a buyout by SCN-Lavalin and only being in the role for 6 weeks and redundancies and cost cutting I was asked to leave as I was on probation and was not entitled to be given redundancy notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Atkins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 306 reviews
598
4114
354
220
120

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture