Arriva Employee Reviews

Found 200 reviews matching the search See all 244 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture that rewards those in clique at the expense of those who aren't.
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire15 May 2019
Been a driver for 'Arriva the Shires' for over a year. Initially on a 3-month contract through an agency (after lengthy online assessments) with a verbal promise from management of a permanent job with the company after the initial period, on satisfactory performance. However, it took them 6 months to sort out the 'administration' necessary to employ me, despite an excellent driving record.

Ageing fleet, constant maintenance backlogs causing daily service disruptions, some routes suffering disproportionately resulting in very disgruntled passengers, not helping with driver's morale. No information relayed to drivers (Controllers are not bothered), no route supervisors advising passengers of delays etc. No real-time information systems at bus-stops, despite led displays - they only give timetabled info. Some drivers get favoured treatment, especially the ones with a longer service or are cliqued, even though they are on higher rates and enjoy other perks - better overtime shifts, paid breaks, better sickness terms etc.

I hear regularly from passengers that complaints to customer services have had no response.

Overall, the company is not living its marketing rhetoric, by a country mile :

"Our ambition is to become the Mobility partner of choice. We want our customers – passengers, Public Transport Authorities and partners – to choose Arriva every time because they trust us to deliver high quality, reliable, sustainable services at affordable prices."
Pros
Job security, as high turnover due to cons
Cons
Pay not reflecting driving record/experience, low morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
driver (Former Employee) –  Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire14 May 2019
If your not in the click you will be targeted, if you have a degree of education you wont be liked as the management operate offside and under hand , you will be a threat to them if you have a brain, avoid this company, shifts are a joke, finish at 20.00 hrs then back on duty at 05.30am, not healthy, might be legal but its immoral
Pros
none
Cons
long driving hours, unsociable shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arriva Oswestry
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Oswestry, Shropshire5 May 2019
The bus drivers are perverts, also long hours. The pay isn’t great. Lots of gossip. Few good guys, not a family feel, someone is always blocking the toilets
Pros
Free bus pass, great way to meet girls, your own company vehicle.
Cons
Won’t be able to use bus pass as you will always be working
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont
p c v bus driver (Former Employee) –  Southport12 April 2019
All I will say is avoid Southport arriva terrible to work for management don't care about staff or passengers buses are in shocking bad condition you have to race bus round due to fact they won't give you enough Alsorunning time to do job ask your self have you ever seen a happy driver for that company . Split shifts don't get paid for bit in middle along as five hours very rare you can get holiday with your kids your holidays are allocated to you and your just told swap it if you don't like most of busses over ten years old don't think I drove one without a fault in ten years there is lots of reasons not to join this company avoid avoid. Also if your married you won't see your wife and kids you have to check your dairy everyday as you won't know what your shifts are no life with them hope this helps it is honest review
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace ever
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Leicester4 April 2019
Love working here best job I've had since I've left school been working since I was 16 years old hated every job I has till I worked for arriva. Shifts can take getting used to but are not that bad long hours if you want them
Pros
Salary and awards
Cons
Long hours if you want
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arriva
Driver /customer service (Former Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire26 March 2019
work colleagues were friendly to work with, management was good
and understanding union was ok the enjoyable part of the job was fewer stops throughout the journey breaks is not paid workplace culture was ok.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cleanet (Current Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire20 March 2019
I enjoy working at arriva. Everybody gets on well with each other. But now I fancy a different challenge and would like to work closer to home in Bradford.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Jesmond, Tyne and Wear5 March 2019
Worked for the jesmond depot. Poor management structure. Nobody seems to know what’s going on or how to manage staff. Depot manager is a bully, rings you and pesters you back off the sick before you’re ready. Long hours, poor pay! Rotas are unrealistic so you’re always late for breaks and forced to cut your breaks down as they won’t cover. Pushing drivers hours to the breaking point constantly. Won’t respond to complaints or grievances. Old staff get paid nearly x3 compared to new drivers so new drivers don’t get a rota or ‘line’, have to do the long days and unwanted shifts/routes and don’t move up unless your in the click.
Pros
Leaving this job
Cons
Working for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Engineering Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Gillingham5 March 2019
Very masculine work place, but i felt very at home with the staff. I learnt a lot of computer skills and had the opportunities to advance in my role. I enjoyed the free bus pass
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor life balance and treated like dirt
Driver (Former Employee) –  Ashington, Northumberland27 February 2019
A job that's gone down hill. Your the first to get it in the neck of public to management with no support at all even if its proven your not in the wrong the passenger is still rewarded day/weekly tickets. Your just there to be used as a escape goat when it goes wrong. Terrible shifts and they take full advantage of the domestic driving rules with basic minimum breaks 30min with 5hrs 30mins driving that's if your not late from ridiculous tight rotas and running times. This job had me ill and felt it was the cause of my diabetes from poor break times and missing breaks times.
Pros
Its a wage
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avoid avoid avoid
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire19 February 2019
I was employed for 5 years had a nasty accident which wasn’t my fault was off on long term sick i eventually handed my notice in due to getting no support from management and wanting me to attend meetings knowing full well I couldn’t drive (doctors orders) also life/work balance is terrible they expect you to be at their beck and call even on your rest days poor management poor buses and poor attitudes
Pros
Free passes for the family
Cons
Long hours no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Gillingham11 February 2019
Its a job you go in get paid then leave. Shift rota is hard which means there is no work home life balance. No sick pay, management do not care for the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Head office employee (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear10 February 2019
Fantastic people with a real desire to serve their communities. A small company feel but the opportunity to connect with colleagues across 14 countries. A great cultural experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire23 January 2019
Bus driving is easy, the hard part is dealing with the public and other road users.
Patience is a virtue.
Secure job with good prospects and good pay.
Pros
Good pay/Conditions. Secure position.
Cons
Unsocial hous. Get a lot of blame for everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good easy place
Engineering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire22 January 2019
Is a good place to work if you like a lot of banter, the work/ banter balance is good to keep moral up. Straight forward direction in what you are needed to do. Minimal paperwork.
Pros
Interactive fun
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tbc
Head of Business Change (Former Employee) –  London18 January 2019
Arriva is a public transport provider working across 14 countries owned the DB. They operate bus, train, tram, ferry passenger transport services across Europe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Business Development (Current Employee) –  Arbroath, Angus14 January 2019
I live working at Arriva, the MD is so friendly, leads by example and a great source of informationan as he is a mone of information.
Staff are encouraged to work towards promotion and the next level of pay.

