ASDA Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Asda - Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lakeside Retail Park, Thurrock RM20 3LP20 May 2018
The things that I learned from working at Asda living is that all the hard work that the people have to go through to make sure everything to nice and tidy for the customer and some of there jobs isn't fun at all I also enjoyed working at Asda living as the customers are all nice and friendly and they are also smiling even when they hacertainly a bad day then see to know how to cheer you up.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management leads to very low team morale
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corby, Northamptonshire17 May 2018
A typical day at asda is full of colleagues and managers who do not care about the job at hand, easy and simple tasks are left undone with leads to the cause of larger and more time consuming jobs that could have been avoided. A management team is in place which is completely ignorant in there proceedings and only work when a regional manager or someone of purpose is visiting the store. Favoritism is clear throughout the work place which leads to a very poor and depressing environment
Pros
10% discount card
Cons
Long hours, poor wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience only
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire1 May 2018
Cant say much it was only work experience, did my own research in terms of wages, management, and job culture. I didnt work for too long so cannot comment much.
Pros
permanent job
Cons
Make you work way too hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Clydebank, West Dunbartonshire30 April 2018
Staff are warm and friendly, job satisfaction. salary is ok for the type of job youre doing and cant really complain othere wisae i suppose. spent 13 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stepney Green Station30 April 2018
my typical day while i was working at canary wharf was serving customers, stacking shelves. what i learned while working here was to communicate with my customers and how to meet requirements.
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management think they are better than you
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Colchester29 April 2018
I worked at asda Colchester for a while and the main store colleges are very nice but the management and some of the runners/section leader think they are better than you. Getting time off on holiday is difficult as you have to book most of your holiday nearly a year in advance and God help you if you are ill as you can be dead on your feet and they will still make you stay or come in. If your a very healthy person with no social life and love being bossed around this is for you if not I would highly recommend going somewhere else.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Management, pay is dreadful, not good for holiday or illness
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Glenrothes28 April 2018
I have loved working with asda for the last year and a half, along side working with them i been able gain management qualification which i could've done to a higher level if i stayed with the company. Management is good for the most part but communication could be improved. Colleagues are friendly and welcoming and customers are usually friendly too. Unfortunately with the new system the ambient hours tend to be either 10-5pm or 5-10pm and full time hours arent available unless you're a section leader or a manager. Rate of pay is great just a shame i couldn't get the hours i needed
Pros
colleagues, rate of pay
Cons
not enough hours, communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wales23 April 2018
Worked here for around 6 months, throughly enjoyed.. good set shifts and hours, overtime avaible if needed and wanted. Management not very Good, they are not easy to go and speak to and sometimes treat you like dirt. I ended up falling and damaging my back because of wrong training which I had to leave due to not being able to work, but overall pay is Good, work load is not to Hard, friendly people (I was in th3 great department) breaks are good as you get to choose when you go for one. Overall good job.
Pros
Good Pay and Breaks
Cons
Sometimes poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tyne and Wear22 April 2018
This job helped develop my customer service skills, and to work in a pressured, fast paced environment. Gained 100%
external & internal mystery shopper results at this post.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large well known company
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham21 April 2018
days can vary from busy to quiet, you can learn to do new things on a daily basis and your job can change if your trained in multiple areas. It is a friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about ASDA?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many managers
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Taunton20 April 2018
Too many managers, never enough shop floor colleagues and constant queues due to poor planning. People are never replaced when they leave and you are just a number to all management.
Pros
discount
Cons
no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant - Cavendish Street (Current Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne14 April 2018
1. Order picking, stock replenishment, database correction, and pricing.
2. Ensure the department clean and tidy.
3. Dealing with customer quires. Till processes and cash handling - (Challenge 25)
4. Markdowns process. Date code checks, dealing with waste disposal uplift.
Pros
Ok
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have give 0 stars if possible
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aintree, Merseyside10 April 2018
Terrible place to work no regard for members of staff, check-out assistant made to work like robots cannot move or talk, only allowed to talk to customers whilst having to constantly look happy. No career prospects and would not advise anyone to work here. I will never step foot in Aintree (North Korea) store again. DO NOT turn round whilst on your till, DO NOT take a step away from your till and whatever you do, DO NOT go to the toilet without ringing up and asking. Scary when I think back!
Pros
Cheap meals in Staff Cafe
Cons
Were do I start
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales assistant
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow9 April 2018
arranging stock ensuring filled onto shop floor, assisting customers to best of ability. checking for stock at other locations. Dealing with customers face to face and on telephone. Ensuring department is maintained to a suitable standard and ensuring the warehouse stock has been worked and all items have been fed away to their appropriate area.good team
Pros
good team
Cons
not goood management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Asda - Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishop Auckland, Durham20 March 2018
liked working for asda on the tills meeting people helping them with there shopping having a natter with the older generation some had some interesting stories
Pros
you could sit down at till
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment , Team work , Big on customer service
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ayr20 March 2018
Very busy Shift in Asda , Customer friendly focused , Big family team .
Learned many roles within the company looking to further my career .
Most hardest part of the job would probably be the late finishes and the most enjoyable part is the meeting of new people , customers and colleagues make your day go in better.
Pros
Meet new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, low pay, bad management
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes16 March 2018
working on a checkout interacting and scanning in shopping for customers. I worked on customer service (returns) and cigarette counter. The other staff that work there are they only reason to work there, long hours, low pay, bad management
Pros
Good People
Cons
Bad management, low pay, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wolstanton, Staffordshire14 March 2018
Enjoyable place to work staff are so friendly great skills to be learnt.such a busy work place always kept busy.enjoyed my time at Asda wolstanton.great company
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Busy long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new store
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Harrogate5 March 2018
Started here when the store opened varied shifts I could be working on the check out or on the shop floor. Salary at the time was the going rate. All the Management and staff got on well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Chalenging workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Farnborough3 March 2018
Nice workplace. Very lively, productive and great place to learn about sales and customer assistance. Great helpful team.
The hardest part of the job needs to be continuous on toes as customers need parcels from Click and Collect quickly when they are on run from office to home or otherwise.
Providing service for returns and providing and convincing customers on substitute items to the ordered is another challenging task to satisfy customers needs.Rush hour time management is a big challenging task. Keeping annoyed customer calm and making him happy at the end is very tough part of the job.
Talking to various people, knowing them personally after few visits, and receiving great smiles of satisfaction on their face is most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Flexible hours.
Cons
Continuous on toes, tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,247 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2437
1353

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture