ASDA Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 5,564 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work here if you want your soul crushed
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands13 September 2018
Have had 5 managers in 3 years over 2 stores and only one hasn’t been any good. Staff are like schoolkids, it’s full of cliques and if your face doesn’t fit then you’re on your own in all senses of the word
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Retail Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham23 August 2018
It was amazing getting experience in merchandising, stocking, unloading deliveries, stocking up selves, on the tills as well as self checkouts and socialising with the staff.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers have no clue
Porter/Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham7 August 2018
The managers have no clue whats going on and don't care about you. All they care about is getting promotions and will use anyone to there. Constantly under staffed and expect the same results and all they go on about is how the wage bill is too expensive. They simply don't have a clue whats going on.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staff
My job role was a sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 July 2018
The workplace has friendly staff who always make you feel welcomed and there is a good structure to the management of the workplace. However, it can get busy at times especially in the evenings
Pros
positive energy
Cons
unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 June 2018
got fairly good hours and a decent pay but the bosses at the company treated you badly. Also through my time there they started taking away some of the perks for colleges such as getting hot meals and double time on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large well known company
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham21 April 2018
days can vary from busy to quiet, you can learn to do new things on a daily basis and your job can change if your trained in multiple areas. It is a friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 March 2018
was a nice working environment, good people, flexible, fast paced, understanding, management was silly though salary and benefits were good, work was easy and not strenuous
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collegue
Asda Colleague (Former Employee) –  Birmingham20 March 2018
Three shifts a week that paid well and were easy to get into. It was a routine from the first month and not many things changed over the course of my employment. If you are looking to work alongside the rest of your life this is a good pick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away now
Home Shopping colleague (Former Employee) –  Birmingham25 February 2018
Wouldn't bother. As former driver at this store I can tell you it's a nightmare there. Hours been slashed to the point where some staff lost 50 hours a month senior managers couldn't care less. Morale is through the floor. They WILL mess your wages up one driver hand been paid correctly for 5 months.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Catering Assistant/Cook (Current Employee) –  Birmingham1 January 2018
Asda is a wonderful place to work and shop at. It is ambush store yet customer needs are always dealt with. Colleagues and management are a pleasure to work with.
Pros
A good team
Cons
Zero hours contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of backing
Section leader (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 November 2017
managers don't always back their section leaders which undermines their authority and makes managing the department harder than it has to be. don't always get to have your break
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham24 October 2017
used to work on the shop-floor and was given specific aisles to stock and keep tidy. was pretty much left to get on with it and as long as the aisles were reasonably stock the management were happy. was working there as part time basis during college.
Pros
fun
Cons
draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet unsupportive
Permanent/Part Time (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 October 2017
Although it is an amazing workplace environment, the managment are unsupportive and completely disregard respext and understanding, overall a good place to start an everlasting career
Pros
Colleagues and customers
Cons
Managment skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Seasonal Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands5 July 2017
Not an interesting place to work for anyone at university and looking to reach a bit higher. The wage is very good however and it pays for University fees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham3 July 2017
A happy place and a job I enjoyed. It worked around my family and the colleagues I worked with were very helpful and always available to help if I needed assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 July 2017
The work was laid out and all knew what their tasks for the day were. Learnt a great deal about teamwork and supporting others.

Management wasn't always supportive but took into account personal circumstances when arranging shifts. As there wasn't much scope for progression within the company I chose to move on.

the role was relatively easy and posed no problems except the repetitive movement which caused back pain. The interaction with customers brought a great deal of satisfaction to the role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Customer service assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 June 2017
I really enjoyed my time here and wouldn't of left but nights didn't suit me after i had a baby. I met some lovely staff and think asda are good to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced employment. Good work environment.
Porter (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 June 2017
The Really best place to start your working life. Ideally a view to management and step on roles is the best way to achieve your goals. At asda the world's your oyster.
Pros
10 % discount. Flexibility and part time roles. Overtime.
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chilled
Section Leader (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 June 2017
Department is always organised and colleagues are hard workers. I learned how to be flexible and to meet targets. I also learned how to work in a team to achieve my goals.
Pros
meet new people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my first choice
Chilled Colleague (Former Employee) –  Birmingham1 June 2017
I wouldn't choose to work here again, expected to work ridiculously fast with a lot of pressure. Friendly colleagues but reminds you a bit of being at school with the gossip.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 5,570 reviews
51.5K
41.8K
31.4K
2477
1405

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture