ASDA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great 3 years at their HO in Leeds
Merchandising Analyst (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire6 May 2018
Has a temporary 6 month Merchandiser, got extensions to nearly 3 years. Loved it and looked forward to going to work every day! Had 6 different but all great bosses who were all very positive and supportive to us 50 year Oldies! Hope to return someday😀
Pros
Flex hours and fun activities - Great Teams & Line Managers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Order Picker and Packer (Former Employee) –  Leeds6 May 2018
the workplace was great as the staff were very friendly and chatty which helped the day move faster and the job get done faster, the management were easy to talk to and get along with
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver/ pod service crew
driver/ pod service crew (Former Employee) –  Bideford6 May 2018
the job is good, but the management make it hard work. driving within the time limits means either you have to speed or take short cuts. very rare to get your allocated breaks and van break down all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Stafford6 May 2018
asda has loads of opportunities to advance your career within the retail world, they openly encourage initiative. however from experience ,working checkouts is best forgetting best customer experience
Pros
getting to know ppl
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nonstop work load
Gm shop floor (Current Employee) –  Asda tottenham6 May 2018
It's ok working for asda but the harder u work the more thay put on u . Some colleagues are lazy and are left alone .if u are a hard quick worker they will be on your case more.and no thank you .managers come and go which ant good.and all ways short staffed so more pressure. And wean u ask for a new uniform u will be waiting for ever really bad.
Pros
10 per discount
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swaffham5 May 2018
I really enjoyed my time at asda and worked hard to complete all tasks at hand everyone was very friendly and made me feel at ease from the get go and if ever I struggled there was always someone at hand to help me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly fun place to work
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn2 May 2018
I worked in the Asda Cafe for 7 years after leaving high school. Although the cafe has now been franchised out when i worked there Asda were my employers. It was literally like a second family. Even the most senior staff genuinely cared about their employees and it was a great place to work. I have many friends that still work there and really love their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that lost the plot
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Falkirk2 May 2018
Was a great company to work for when I first started but by the time I left it was really poorly managed by people with no insight into transport and they hadn’t a clue,the answer to everything was to discipline employees at every turn.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Over staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely and nice
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Liverpool1 May 2018
You're given guaranteed hours which is great since then you know exactly how much you're receiving when paid.
Paid monthly so have to be able to organize and spread your money over a few weeks.
Staff were lovely and nice but working on tills is sometimes boring and difficult during peak times, e.g. Christmas.
Pros
nice and easy and nice staff
Cons
bit boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience only
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire1 May 2018
Cant say much it was only work experience, did my own research in terms of wages, management, and job culture. I didnt work for too long so cannot comment much.
Pros
permanent job
Cons
Make you work way too hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire30 April 2018
Staff are warm and friendly, job satisfaction. salary is ok for the type of job youre doing and cant really complain othere wisae i suppose. spent 13 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mansfield30 April 2018
enjoyed being part of the team and company reallygood to work for flexible hours great support from management with discounts for many companys competitive rates of pay
Pros
good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but bad management
Ambient Nights Worker (Former Employee) –  South Lanarkshire30 April 2018
The work was good and you were kept going the full night. You were taught well and thorough. Management was bad as both night managers were just not nice people, often speaking to you disrespectfully and not giving you much time to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stepney Green Station30 April 2018
my typical day while i was working at canary wharf was serving customers, stacking shelves. what i learned while working here was to communicate with my customers and how to meet requirements.
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Desk & Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Conwy30 April 2018
Asda is an awesome place to work. The team is made up of family and friends that support and encourage each other. The bonus scheme is a great incentive to raise the level of customer service. Excellent opportunity for management progression.
Pros
friendly work environment, good bonus and discount scheme..
Cons
must work 1 day weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company
Attending Shift Handover to Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Perry Barr, West Midlands30 April 2018
Nice Company to work for, great people to work with. Always helpful, worked many different roles over many years at ASDA. Pleasure to work for such a successful business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for twilight staff work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rayleigh, Essex29 April 2018
i found working for asda quite good. The work was easy and once you were finished you could go home and enjoy your evening without having to think about work after you've left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough29 April 2018
good place to work, lots of training to be had
easy to progress in to management, if you want to

lots of different jobs to go for

management very friendly
Pros
job security
Cons
working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management think they are better than you
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester29 April 2018
I worked at asda Colchester for a while and the main store colleges are very nice but the management and some of the runners/section leader think they are better than you. Getting time off on holiday is difficult as you have to book most of your holiday nearly a year in advance and God help you if you are ill as you can be dead on your feet and they will still make you stay or come in. If your a very healthy person with no social life and love being bossed around this is for you if not I would highly recommend going somewhere else.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Management, pay is dreadful, not good for holiday or illness
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Glenrothes28 April 2018
I have loved working with asda for the last year and a half, along side working with them i been able gain management qualification which i could've done to a higher level if i stayed with the company. Management is good for the most part but communication could be improved. Colleagues are friendly and welcoming and customers are usually friendly too. Unfortunately with the new system the ambient hours tend to be either 10-5pm or 5-10pm and full time hours arent available unless you're a section leader or a manager. Rate of pay is great just a shame i couldn't get the hours i needed
Pros
colleagues, rate of pay
Cons
not enough hours, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,232 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2431
1353

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture