Argos Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Crawley14 August 2018
was a lovely place to work, relaxed shifts and the people were good, but the shift timings were bad and the pay was to low. also the state of the vans are really bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A bad place to work
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London13 August 2018
Over the years working with them there is not raise in salary which is very close to the National minimum.
That's not good a place to work for life as the chances to succeed are short.
Pros
Nice environment, good people, customers
Cons
Poor salary, few hours contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fab place to work
Fast Track Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Holyhead, Gwynedd8 August 2018
I have loved every minute working for Argos, I think this has a lot to do with the excellent Management team there based at Holyhead. Great atmosphere and happy staff, this makes such a difference. The management are approachable and understanding, also don't take any s**t. Plenty of benefits and rewards A happy place to work :)
Pros
rewarded (vouchers)
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for students
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Luton7 August 2018
Nice place to work if you're a student. Lovely team, only thing is the hours aren't great, most of the shifts are 3-5 hours long which isn't really worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Castleford25 July 2018
i worked here around from july till xmas the job was ok the people were nice but the position was only temporary for there busiest periods was always paid on time
Pros
good wage
Cons
12 hour shifts dragged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk23 July 2018
ove it was fab great time and great people would work there again any time. team was great and so was working with the company and good pay and sgood hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Stock assistant (Former Employee) –  Cupar, Fife22 July 2018
Easy workplace to be in, great people to work with, but needs better hours that are more stabled and a little more minimum wage to live on, other than that, I enjoyed my time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Basingstoke, Hampshire16 July 2018
Was alright had better jobs, very busy around the Xmas time but that was expected mangers alright but push you to get the targets all the time which gets boring
Pros
Pay
Cons
Targets
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun working place
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent11 July 2018
i had good experience when i was working as agency worker for Argos their was not really issue i get alone well with staff. the manager were friendly approachable. i had good time working their.
Pros
you bring your own lunch
Cons
the hours were not that long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Strood1 July 2018
Flexible shifts and good management. Salary could be better considering the intensity of the work done in the stock room. Do not have to clock out during breaks. Little recognition for good work. Difficult targets to meet on tills.
Pros
Flexible hours and shifts, good staff
Cons
Short hours, intense work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for team building and training
Customer service role (Former Employee) –  Christchurch14 June 2018
supportive and motivating team at both the Christchurch and Staines stores.
teamwork
excellent training
varying workdays
flexible work hours
supportive management
job satisfaction
extra hours available
adequate pay
good health and safety
detailed training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management Issues
Customer Services Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Swindon11 June 2018
I worked in argos for over a year and had 4 different managers who didn't know how to do their job properly. Jobs that were supposed to be completed by a manager were left to regular staff. Managers took more breaks than entitled to because they 'could'.
Pros
Meet friends, Gain experience
Cons
Long hours, Short breaks, Poor management, Poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store Assistant
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester24 May 2018
Only worked here temporarily whilst between jobs, good place to work, however salary was not competitive at all. Can't comment on anything else only there temporaily
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the management
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnley21 May 2018
There are typically three different managers per store and some are better than others. As an employee you have to work very hard managing different areas of the store, and although you are pushed to reach your targets re insurance sales, they offer no commission/rewards if you do reach your targets, the managers get the reward which isn't right.

However, the hours are flexible, which is good for a student however if you want solid hours then it isn't an ideal place to work as the amount of hours available for work is based on how much the store makes per week. In Christmas, you can work up to 40 hours per week however during Feb-April you probably wont be offered more than 10.

It is a very fast paced job, however if you have a good team then it is an enjoyable place to work.

They would do annual Christmas dinners and once, when the store did particularly well, the manager took the whole team out for a meal all paid for which was nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no social life
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Chatham, Kent20 May 2018
good job just that the money is not great at all there is no communication between managers ect. all delivery's have to be hit on a time. the hours you work are all over the place don't really get any time to ur self
Pros
lunch brakes
Cons
stupid hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad pay
Newspaper Delivery (Current Employee) –  Haywards Heath, West Sussex19 May 2018
i wish they gave use better pay because i heared for over delivery people that they get payed a lot of money in a month and i get payed £51.40 month only
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor pay
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  luton16 May 2018
the job itself is good and the management of the company help you do get he best of yourself.
the pay however is very poor for what is expected although you don't get paid extra you are expected to hit kpi targets and are managed on these.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Christmas temp (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London10 May 2018
It's a nice place to work and the colleagues are nice and easy to get along with its a become like a family , the management is alright but its improving for the better
Cons
Cant leave the shop to buy food on your break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team of people
Customer Advisor/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Widnes4 May 2018
Great team of people i worked with and loved my job however, hours were always a minimum if you were not one of the three full time colleagues, loved the crowd i worked with though :)
Pros
Team
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed working in Argos
Customer Advisor (Former Employee) –  Thamesmead, Greater London1 May 2018
I had a very good experience with Argos. The management and staff were amazing and a pleasure to work with. It was a great experience and I’m glad I could start off my work journey with Argos
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Argos. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,536 reviews
5791
4882
3576
2158
1129

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture