Army Jobs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Supervisor/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pakistan20 July 2018
The job is great while you are working in the USA. The hours are flexible and management will listen to your input and priorities. However, work overseas can be very demanding including long hours.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Deployments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long, long hours
Soldier (Former Employee) –  Midlands18 July 2018
The hours are scandalous and pay is quite poor for what you do. However the comradeship is good and you can gain lots of life skills and confidence. It is not for everyone.
Pros
Sense of pride
Cons
Long hours and it can be hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
glad i done it wouldn't do it again.
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee) –  Chepstow29 May 2018
working in the army you make the best friends you could ever imagine, but also working in the army you are subject to be treated like dirt just so another rank can progress in their career, the regular soldier has no voice and is thrown under the bus to suit the rank he is suppose to work for. you lose all your rights as a basic human being and are told that you are the problem not the way the army is run.
Pros
friends
Cons
pay, treatment, accommodation, equipment, welfare, food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controlling and Micromanaging
Avionics Technician (Current Employee) –  Yeovil13 May 2018
The army is full of people who would rather see you struggle if it means their superiors are impressed by it. Career progression matters above all, complacency to the job creates a toxic environment. They wonder why people are leaving whilst slashing pay and cutting benefits.
Pros
Opportunity to travel
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviwe
Army (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire26 January 2018
Loved it from day to day we did different thing every day travelled different places met different people we kept active at all times and exercised all the time which was the most enjoyable time
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security
HM Armed Forces (Current Employee) –  Esinburgh24 January 2018
Great job security, travel all around the world, good benefits and pension. Subsidised food and accommodation. Free gym. Transferable skills to use in civvy street on retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaving due to lack of satisfaction
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire20 January 2018
For me the military is going down hill and fast! Its not what it use to be more of a buisness than an Army now. Everyone is out for themselfs happy to stamp on others. Too many "leaders" are selfish and dont know how.to lead or just cant be bothered to but happy to take the pay!
Pros
salary security
Cons
Abused
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work , professionalism
Royal Artillery (Current Employee) –  Tidworth13 January 2018
Developing knowledge of working in stressful situations and working successfully as a member and leader of a team.

Working and living with a disciplined stucture. This improved your self as a person and as a soilder.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Long hours, depression
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Army course (Former Employee) –  Liverpool21 November 2017
It was a fun experience, and changed my complete outlook on the army, meeting all sorts of new people and doing so many different fun things, like strength training and fitness training and night exercises and survival skills.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Army was the best thing to happen
HM Forces Staff Car Driver (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom & West Germany16 November 2017
The Army was the best thing to happen, it teaching self discipline, respect, giving confidence and skills which helps thought out your working life.
Days can be long, but you work hard and play hard, watching out for one another, making great friends for life.
Pros
you making great friends for life
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good career
Welsh Guards (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom15 November 2017
Good career, covering a lot of different tasks, and been taught a lot of skills. some that are useful in civilian life, and some not. There are no set hours or shifts, work can be 24/7.
Pros
Good times
Cons
Not much down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career development
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Surrey22 October 2017
Huge variety of interpersonal and professional skills including an array of experience within the UK and overseas.
Great job security, pay and housing.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Lack of feedom to take Annual Leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Royal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent11 September 2017
The army was a great experience for me... i went into the Royal Engineers... and although i didnt stay very long due to family circumstances the experience itself was amazing... It made me better as a person and helped me deal with situations under all kinds of pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to see the world and make a family
Bombardier (Former Employee) –  Hampshire15 July 2017
For all those who like to go to the gym and criticise people,
Great to make friends,
Can make a career here,
Each month is different,
Can make a lot of money on deployment.
Pros
Career
Cons
You won't see your family back home much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
British Army (Former Employee) –  Liverpool30 May 2017
Taking part in the army is rewarding because it makes you feel proud to of helped your country and have an in site to see how the soldiers train and how hard they work.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Long training days
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best life
HM Forces (Former Employee) –  Tidworth28 May 2017
Great to do at some point in your life I would advise it to anyone it will teach you respect loyalty and honour. The friendship are the best you'll ever make.
Pros
Teach you respect and worth
Cons
Leaving with not many options
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Placement
Army Camping Trip (Former Employee) –  Warcop24 March 2017
very good learnt a lot while camping with college and working with the army. Good to see what it would be like to become a soldier and how they have to live their lives.
Pros
Free Lunch learnt loads
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick overview
Driver (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City2 March 2017
The army is good if you are single. And wanting to have some fun in your life. It has taught me a lot about my self and what I am now capeable off. I have gained valuable life experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Army job
Armed Forces (Former Employee) –  Catterick Garrison, North Yorkshire1 March 2017
The job just isn't for me anymore I want to explore what I can do. I currently have a child on the way and I want to be with my family and have my life back
Pros
Good pension scheme
Cons
Long hours and not a good life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My work
Soldier (Current Employee) –  Aldershot, Hampshire26 January 2017
In the army it good for making new people and making friends or like having a big family that looks after each other the job we do are to protect and serve the country and other countries. The stuff we do is fitness everyday and do lessons on vehicle and weapons and go on exercise in the field to do some training
Pros
You need to pay for your food
Cons
Sometimes it long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Army Jobs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 32 reviews
513
49
37
23
10

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture

Army Jobs Reviews by Location