Arriva Employee Reviews

Found 190 reviews matching the search See all 232 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jesmond, Tyne and Wear5 March 2019
Worked for the jesmond depot. Poor management structure. Nobody seems to know what’s going on or how to manage staff. Depot manager is a bully, rings you and pesters you back off the sick before you’re ready. Long hours, poor pay! Rotas are unrealistic so you’re always late for breaks and forced to cut your breaks down as they won’t cover. Pushing drivers hours to the breaking point constantly. Won’t respond to complaints or grievances. Old staff get paid nearly x3 compared to new drivers so new drivers don’t get a rota or ‘line’, have to do the long days and unwanted shifts/routes and don’t move up unless your in the click.
Pros
Leaving this job
Cons
Working for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Engineering Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Gillingham5 March 2019
Very masculine work place, but i felt very at home with the staff. I learnt a lot of computer skills and had the opportunities to advance in my role. I enjoyed the free bus pass
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor life balance and treated like dirt
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ashington, Northumberland27 February 2019
A job that's gone down hill. Your the first to get it in the neck of public to management with no support at all even if its proven your not in the wrong the passenger is still rewarded day/weekly tickets. Your just there to be used as a escape goat when it goes wrong. Terrible shifts and they take full advantage of the domestic driving rules with basic minimum breaks 30min with 5hrs 30mins driving that's if your not late from ridiculous tight rotas and running times. This job had me ill and felt it was the cause of my diabetes from poor break times and missing breaks times.
Pros
Its a wage
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid avoid avoid
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire19 February 2019
I was employed for 5 years had a nasty accident which wasn’t my fault was off on long term sick i eventually handed my notice in due to getting no support from management and wanting me to attend meetings knowing full well I couldn’t drive (doctors orders) also life/work balance is terrible they expect you to be at their beck and call even on your rest days poor management poor buses and poor attitudes
Pros
Free passes for the family
Cons
Long hours no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Gillingham11 February 2019
Its a job you go in get paid then leave. Shift rota is hard which means there is no work home life balance. No sick pay, management do not care for the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Head office employee (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear10 February 2019
Fantastic people with a real desire to serve their communities. A small company feel but the opportunity to connect with colleagues across 14 countries. A great cultural experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire23 January 2019
Bus driving is easy, the hard part is dealing with the public and other road users.
Patience is a virtue.
Secure job with good prospects and good pay.
Pros
Good pay/Conditions. Secure position.
Cons
Unsocial hous. Get a lot of blame for everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good easy place
Engineering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire22 January 2019
Is a good place to work if you like a lot of banter, the work/ banter balance is good to keep moral up. Straight forward direction in what you are needed to do. Minimal paperwork.
Pros
Interactive fun
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tbc
Head of Business Change (Former Employee) –  London18 January 2019
Arriva is a public transport provider working across 14 countries owned the DB. They operate bus, train, tram, ferry passenger transport services across Europe.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Business Development (Current Employee) –  Arbroath, Angus14 January 2019
I live working at Arriva, the MD is so friendly, leads by example and a great source of informationan as he is a mone of information.
Staff are encouraged to work towards promotion and the next level of pay.

Its a stable company woth a great culture
Pros
Great working atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
electrical team leader (Former Employee) –  bristol barton hill10 January 2019
working withing the train industry is amazing though you shouldn't let the excitement get to head because it is truly a dangerous area to work in.health and safety is paramount.i enjoyed my time at the depot watching rust buckets come in and go out like brand new and being apart of that was really fulfilling. the people i worked with were great.cant fault it
Pros
long hours
Cons
little far a way to travel day by day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst bus company in london
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  London7 January 2019
I worked for arrival in south London. before you sign in ask few fellow driver. this company is based on bullying management. you will be treated like a slave and if you don't do so they will call you night and day for you to come and do over time. The pay is rubbish. the only good point there is the other drivers. don't let arriva full you, you will get more money anywhere else. don't take there bonus, this is only to keep you hostage one year. and the money advertise is base on overtime(a large amount). other company are recruiting all around London. avoid Arriva even is if it is convenient, you'll regret it. You'll see the turnover of staff is mad. never again. check them out on glass door :-). the worst of them all
Pros
your colleague
Cons
Bullying management, rubbish wages, change duty last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all those review must me fake
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 January 2019
I worked for arrival in south London. before you sign in ask few fellow driver. this company is based on bullying management. you will be treated like a slave and if you don't do so they will call you night and day for you to come and do over time. The pay is rubbish. the only good point there is the other drivers. don't let arriva full you, you will get more money anywhere else. don't take there bonus, this is only to keep you hostage one year. and the money advertise is base on overtime(a large amount). other company are recruiting all around London. avoid Arriva even is if it is convenient, you'll regret it. You'll see the turnover of staff is mad. never again.
Pros
good colleague.
Cons
Wage, Management, bully.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire5 January 2019
Easiest job I’ve ever had, met some cracking people and worked for some brilliant management in Telford, just a shame their members at “supervisor” (laughable) level weren’t trained properly, no people skills and thickest of thick!!! Sad to leave a great company
Pros
Weekly wage, hours to suit
Cons
Jobs worth’s
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham5 January 2019
Management treat you like utter rubbish zero respect they lie and tell the public lies to cover their back and make the drivers look bad long hours unpaid breaks if your short it comes out of your wage if you cash in more they keep it all in all a horrible place to work if they want you out they will find away without fail no matter of the circumstances even if you’ve got cancer nothing matters with them avoid like the plague!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Engineering Technician (Former Employee) –  Northfleet1 January 2019
Working for Arriva southern counties has helped me understand the bus industry more, the health and safety side for instance.
Very strict on health and safety. Working with colleagues in a friendly environment everyone is there to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but rewarding
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Remote31 December 2018
Typical day at work is very busy with lots to do. Have been pushed a lot and encouraged to progress, but this isn't always baked up with management support. A culture of sink or swim at times. The people you work with always have your back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work place with great people
M.O.T Assistant (Former Employee) –  Uttoxeter28 December 2018
Arriva is a wonderful place to work, structured, organised and fun.
There is always someone on hand if you are struggling but you are encouraged to be self sufficient and motivated.
Pros
Great worklife
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Engineering Administrator (Former Employee) –  Uttoxeter, Staffordshire28 December 2018
I have thoroughly enjoyed my worklife with Arriva, from the actual job to the people I have worked with.
Having worked with the same bus company for the last 22 years leaving was a very reluctant decision but the relocation required was not something I could manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire18 December 2018
Interesting company to work for.job security for me was a good selling point .Decent salary with plenty of overtime if you want it .With a final salary pension.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Long days ...unsocial hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arriva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 232 reviews
569
461
348
215
139

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture