ARLA FOODS Employee Reviews

Found 106 reviews matching the search See all 183 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only there for the money
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Oswestry, Shropshire24 March 2019
Managers are rude
Managers do not listen
When there is an audit the factory goes into meltdown and runs only a few lines
No way of career progression
Good people leave (according to management that's a good thing)
Pros
Wages (when there paid right)
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from an agency
PICKER (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire21 March 2019
I was there working from an agency, i was doing work that was paid 14-15 pounds /h and i was receiving just 7.83, i consider this kind of working from an agency a modern slavery. overall im done with it now
Pros
2 h break, safe place to work
Cons
Loads of Managers, Working as an agency worker, everyone in there who work with a contract on arla thinks it`s you`re boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Production Machine Operative (Former Employee) –  Ashby-De-La-Zouch10 March 2019
I enjoyed my twenty years at Arla foods. I made many friends and developed a range of machinery management skills. The workplace culture was fun and everybody worked well as a team, as well as individually.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire7 March 2019
No opportunity/promotion.
Nepotism and politics.
Blaming own laziness on agency workers.
Seen some lovely people and some very nasty.
Otherwise very relaxed job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process driven ,no personal touch
Line Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeda24 February 2019
I worked here for over 12 years, at the beginning it was great.
As the years went on it just got harder .work life balance not good as you do 2 day and 2 nights so you don't really get adjusted.
If you have time off sick your bombarded with phone calls asking when your coming back.
I had time off with mental health issues , my site manager told me to take my time and be in good shape when I went back . I was sacked on return for absence .
The management are horrible and now they are all leaving for new jobs after being here years .
If your a brown miser you'll do well
Pros
Wages
Cons
Being virtually bullied if your off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operations tech westbury wiltshire
ops tech (Former Employee) –  Westbury, Wiltshire22 January 2019
Appauling place to work, only upside is the salary and even that isn't great considering the hours you work. In one week you end up working 72 hours Friday to Friday. Medievil continental shift pattern. 12 hour shifts on xmas day and that's just the start. Management completely clueless stating there is enough work for 25 years and now face the prospect of loosing jobs. Huge bullying/blame culture and the managers all appear to be buddies from their "clarks days".....they get away with swearing and intimidating staff regularly.

DO NOT WORK HERE!

people promised to be moved up the pay scaled with skills learned which NEVER HAPPENED!!

they employ animals. Someone actually soiled themselves on the factory floor and he still kept his job. (this is a place that makes food)

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! foreign workers steadily out numbering local staff.
Pros
wages
Cons
read above
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy production and warehousing workplace.
Warehouse Operative/FLT Driver (Former Employee) –  Oswestry, Shropshire16 January 2019
I worked 3 on 3 off shifts alternate days and nights for 10 years working across all areas of the warehousing department ranging from dry goods department which includes providing packaging for the production lines to finished goods and goods in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging job
Training & Development Manager (Current Employee) –  oswestry18 December 2018
great place to work, always changing. canteen is good, work life balance is good. great pension benefits.
Employees get a uniform.
Lots of days holidays but only closes on xmas day, boxing day and newsy years day. Open all bank holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open culture - success with fun
Category Director (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire8 December 2018
emails meetings catch ups workshops customer meetings
strong team = success
approachable and good communication
open honest and fun
managing the needs of the different stakeholders
being able to get on and do it
Pros
free milk, great office
Cons
not that dlexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production worker
Production Operative (Former Employee) –  Settle, North Yorkshire29 November 2018
Good firm to work for in the past. now cutting back, no meat left on the bone. All firms do this, then decide to re employ when it doesn't work. That's life.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
want their pound of flesh
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and fast pace enviroment.
Quality Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oswestry22 November 2018
Great place to work. Always growing within and on a larger scale. This company has brought me out of a quiet shell and into a strong person that I need to be to further a career I enjoy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miejsce pracy wymagające, dobra oragnizacja pracy
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  West Yorkshire14 November 2018
Dobre zarobki, atrakcyjne szkolenia, dobra organizacja pracy i nadzór, mało czasu na życie prywatne.
Pros
Tanie posiłki, dobra oraganizacja
Cons
Mało czasu na życie prywatne
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Packer (Former Employee) –  London29 October 2018
I was generally just packing double cream on the factory line.
Sometimes it was a little repetitive but that's a factory job anyway.
Very good people around and always helpful.
Pros
3 breaks (30 min. each)
Cons
Long hours(12)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't Complain
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Nairn18 October 2018
Turn up for work, do your thing and go home at the end of the day. That's it. No mess, no fuss no stress. Management leave you alone as long as the job is done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appalling
Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Burton-On-Trent, Staffordshire17 September 2018
Awful attitude of managers and depressing company to work for . Impossible to get a straight answer from anyone with any responsibility . Complete in ability to take on new ideas and a bullying culture.
Over all a dire place to work with a depressed and domineered work force
Lack of ability from managers who should’ve moved on years ago. Somenone high up in the company should take hold of the place and see the problems.
Pros
Non
Cons
No progression, poor wages, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work place
Despatch Operative (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire29 July 2018
Here is the best way of working team ho tell you how to do when to do and where to do to work really safe. A great menegerial experience and a lot of good trained men
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cell Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway26 July 2018
great job very relaxed,workforce were great
hardest thing was getting vans out on time but it was acheived
most nights this is were i was taught how to manage without to much hands on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process driven
Despatch Operative (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire13 June 2018
Not the worst workplace but the environment was very much process driven. The managers are willing to step in and help when needed but not a regular occurrence. Overall not the best but not the worst place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overpromise - underdeliver
Planner (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury29 May 2018
The shift pattern was the most bizarre I have ever heard of and the result was that every 2-3 days you had to change your body clock so we all were exhausted. Really stressful environment and the management wasn't providing adequate support.
Pros
New factory
Cons
work/life balance, unsupportive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours over night
Dispatch Operative (Former Employee) –  Aylesbury26 April 2018
The job had a very strange cycle where you would have to work during the day and overnight. They only had a day or two between days and night shifts so it became very hard to adjust to the changes. I also lost all connections to my social life as I had to sleep and work a lot of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ARLA FOODS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 183 reviews
564
455
326
216
122

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture