ASDA Employee Reviews in Manchester

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Freezer replen Colleague (Former Employee) –  Eastlands beswick Manchester23 July 2018
Many changes during my time at Asda, my job was working mainly alone in the Freezers, so no Colleagues to relate to, although throughout the store I made many acquaintances. the work was interesting because you would sometimes be asked to help out in another department, Managers were fair and polite when asking for workplace assistance. You would be rewarded on occasion as recognition for work related duties.
Pros
Left to do my duties. Friendly Colleagues in the main.
Cons
When a night shift doesnt show, I would be left their work to try and get through, Bit of a problem when you have daily deliveries to get in to the Freezers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asda
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester21 June 2018
working at asda is great it is a fun and challenging work enviroment however as a cleaner we do not get the 10 percent of which i find bad we also do not get sick pay
Cons
no sick pay and no staff discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers
Service Host (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 April 2018
It can get extremely busy in the day, you have to be prepared to multitask with answering the phones, replacing product for customers, monitoring ques, doing call outs and more.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
homeshopper (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester22 March 2018
Love working at asda
Its a great place
Everyone works as a team player and everyone works to a High Standard
Bosses are always praising you in your work
Pros
great staff discounts
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lost its appeal
Asda Colleague (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 March 2018
Excellent pay and benefits for colleagues.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the people collagues and customers.
Job security at the minute is poor its a fast changing enviroment and due to cost cutting has lost a vast amount of experiance.
Pros
Benefits are excellent
Cons
Work life balance is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produce supervisor
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester26 February 2018
Asda was my first full time job. It was a good company to work for and gained me vital experience and skills that I was able to take on into future jobs. Unfortunately staff shortages became more and more common with one college being expected to do the work of 2 or 3. Most of the stores managers were friendly and helpful, a few were the complete opposite.
I am thankful to Asda for the knowledge and experience I gained there. It is a great first job to get your foot on the job ladder. I wouldn't want to work there forever though as the work becomes very tedious after a while
Pros
Friendly work enviroment
Cons
job cuts despite increasing workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester4 February 2018
It is a very hard place to work at but is easy to maintain.i enjoyed meeting new people but I hated stacking the shelves. Directing customers to what they need was the best because that would mean taking a break from cleaning and tidying the shelves.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company already gone to the knackers' Yard.
Section Leader (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester14 January 2018
Micro-manage everything you do.

Senior Managers manipulate & bully you to their line of thinking. Take no notice of this macho, pre-historic diatribe.

Lack of clarity in thought and mind. Workplace culture is my way or the highway.

Nothing enjoyable about the job. Management would be screwed without the colleagues going the extra mile.

That's why people are leaving them in waves. Aldi will crush them within 5 years guarenteed.
Pros
10% discount.
Cons
Long Hours, Anti-social Management style.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
asda workplacement
Retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester10 December 2017
the workplacement was alright had ago on different things like george clothing, bread, sweets and milk isles

we had to do a 8 week course on asda aswel to get a certificate
Pros
lunch breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paid easy job
Job role - Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 November 2017
Working at asda is easy but the job was doing the same thing everyday so it gets boring. The pay rate is good and you get a bonus at the end of the year. Also, you get a discount card for asda.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best people
Night Shift Worker (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester16 November 2017
good people, some of the management lack common sense.
good pay, great people, good hours just lack ofan abilthy to shift swap. but good place to work
Pros
people
Cons
lack of common sense
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 November 2017
The management is doing a fine job of keeping a company both focused and flexible. i enjoyed my time of work and i learnt allot. i made significant. contributions
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different every day
Service Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Manchester9 October 2017
good place to work really good colleagues and also fun to work there. Lots of interesting people. If just stuck on a checkout then can get a bit boring but I did lots of other jobs and put myself forward to learn things so as I didn't get bored. Sometimes regret leaving this company as quite enjoyed working there
Pros
good colleagues
Cons
some jobs repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly invironment
section leader (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 October 2017
working in a team within a friendly atmosphere is the best thing one can ask for in work as we spend most of our time in the days/nights there.i love what i do and very often satisfied with making another be it customer or colleague smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work for. Fast paced
Replenishment colleague/ Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester7 September 2017
Quite good to work. Good salary hard to progress up management tiers after supervisor. Good benefits. Good steady job for someone who isnt concentrating on moving up to manage ment roles
Pros
Good benefit package
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Checkout Operator (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester5 September 2017
Was a great place to work for when I first started. All changed over the last 3 years . Ive had contracts on 2 departments while I've been there but I've worked on other departments when needed. All the colleagues are lovely
Pros
Asda discounts
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promise the earth then stab you in the back.
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester10 August 2017
Supposed to be a company that is family friendly but that's rubbish. At the moment they are introducing a new contract that is OPTIONAL -wrong! You refuse to accept the contract so they reduce your hours in some cases by 40% and say you can make your hours up on uncontracted days!!! How is working 6/7 days to get the hrs u had over 5 days family friendly. The company wants to take take take but want you to be grateful for being treated like a modern day slave. Hideous place to work. Stay well clear.
Pros
Free tea and coffee in vending machine
Cons
Not family friendly, don't treat people with respect and too much nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management.
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 July 2017
They are a company in which if you are intruding on someone's bonus then you will not be given work no matter how hard or long you work for them. DO NOT APPLY.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Stock Replenishment Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester5 July 2017
Happy working for asda good company to work for I was a store assistant working over fifty hrs a week and gained my first aid certificate so i was a first sider. Great work place with lots of overtime I worked on the soft drinks depth and also the alcohol and cigarettes depth they was good to work for
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work life
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester30 June 2017
I enjoyed each day at work. i would come across a diverse group if people, each of them helping me learn new skills or adapt current skills. I also enjoyed the work team as we all had something different we could teach one another and help one another with a variety of tasks.
Pros
Good and flexible work environment
Cons
Varied shift that sometimes was not busy so wouldn't get to interact with many people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,416 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.3K
2460
1379

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture