ASDA Employee Reviews for Shop Assistant

Found 352 reviews matching the search See all 5,558 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Shop Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Bideford, Devon7 November 2018
Would not recommend working here to my worst enemy.
Management is absolutely useless, expect you to stay behind to finish a job but wont stay themselves. They expect miracles from everyone. Colleagues are good, take away all the managers and it might be a good place to work. Until then avoid at all cost.
Pros
none
Cons
where to start
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Merseyside22 October 2018
I have worked with asda a long time wouldn't recommend working for this company management treat you like dirt don't work for them moral is very low in store senior management have no respect for the staff at all
Pros
Dicount card . Clocking out
Cons
Management team clocking in
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff great
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swinton, Greater Manchester21 September 2018
If your older than 30 I wouldn't bother had a couple of interviews with older people always the younger ones who don't want work gets the jobs.airs only people who been there a while are a bit older forget experience you have they don't look at that .after talking to some of the staff they said they started all younger ones and most of them led after a month.
Pros
Getting a interview
Cons
Ve young
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time
Shop Floor Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Longbenton20 September 2018
Cash handling at the tills, general face to face customer service, serving customers through the checkouts. Working various hours and various days, mostly weekends.
Pros
busy
Cons
Part Time only
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom10 September 2018
I enjoyed working in Asda as I like to be around people and help people.i like having a responsibility just like my responsibilities at Asda we’re controlkibg how much stock needs putting out this makes me feel like I am being useful and doing a good job .
Pros
Not on your own everyone’s a team
Cons
Same thing all day everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor to staff.
Shop floor assistant (Former Employee) –  Weymouth8 September 2018
Poor to staff.
Don't try to help at all.
People's manager far from people's person.
Quit within 4 months.
If only the customers knew how poorly the staff were treated.
Pros
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dudley, West Midlands31 August 2018
Stacked shelves. Management is poor. Hardest part of my job is time limits. The most enjoyable part of my job is working alongside other colleagues because they're all friendly people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester16 August 2018
Good part time job. Wouldn’t work there full time. There is good progression to management if that’s what you’re looking for in a job. Some mangers don’t get it when it’s busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About average
Shop Floor assistant (Former Employee) –  Wath upon Dearne14 August 2018
An average day was alright. Could have a laugh with others and customers. Some ups and downs, decent amount of overtime. Did enjoy having a laugh with others mainly.
Pros
10% off discount
Cons
Can be frustrating
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Derby5 August 2018
I have worked here nearly 13 years and it is like my family
Management are on approachable they are flexible with hours when needed making life a lot easier
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment and understaffed
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glenrothes, Fife26 July 2018
A typical day at work is going in each morning to fix the mess left by nightshift (either due to being understaffed, or incompetent is anyone's guess). While you do this managers are nagging at you and your section leaders to work faster, work harder, do more overtime. There's often no thanks for doing a good job, and there is a divide between the pay grades. The whole store is understaffed and stressed to the point where staff are going off sick because of how the place affects our mental health.
Pros
10% discount in store and discount on mcdonalds meals
Cons
Less hours for more days, poor life/work balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  Huntly, Aberdeenshire23 July 2018
Over time the only good thing about asda is your fellow colleagues to keep you generally sane and happy, other than that its mind-numbingly deteriorating day in day out if your not a delivery driver. Also the music has been the same since 2012 with a new top hit thrown in now and then.
Pros
10% discount card
Cons
Same thing, different day, in store music.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and consistent
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oadby, Leicestershire22 July 2018
In Asda I found it as a hard working environment where everyone was positive and made me confident about my work experience placement, this had also made me feel good about working with others because everyone was easy to speak and easy to get along with which has made me confident in a working environment.
Pros
Learning new things and meeting new people.
Cons
Consistent doing the same things all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was really hard working at asda
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northolt21 July 2018
i had to restore the shevles that were empty
i learned how to restore products and replace them
restoring the fruits idle was the hardest
workplace culture was really bad
most enjoyable are the restoring the drinks as it was easy
Pros
nothing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are lovely and friendly.if not doing much and zero consequences for poor working standards are your the thing then it’s a great place
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Broadstairs, Kent16 July 2018
If your a hard worker and dedicated to the job you are given then stay clear,no thank you or appreciation for a job well done or if you go beyond the call of duty.the lazy and incompetent seem to thrive whiles the good workers are forgotten or continually overlooked.
Pros
Excellent work/home balance
Cons
Soul destroying
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queslett, UK16 July 2018
This was a Saturday job while I did my apprenticeship. People there nice, long hours were stressful and I didn't like being on my feet all day. Manager was sound.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, colleagues expected to do too much
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Goole10 July 2018
Management is poor, very unprofessional and involved in gossip. Colleagues don’t have a good work/ life balance as there expected to do too much as they won’t take on sufficient amount of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place if you kept in with managers
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livingston, West Lothian22 June 2018
People manager was more interest helping pals who worked in store and who went on holiday with her store manager not intrested in staff other that management other dept managers thought they owened the place would not work there again and would not recommend to work there
Pros
None
Cons
Working hours to cover dept managers mistakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work for
Home Shopping Assistant (Current Employee) –  Colchester21 June 2018
back stabbing
gossiping
people don't do their jobs just stand their chatting and let the workers cop their load
management is awful
no support whatsoever
Pros
discount card
Cons
management doesnt do their job properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uncaring for seasonal workers
Shop Floor Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Midlands21 June 2018
One a full time worker, I was respected and allowed to work as needed. Once made seasonal they completely changed and work became a chore - no balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,565 reviews
51.5K
41.8K
31.4K
2477
1405

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture