ASDA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern day slavery
Nightshift Worker (Current Employee) –  South Shields, Tyne and Wear10 July 2018
Was a good place to work until Walmart took over, only there now 2 nights a week - looking for a change in career - plenty of experience gained & will be using that productively in the future
Pros
The people who you work with
Cons
Expectation's
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish
PETROL STATION ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Havant, Hampshire10 July 2018
worked in the petrol station always felt on your own, managers are unfriendly and the pay was rubbish. would never work there ever again. Anywhere is better than asda.
Pros
bonus and double discount day
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice atmosphere and good experience gained
Service Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex9 July 2018
It is a lovely company to work for that supports colleagues in many different ways, there is always opportunities to move up and gain many different skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeshop
personal shopper (Former Employee) –  Bideford, Devon8 July 2018
Loved working here. Very supportive and good training. Fellow colleagues were amazing and management supportive. Lots of benefits working for Asda and very supportive of no bullying in workplace and respecting each other
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A reasonable job for low skill employment
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Falkirk8 July 2018
The tasks are somewhat monotonous although the staff are very friendly, the role is ideal for someone looking for a first time job with experience. This role will help improve customer service skills in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues, awful management.
Checkouts (Current Employee) –  Alloa7 July 2018
Managers and section leaders are mostly incompetent and/or lazy. They have sky high expectations but won’t support you to accomplish them. When targets aren’t met it’s never their fault, it’s yours.
Pros
Mostly friendly colleagues, decent benefits
Cons
Unsupportive management, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient
Rounded member of staff (Former Employee) –  Derby6 July 2018
Pays decently, usually pretty flexible with hours. always opportunities to move around departments if you are not happy on your own, and plenty of opportunity to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Front end colleague (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh6 July 2018
I enjoyed working in ASDA. The staff and management were friendly and helpful.

I enjoyed helping the customers and we had regular customers.

The pay and the hours were very good.

This store is in a great location and easy to get there.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starter job
Checkout Operator (Current Employee) –  Chorley, Lancashire5 July 2018
ASDA is great as a first point, it can teach you a lot and most management can guide you in the right direction. However, with the amount of competition around ASDA can not afford to keep a good amount of staff employed which can affect its day to day running. Most colleagues are over worked and stressed. Its a different place to work compared to 5 years ago.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, Poor Hours, No progression
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Colne, Lancashire5 July 2018
Job is ok however the hours are poor and there is no room for progression, the management are not supportive nor approachable, overall not what i am looking for
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company to work for
Front of House Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry4 July 2018
Bad hours given, Low rate of pay, Bad management
workplace culture was okay, but no one liked working there,
typical day at work was being harrassed by managers for minor discrepancies like a box not being level with another, public humiliation, most enjoyable part of the job was leaving at the end of the day. hardest part of the job is dealing with managers.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
inconsistent management
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and hardworking atmosphere
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Hessle4 July 2018
Working the majority of the time within the clothing area of George I was in charge of the baby and children clothing area, putting out new stock and merchandise daily which also included new promotions and sales whilst maintaining an excellent level of customer service.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Lack of door security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Section Manager (Current Employee) –  Gloucester3 July 2018
I currently enjoy my role within the company however would like to explore and see what else there is out there
My work life balance is right or me and enjoy my job on a daily basis the company are very family orientated and pay/ben eits reflect this also
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very reliable person and very hard working. I love developing new skills and being around a good environment. I also enjoy communicating with oth
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch, Worcestershire3 July 2018
Working at a shop I've learnt how to cooperate with different cultures and different ages of people, I've also learnt how to manage things at a shop. The most enjoyable part for me is to get to know everyone and also help other people out that come inside the shop and get to know people you work with.
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and labourous
Home Shopper (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire3 July 2018
A typical day started at 6am, working on your feet for 8 hours with only a 20 min break, You do get help when first starting but you are quickly expected to be as fast as someone who has worked there 40 years, and dont think you can go home at your alloted time, i worked a day once from 6am to 5pm when i was suppose to finish 11am. The colleuges are nice, but some will complain about you for petty reasons, the canteen is okay. The only enjoyable part of the job is the break you get in the middle and talking to your fellow colleages.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Long hours, on your feet all day with barely time to rest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as expected.
Checkout operator (Former Employee) –  Hayes3 July 2018
Management was poor. There was no recognition at all, they just only care if you get the job done. They also expect too much.
However colleagues are really helpful, very diverse.
Pros
Good Salary and A lot of Overtime offer
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gillingham3 July 2018
i enjoy working at asda, as it was close to my home and made alot of friends there, friendly employees, reasonable hours and reasonable managers , always looking out their employe
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex and St Leonards East Sussex2 July 2018
As a company they are very supportive of LGBT+ colleagues and do strive to be as fair as possible.
However, they underpay for the work, they don't have any job security if you start to progress and they expect far too much of everyone.
Pros
Can be lucky enough to have a family like team around you
Cons
Nearly everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night
Nights section leader (Current Employee) –  Coleraine, County Londonderry1 July 2018
My night job is to replenish the shop ready for next day trading and coach colleagues in there job.which number about 25 also then do handover to duty manager each morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, fast paced
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln1 July 2018
always a interesting environment, the customers can make or break your day and although quite a lot of how well it is to work in ASDA can vary wildly depending on your management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,408 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2458
1378

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture