ASDA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful staff
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, Leith21 January 2018
It's everyman for themselves in that place. The managers don't care about your bad day! As for the canteen it's legit just a table and a chair. You'd expect more from a big company like Asda.
Pros
High wage
Cons
Management, out of date tills, rubbish canteen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of understanding of pregnancy.
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Basildon, Essex21 January 2018
I'd typically be putting stock out, tidying the aisles, and helping customers with any queries. I also had experience on the tills. I learned how to work behind a till with face-to-face customer interaction. From my time at ASDA I don't think their management was up to scratch as they appeared to have no consideration or understanding with regards to my pregnancy. They didn't care about the individual, just the numbers. The hardest part of the job was being on your feet all day. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with my colleagues and customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Chepstow, Monmouthshire21 January 2018
Friendly place to work everyone gets on and the targets are set and everyone helps to achieve daily targets policies are in place that are adehered to colleagues and managers get in well good communication between everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Travel Money Advisor (Former Employee) –  grimsby21 January 2018
a typical day at work was never completely the same two days in a row which is what made it really enjoyable for me. the management were really great to work with and always helpful, never angry or frustrated when we came to any one of them with a problem. during my training in the asda travel money bureau i was able to learn many different things such as how to operate the till and online ordering systems, western union money transfer program as well as how to use different programs to help expand my knowledge on the range of different currencies we offered customers. initially the hardest part was having to learn how to operate all the different systems and how to carry out the different procedures at the start and end of a shift but we were provided with a booklet with all the instructions to help us do this.

my favourite part of the job was being able to work with the different currencies from around the world every shift and getting to talk to the customers whilst successfully meeting their different needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London21 January 2018
Serving customers and operating the cash till

I learned cashing out till checking the money and writing report on daily incidents.

Staff are encouraged to collaborate in team work

Respecting and valuing each and everyone including the customer

To be able to support someone find the right items in store

Hearing in the news that the company has exceeded its target and being part of that team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Shop floor assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington20 January 2018
good experience in stock handling, tidying, time management. decent pay, management is ok but sometimes things get stressful because of understaffing and other reasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work on management team
Home and leisure section leader (Current Employee) –  Rayleigh20 January 2018
Fun workplace although management team level is very hard leaving no time for a social life. Very long hours. Good job security.

Good performance is rewarded and career progression is good.
Pros
Good pay, discount card, health plan, pension
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asda
Gatekeeper (Current Employee) –  Ashton-Under-Lyne19 January 2018
The daily duties of shop floor workers has become much more demanding over recent years and I would recommend the role of a shop floor assistant only to those who are not afraid of hard work and flexibility to work on various departments.
Pros
Discount of 10% on general shopping
Cons
Working various shifts including a weekend day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Chilled Colleague (Former Employee) –  Leicester19 January 2018
There wasn't much room for advancement and the management team were extremely incompetent. However, I enjoyed working with my colleagues and providing quick and positive customer service. My favourite part was dealing with customers.
Pros
Challenging, Customers, Salary
Cons
Management, Promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place if your flexible
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Darlaston, West Midlands18 January 2018
Asda always has recruited great people who strive for excellence in their job role. management tends to be people who are down the earth. this is down to the way they recruit talent from within to fill management roles. the hardest part of the job is most definitely the time period in which your expected to complete jobs. not a job I would recommend for people who are shy of hard work.
Pros
flexible working hours, asda benefits
Cons
hard work, have to work a day in the weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to do
Colleague (Former Employee) –  Portadown18 January 2018
Fast paced work with many thing to be done around the store, can learn many different valuable skills because of this variety which will be applicable in many other jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire18 January 2018
Was a very busy store which I like, the hardest part was getting to know things and the enjoyable part was working with the public. They seem a very nice place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff collegues are fun & cheerful
Cashier/Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire18 January 2018
Asda is a nice company to work for. Good rates of pay & there is room to grow within the company. Friendly staff & a busy environment.
Good holiday pay.
Great prospects.
Good holidays.
Pros
Uniform
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shelf Stacker (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol17 January 2018
Asda is flexible to work for there is opportunities for you to progress the team i work within are lovely friendly and happy they are like a family to me
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freindly and enjoyable workplace preferred good team player
Store Assistant cashier (Current Employee) –  Dudlry merru hill17 January 2018
A team effort place good enviroment to work in got to have good customer services . Health and saftey is a must. Cleanliness is a must. Good merchandise sklls is appropriate in retail. A place where every member of staff can nagotiate to works needs. A typical day at work is too give a hundred persent and enjot my job and to please the number on customers.No racist behaviour at any time we are all equal . Punctuality is important in every business. Keep up happy invironment a happyface is so important in every day life. If staff arnt happy customers wont be either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Homeshopper (Current Employee) –  Shoeburyness, Essex17 January 2018
its a brilliant job to work for but an relocating so need something new and can extended my learning and my experiance as i am open to always learning new thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but easy
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham17 January 2018
great easy job role and a lot of happy staff to get along with to help you through the day also a great company to work for the work is not that demanding
Pros
fun
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
wearhouse (Former Employee) –  Metrocentre, Tyne and Wear17 January 2018
Great company great staff great management help you if you need it understand if you have family problems and will help you in anyway they can great place to work
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job
Pizza Maker (Former Employee) –  Caerphilly17 January 2018
I adored every single second that I worked in ASDAs. Everyday was completely different and I loved it all. The work was hard, but the money was good, which is a great combination. Standing on my feet all day did hurt, but the skills I learned made it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Colleague (Former Employee) –  Lutterworth, Leicestershire17 January 2018
Good company to work for if you want to earn money for bills. Can be manually intensive and career progression limited. Diversity in management not being addressed.
Pros
Company benefits, Flexibility
Cons
Limited Career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ASDA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,866 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5