Its a stable company woth a great culture
Pros
Great working atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
electrical team leader (Former Employee) –  bristol barton hill10 January 2019
working withing the train industry is amazing though you shouldn't let the excitement get to head because it is truly a dangerous area to work in.health and safety is paramount.i enjoyed my time at the depot watching rust buckets come in and go out like brand new and being apart of that was really fulfilling. the people i worked with were great.cant fault it
Pros
long hours
Cons
little far a way to travel day by day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the worst bus company in london
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  London7 January 2019
I worked for arrival in south London. before you sign in ask few fellow driver. this company is based on bullying management. you will be treated like a slave and if you don't do so they will call you night and day for you to come and do over time. The pay is rubbish. the only good point there is the other drivers. don't let arriva full you, you will get more money anywhere else. don't take there bonus, this is only to keep you hostage one year. and the money advertise is base on overtime(a large amount). other company are recruiting all around London. avoid Arriva even is if it is convenient, you'll regret it. You'll see the turnover of staff is mad. never again. check them out on glass door :-). the worst of them all
Pros
your colleague
Cons
Bullying management, rubbish wages, change duty last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all those review must me fake
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 January 2019
I worked for arrival in south London. before you sign in ask few fellow driver. this company is based on bullying management. you will be treated like a slave and if you don't do so they will call you night and day for you to come and do over time. The pay is rubbish. the only good point there is the other drivers. don't let arriva full you, you will get more money anywhere else. don't take there bonus, this is only to keep you hostage one year. and the money advertise is base on overtime(a large amount). other company are recruiting all around London. avoid Arriva even is if it is convenient, you'll regret it. You'll see the turnover of staff is mad. never again.
Pros
good colleague.
Cons
Wage, Management, bully.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arriva. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 244 reviews
574
461
350
217
142

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture