ASDA Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don't
Colleague (Current Employee) –  Wales16 August 2018
Minimum wage, over stretched everywhere, not enough people with the amount of work. The best part of the job are the other colleagues. They are what customers come back for but this is never recognised.
Pros
Colleague discount
Cons
Poor management, eroding of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job, just too far for me
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coventry14 August 2018
the time I have to work were fair and what I needed letting me do my freelance but as the work was far away from where I live I couldn't keep to a work time that suited my freelance and my work life.
Pros
good pay for part-time work
Cons
hard to get changed to a different store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive company
Supermarket Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bournemouth8 August 2018
great place to work enjoyable atmosphere, with good employers that provide a fun work environment
good rates of pay and plenty of opportunities to progress and earn more income
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a springboard job
Checkout Operator (Current Employee) –  Torquay, Devon6 August 2018
Working for ASDA has its ups and downs from rude customers to colleagues who become like a second family.

The pay is good with a great 10% discount benefit which doubles to 20% on special events like Christmas.

A yearly bonus is also a great perk and this depends on how well your store progresses during the year, and super bonuses are achievable.
Pros
10% Discount, Chances of super bonuses and friendly colleagues
Cons
communication issues with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shocking managemnet
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire6 August 2018
you do not get enough hours to support the family and housing costs.
a child could manage a shop better. Tesco is a much better firm to work for in this industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oadby, Leicestershire5 August 2018
Did work experience at Asda and i regretted it very much. None of the staff enjoyed their job and would complain about the manager 24/7. Hardly get any breaks.
Pros
20min break
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Worklife
Checkout Operator (Current Employee) –  Ayr5 August 2018
The benefit payout scheme is good, if you have the funds to put into it. There is overtime available, but usually the same people get the overtime hours before you have a chance. The company used to be family orientated, but with changes and management cut downs, the atmosphere went downhill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job- wages not great
ASDA delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Carlisle4 August 2018
I enjoyed working for ASDA and enjoyed the driving and dealing with members of the public. I would deliver to local and rural areas which was something I enjoyed.
The wage was minimal and I felt the rate of pay should have been slightly increased. There was always chance for overtime if I wanted this which was always good.
Very good to work.
Pros
being out and about
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Groceries delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Enfield3 August 2018
Good company to work while I studying. Managers are nice and flexible on Rota and dealing with problems . Lot of benefits from a big company . Because of a lot drivers working, you often can swap a shift with them .
Pros
lot of benefits, not big but fairly good
Cons
not I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Asda Colleague (Former Employee) –  Enniskillen27 July 2018
It was a fun workplace where I met a lot of good people both staff and customers, i enjoyed working in Asda and would consider a return if the money was right
Pros
Benefits, meeting new people
Cons
Long hours, working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about ASDA?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cannot trust some managers with your goldfish
Nightshift Worker (Current Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire21 July 2018
Whether you do amazing or poorly in a nights work, you will never be appreciated or thanked for your work.
Would often get blamed for things you did not do and the credit for things you did do would get taken by other teams.
Pros
10% discount, high hourly pay.
Cons
Management, amount of hours available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, pretty good pay for part-time
Ambient Colleague (Current Employee) –  Workington19 July 2018
For a part-time job it has good pay
team working skills customer interaction skills are improved
management does a good job in instructing you
hardest part of the job is spending 8 hours on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so fun workplace, rather fun colleagues and people
Night Colleague (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol17 July 2018
Need to be more caring towards black people.
Manager suffers from superiority complex and is un sarcastically racist. Work hours could be more fun if manager was less strict towards blacks.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours with little or no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queslett, UK16 July 2018
This was a Saturday job while I did my apprenticeship. People there nice, long hours were stressful and I didn't like being on my feet all day. Manager was sound.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service/Information Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carlisle16 July 2018
Good place to work with friendly atmosphere. Flexible hours and central to the town. Good salary and training included. Modern up to date environment with ergonomic furniture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great colleagues
Medicines Counter Assistant/Dispensing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyne and Wear10 July 2018
Colleagues a pleasure to work with. Management demanding but fair in most instances. Always overtime available. Must be fully flexible to apply now.al
Pros
good work/home balance
Cons
poor salary for post
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeshop
personal shopper (Former Employee) –  Bideford, Devon8 July 2018
Loved working here. Very supportive and good training. Fellow colleagues were amazing and management supportive. Lots of benefits working for Asda and very supportive of no bullying in workplace and respecting each other
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good colleagues, awful management.
Checkouts (Current Employee) –  Alloa7 July 2018
Managers and section leaders are mostly incompetent and/or lazy. They have sky high expectations but won’t support you to accomplish them. When targets aren’t met it’s never their fault, it’s yours.
Pros
Mostly friendly colleagues, decent benefits
Cons
Unsupportive management, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient
Rounded member of staff (Former Employee) –  Derby6 July 2018
Pays decently, usually pretty flexible with hours. always opportunities to move around departments if you are not happy on your own, and plenty of opportunity to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Front end colleague (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh6 July 2018
I enjoyed working in ASDA. The staff and management were friendly and helpful.

I enjoyed helping the customers and we had regular customers.

The pay and the hours were very good.

This store is in a great location and easy to get there.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,416 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2460
1379

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture