ASDA Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical supermarket
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  england16 February 2018
money was awful for the amount of hours i worked. never had a social life because of the hours i had to work. the only good thing about working here was i could fit it in with my education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy envirnoment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birkenhead, Merseyside12 February 2018
Temporary position to help prepare the new Birkenhead store for opening. As a colleague on the Home & Leisure department, I was responsible for assisting customers with their purchases and managing stock control. During my time at ASDA I received full training in customer service, stock control and health and safety at work. This was a temporary position in the lead up to and during the Christmas period. I was congratulated for my hard work and excellent punctuality and attendance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Finance Management
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aintree, Merseyside9 February 2018
Cant even get any hours in January because they overspent over Christmas; it would be understandable but they brought in too much stock and half of it didn't even sell.
Pros
Ability to be flexible
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun pace to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire7 February 2018
Assisted customers in person;
- Put customers first, giving it my all and keeping a friendly face while being rushed off my
feet;
- Worked closely together as one big team;
- Offered advice to customers, cash handling, stock taking and merchandising goods on
the shop floor; and
- Covered for staff in other departments in order to ensure that the business ran
smoothly.
Pros
free gift cards
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassing a customer by staff anonymously
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longwell Green, Bristol4 February 2018
Obtaining a phone number from home delivery, a staff member took it on herself to give silent withheld number phone calls, because she hated the person.... can’t work with that sort of idiot, also she bullied loads of staff
Pros
Seeing idiots at their best
Cons
Bullying culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the people
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire30 January 2018
At Asda, the job can be very repetitive but the staff makes the job a lot more bearable. It's an amazing place for a student as you can become seasonal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workforce
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  South West30 January 2018
The job is well paid for what Asda requires of you, however it is the same repetitive jobs and it becomes boring and doesn't ask much of your brain to function the responsibilities they want you to take on. But the workforce of Asda gets you through the shifts and the majority of the managers are laid back providing you're always working and not stopping to chat to other colleagues.
Pros
People
Cons
Same, repetitive jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok I guess
Part Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shoeburyness, Essex29 January 2018
I worked on tills during the summers when I was still at school and college. It wasn't that bad I suppose. Sometimes the customers were ok to talk to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Thurmaston24 January 2018
I had worked for a short period of time as this was only casual work. However whilst I was there I learnt how to merchandise, work on the tills and stock take. the hardest part of the job was being on your feet all the time
Pros
learning experience
Cons
only temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful staff
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, Leith21 January 2018
It's everyman for themselves in that place. The managers don't care about your bad day! As for the canteen it's legit just a table and a chair. You'd expect more from a big company like Asda.
Pros
High wage
Cons
Management, out of date tills, rubbish canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire18 January 2018
Was a very busy store which I like, the hardest part was getting to know things and the enjoyable part was working with the public. They seem a very nice place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Wembley Park13 January 2018
I worked as a shelf stacker, checkout operator and also did some work in the warehouse. Very low pay, but the management were very helpful, polite and defeated a good atmosphere, but there wasn't many opportunities for progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shipley12 January 2018
This was a work experience which was set up by the school. I learnt a lot about the world of work and I learnt a lot of new skills. I worked in the warehouse and also the shop floor helping customers.
Pros
Learnt new skills.
Cons
Work was a bit demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a work place now
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire10 January 2018
I loved working for asda but the past few years i believe it's not the same place it was to work for. They don't seen bothered about there staff and family life anymore and are cutting back on alot of hours. They still expect the same amount of work from alot less staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Altrincham, Greater Manchester8 January 2018
the staff are friendly i work nights so a close group of people
my job replenishing shelves and keeping aisles clean and tidy
good support from night management
hard work is what is required it is a hard business
seeing how many staff are in per shift
the most enjoyable part is working with a great team on nights
Pros
staff benefits
Cons
sometimes not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking enviroment.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdare6 January 2018
i have worked in asda for nearly 10 years and have seen a lot of changes in that time. over all it has been a fun time and i have made a lot of friends , the job its self has got harder with each year but i shall still be sorry to leave.
Pros
10% discount card.
Cons
long working hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best suited for students or part time Mums
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chadderton3 January 2018
easy job that comes with minimum wage. meet nice people colleagues or customers, there are opportunities to move up but alot harder these days unless you are a graduate. you always have this sense that you are just a number are easily replaceable.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Sales assistant/Key colleague (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset, UK29 December 2017
Asda is a very busy store with a very busy clothing department. It was a very enjoyable working experience. I learnt a lot about customer service at this workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stowmarket, Suffolk1 December 2017
Ok company to work for, some managers are nice but some are horrid, found it ideal to work evenings due to having a small child but when u can’t do a shift or extra your made to feel guilty
Pros
Ideal for people with young children or a first time in a job
Cons
Want to much from you, pressured into extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk1 December 2017
By far the worst work placement I've ever had. The staff were rude, the management were unfriendly and unsupportive, I got disiplined for being signed off with clinical depression which was an ongoing issue. I was slowly made to feel worse until I left for my own sanity
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 5,007 reviews
51.3K
41.7K
31.2K
2409
1323

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture