ASDA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wisbech20 July 2018
good place to work nice people your on your feet all day but the people there are nice sometimes customers can be ignorant but you will just have to ignore them when there like that and try to be as help full as possible
Pros
moony of when you shop at asda
Cons
on your feet al day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store Colleague (Former Employee) –  Liverpool19 July 2018
Asda was a good place to work, however they brought in new contracts not long ago after the company was bought by Wall Mart which meant that your contracted hours were basically whatever the management wanted them to be, with zero notice in advance to this.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Awful shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, pretty good pay for part-time
Ambient Colleague (Current Employee) –  Workington19 July 2018
For a part-time job it has good pay
team working skills customer interaction skills are improved
management does a good job in instructing you
hardest part of the job is spending 8 hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate work place
George Colleague (Former Employee) –  Hunts cross19 July 2018
Working part of a team
Friendly staff
Dealing with Awkward customers
Helping customer to the best you can
Making sure you have done the job you need to do
Pros
Know that you have made a difference
Cons
Awkward customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Night operative (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside19 July 2018
Worked Nights for 3 0r 4 nights per week, replenishing beer and wine isles and carried out stock rotation.
teamwork was very important, i found it hard work but very enjoyable.

Working nights was different but i enjoyed it, it gave me more flexibility in my personal life.

The job was labour intensive, but i really enjoyed my time with Asda, it was a temp contract but on the recall list for future work.

I enjoyed meeting lots of new people
Pros
Nice people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stifling working environment
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rotherham18 July 2018
Profits come before people for those only marginally above standard shop-floor workers, but the camaraderie between the latter is good. High staff turnover of young people whose education is valued less than a shelf of sausages being marginally empty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntary placement
Stocking Assistant (Former Employee) –  clothing18 July 2018
team work is excellent offer great support strategies for one and other respect each other especially disability employees management is well and give respect to each colleges
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, North Ayrshire17 July 2018
I worked for Asda Irvine as a sales assistant doing many tasks for example stock replishment,customer service and cleaning I also dealt with customer enquiries and complaints. I learned to keep the customers best interests in mind.
Pros
made friends with colleques
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work place
George Colleague (Former Employee) –  Caernarfon17 July 2018
not enough to here, although i thoroughly enjoyed working here, staff were ok, one or two could be a bit awkward towards staff that worked below them, otherwise ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so fun workplace, rather fun colleagues and people
Night Colleague (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol17 July 2018
Need to be more caring towards black people.
Manager suffers from superiority complex and is un sarcastically racist. Work hours could be more fun if manager was less strict towards blacks.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours with little or no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of varied ages throughout Asda so diverse
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire16 July 2018
Learned safety procedures through regular training. Management are varied some are very helpful and some are not people persons.
Hardest part of the job on your feet all day.
Pros
Discount
Cons
The business can change structure and you don't have security in hours, departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are lovely and friendly.if not doing much and zero consequences for poor working standards are your the thing then it’s a great place
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Broadstairs, Kent16 July 2018
If your a hard worker and dedicated to the job you are given then stay clear,no thank you or appreciation for a job well done or if you go beyond the call of duty.the lazy and incompetent seem to thrive whiles the good workers are forgotten or continually overlooked.
Pros
Excellent work/home balance
Cons
Soul destroying
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queslett, UK16 July 2018
This was a Saturday job while I did my apprenticeship. People there nice, long hours were stressful and I didn't like being on my feet all day. Manager was sound.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service/Information Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle16 July 2018
Good place to work with friendly atmosphere. Flexible hours and central to the town. Good salary and training included. Modern up to date environment with ergonomic furniture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Part time job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Helens, Merseyside15 July 2018
Simple work, which could be completed without my studies. was unfortunate that I was unable to carry over my position when I moved away to university.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangament had their favourites
Night Shift Worker (Former Employee) –  Wisbech, Cambridgeshire14 July 2018
Not very good place to work expected to learn things after being shown once some training was good by your department manger but when some one else took over you shown a different way to do things staff were nice again a lot of back chat about others
Pros
Pay
Cons
Mangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employers
Brighton - Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Hollingbury, UK14 July 2018
My duties included (Not exhaustively) :-

• Operating / supervision at Checkouts, cash handling, resolving customer enquiries.
• Checkout Runner duties, helping Checkout staff with their customer service enquiries.
• Training and advising colleagues, managing staff rotas.
Pros
10% Staff Purchases Discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keep away
Delivery Driver Multi Drop (Current Employee) –  Newton Abbot, Devon13 July 2018
i would need to write a very very long piece on the do not's of joining ASDA, especially home delivery. if i just say that within 7 weeks of starting with them i began looking for another job. They are awful. Poor, poor, poor!!!!
Pros
home time
Cons
problems with pay and not getting fully paid, Poor health & safety in the workplace, Poor management, HR dept awful!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Altrincham13 July 2018
If you can work when everyone above you is passing the buck
if you can function when none of your equipment is functioning/available.
if you show the customer a smile when he's shown you 4" of butt crack
if you can keep calm and carry on for hours unless it's not busy then you can go home
if you can take your hols in the third week of Jan/Feb and find your own cover
if you are happy in the freezer and chilled to be chilled on the shop floor
if you can cope with toilets that don't flush and water that isn't hot
then you're welcome to it.
Pros
indoors
Cons
holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strange environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northumberland11 July 2018
None stop. Everyone telling you what you should be doing. Supervisors lack management skills. If you don't engage in banal and vacuous conversation with colleagues you've no chance with this company. Hardest part of job was working with some of these people. Bullying was evident. Not a professional organisation in any sense.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Sloppy management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,410 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2458
1378

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture