ASDA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asda flex rip off
Fresh Food Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sutton-In-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire25 July 2018
asda are employing colleagues on flexible 8 hour contracts but are making the colleagues work full time with this i disagree with.
asda needs a great big shake up from the top to the bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
CLEANER (Former Employee) –  Beckton25 July 2018
While I was working there I learn a lot and I have fun with my coleagues. I will be happy to work there again. I really miss my friends there, so hope to see them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun place to work- pressure put on you to work faster all the time.
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Asda24 July 2018
Hard work is not allways appreciated, only point out the negatives.
Lack of communication to the collegues on shop floor on nights.
Alot of pressure to get work done faster & faster, to the expense of presentation on the shop floor.
Accidents happen alot because of rushing.
Pros
10% discount off shopping in stores.
Cons
Long Hours all over weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive team work
Front End Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim24 July 2018
Whilst there is often not much room for movement within my own personal branch, the interwork relations are potentially the most positive aspect of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huntly, Aberdeenshire23 July 2018
Over time the only good thing about asda is your fellow colleagues to keep you generally sane and happy, other than that its mind-numbingly deteriorating day in day out if your not a delivery driver. Also the music has been the same since 2012 with a new top hit thrown in now and then.
Pros
10% discount card
Cons
Same thing, different day, in store music.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Freezer replen Colleague (Former Employee) –  Eastlands beswick Manchester23 July 2018
Many changes during my time at Asda, my job was working mainly alone in the Freezers, so no Colleagues to relate to, although throughout the store I made many acquaintances. the work was interesting because you would sometimes be asked to help out in another department, Managers were fair and polite when asking for workplace assistance. You would be rewarded on occasion as recognition for work related duties.
Pros
Left to do my duties. Friendly Colleagues in the main.
Cons
When a night shift doesnt show, I would be left their work to try and get through, Bit of a problem when you have daily deliveries to get in to the Freezers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and consistent
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oadby, Leicestershire22 July 2018
In Asda I found it as a hard working environment where everyone was positive and made me confident about my work experience placement, this had also made me feel good about working with others because everyone was easy to speak and easy to get along with which has made me confident in a working environment.
Pros
Learning new things and meeting new people.
Cons
Consistent doing the same things all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Driver (Current Employee) –  Scunthorpe, UK22 July 2018
Very poor throughout. If your face fits then great, if not then it's just a endless pointless job. Asda just don't care about the home shopping staff especially within store. There is no career development as a driver. Stores discriminate against drivers so they don't have to employ new.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About the jobs which I done in past and currently
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlton, Greater London22 July 2018
Learned lot of things like at Asda I got my fork truck license in werehouse and got more experience when I joined the security team like writing statements for police got my fire marshal training plus other management training.
Pros
Help to workout my hours while I studied
Cons
Some times it was long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managers
Fresh Food Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hyde, Greater Manchester21 July 2018
Been working for Asda in a fresh position for over 6 months. Some managers are completely incompetent and do not know what there doing what so ever. Poor communication between managers and colleagues and my manager ignores colleagues. The job it self can be interesting and I have learn't a lot of skills while at Asda in regards to fresh production. A good job if your at uni or college because they offer seasonal contracts as well as part time contracts but not good for a career and I do not want to stay at Asda any longer. I think an important thing to consider working at Asda is your experience may be positive or negative depending of your managers.
Pros
10% discount card after 12 weeks, good deals markdowns etc
Cons
Incompetent managers, poor advancement opportunities, staff budget cuts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was really hard working at asda
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northolt21 July 2018
i had to restore the shevles that were empty
i learned how to restore products and replace them
restoring the fruits idle was the hardest
workplace culture was really bad
most enjoyable are the restoring the drinks as it was easy
Pros
nothing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in better places..
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnstaple, Devon21 July 2018
Very poor communication, very much a sink or swim attitude to new people, zero support, you a very much just a number, disorganised ( surprisingly and very disappointed ), for such a large company...
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cannot trust some managers with your goldfish
Nightshift Worker (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire21 July 2018
Whether you do amazing or poorly in a nights work, you will never be appreciated or thanked for your work.
Would often get blamed for things you did not do and the credit for things you did do would get taken by other teams.
Pros
10% discount, high hourly pay.
Cons
Management, amount of hours available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday were at Asda was fun and loved everyday i worked there
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  ratherham20 July 2018
I have learnt a lot during my work at Asda such as communicating with people and helping people to find the item they are looking for.
Also i have been friendly with all of the customers and the staff once i have left the place the staff were upset because i have been very friendly with them and never had any argument with any of the staff, mangers or customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Home Shopper (Former Employee) –  Blackwood, Caerphilly20 July 2018
I enjoyed working in Asda. Everyone was friendly and was always happy to help if you needed any. Everyone was helpful if you wasn't sure what to do they was all happy to show you if they knew themselves or would point you in the right direction on who could show you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard paced
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Poole20 July 2018
Starting at 6 or 7 depending on the day. Filling up the ovens with prebaked frozen bread. When cooked wrapping and putting on shop floor along with all other fresh goods.
Pros
free breakfast after 6 a.m start
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wisbech20 July 2018
good place to work nice people your on your feet all day but the people there are nice sometimes customers can be ignorant but you will just have to ignore them when there like that and try to be as help full as possible
Pros
moony of when you shop at asda
Cons
on your feet al day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Store Colleague (Former Employee) –  Liverpool19 July 2018
Asda was a good place to work, however they brought in new contracts not long ago after the company was bought by Wall Mart which meant that your contracted hours were basically whatever the management wanted them to be, with zero notice in advance to this.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Awful shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, pretty good pay for part-time
Ambient Colleague (Current Employee) –  Workington19 July 2018
For a part-time job it has good pay
team working skills customer interaction skills are improved
management does a good job in instructing you
hardest part of the job is spending 8 hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate work place
George Colleague (Former Employee) –  Hunts cross19 July 2018
Working part of a team
Friendly staff
Dealing with Awkward customers
Helping customer to the best you can
Making sure you have done the job you need to do
Pros
Know that you have made a difference
Cons
Awkward customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,408 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2458
1378

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture