ANGUS COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Racist council
Waste Management Operative (Former Employee) –  Forfar, Angus21 November 2018
The staff at the depot are fantastic but management that run out of Angus council are racists .
Not a nice environment to work for when you have racist people in control of teams. You have no one to turn to to complain..
I nearly committed suicide because of their treatment of myself as a former waste management employer.
Pros
Great staff to work with
Cons
Angus council management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job - inadequate management.
Waste Operative (Current Employee) –  Monifieth15 November 2018
Great job but poor supervisors and managers who haven't a clue who is doing what and where.
Standing supervisors getting payed 3 grades above for very basic duties of driving around in council vehicle.
Management will always take side of public complaints and staff are blamed and told training will be provided which never happens. Very low morale due to cut backs and lack of information provide to staff.
Work hard and get the rubbish jobs and if you do nothing sure enough promotion will come your way or a easy job.
Pros
Good easy job. Hours good.
Cons
Poorly trained staff and managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brechin, Angus17 August 2018
Very unwelcoming and hostile environment. Lack of training and support. Confidentiality issues. Also constant payroll errors. Line manager unapproachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organised.
Social Care Officer (Former Employee) –  Monifieth, Angus10 July 2018
A typical day involved carrying out duties on a preset round. Assisting clients with personal care tasks. Reporting back to a line manager who was responsible for ensuring work was carried out to a high standard. Great job satisfaction knowing you had made a difference to someone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and Friendly Employees
Clerical Officer (Current Employee) –  Forfar3 July 2018
The staff within Angus Council are very welcoming and friendly.

The council have a very flexible approach as they offer Flexi Leave along with Annual Leave entitlement.
Pros
FLexi Leave and Annual Leave Available
Cons
Treated unfairly. Unable to expand knowledge and skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Exercise coach (formerly receptionist) (Current Employee) –  Angus31 May 2018
I love my work as it varies. I have gained much experience and confidence on reception as well as in my job as an exercise coach. I work in various sports centres which is great as I deal with many people. Enjoying my job and making people smile makes it worthwhile.
Pros
As a coach I can choose which classes I want to do.
Cons
No contract so no holiday/sickness pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but good enviroment to work
Senior Clerical Officer (Current Employee) –  Arbroath, Angus16 April 2018
Benefits from flexi working, good place to work. Management tend to supportive. Good working relationship with Housing benefit, welfare rights and other department within the council and other company.
Pros
Flexi working
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful care
Social Care Officer (Former Employee) –  Seaton grove26 October 2017
I worked at seaton grove care home. The care was dreadful, bad staff attitude due to being over worked and the service users not being appropriately placed. Service users escaped numerous times, management disrespectful and have their favourites everyone else isn't listened too or is dominated. Limited job satisfaction as constantly having to ask service users to wait or rush jobs such as personal care and meal time assistance. People being left soiled for long periods of time.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Awful shift hours, constant weekend work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employers
Social Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Forfar22 October 2017
Worked as a social care worker in clients own homes working as part of a team and working as pairs dealing with hoists etc trained to a very high standard and good competitive salary
Pros
early starts
Cons
good time off and overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anguds Council
Waste Operative (Current Employee) –  Forfar19 October 2017
All councils are struggling with cuts and so the services are reducing staff and what they do at present. Staff leave and are not replaced and therefore pressure mounts on remaining staff. There are good and poor managers of course but budget stresses are showing now to the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Forfar, Angus18 September 2017
My nights working in the school were always the same cleaning for 2 hours a night ..wiping down desks and washing floors with mops and heavy duty machinery. I enjoyed working here
Pros
Quick enjoyable work
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cook 3 (Current Employee) –  The gables1 September 2017
Informative, reasonable training, reasonable salary,
Reasonable working hours. Reasonable day to day requirements.
....................................
Pros
Pension scheme
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Clerical Officer/Skill Seeker (Former Employee) –  Monifieth30 April 2017
I worked here are a skill seeker when I left school. I found everyone in the office helpful and supportive, the job was fun and every day different from dealing with complaints to taking cash and council tax payments. one of the best jobs I have had
Pros
friendly staff; good hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
0 contract relief escort
relief Escort (Current Employee) –  Arbroath, Angus5 March 2017
I really enjoy my job working with the children with learning difficulties and disabilities I just wish Angus Council could offer a fixed hour contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
School and pupil support assistant (Current Employee) –  Angus13 December 2016
Salary is a joke for the job we do. More and more put onto us without any pay increase.
Not enough staff to do the job. Angus Council never listen.
Pros
School holiday's
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Gardener (Current Employee) –  Angus29 October 2016
A well run workplace.

Good opportunity for training.

Up to date machinery that's regularly replaced.

Shorter hours in winter than in the summer including a day off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy enviroment and fun
Office Admin (Former Employee) –  Angus27 October 2016
I was made to feel welcome, they were very organized and always had loads of work for me to carry out, they even put me in charge of the telephones. I would not change my experience for the world.
Pros
experiance
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job at Angus Council
Social Care Officer (Current Employee) –  Montrose and District17 September 2016
Each day is varied and you are always learning something new.
Under the latest work pattern I do not have regular interaction with my management. I get on well with my co-workers during the short time we have together at the start of the shift and where we have two people looking after a client.
The hardest part of the job is having enough quality time to spend with each client.
The most enjoyable part is the interaction I get from each client and knowing that I have done a good job in helping them with their individual situation.
Cons
Not enough time with clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Clerical Officer (Former Employee) –  Forfar17 February 2016
I gained a lot of experience and knowledge of policies and procedures and the administrative tasks involved in supporting colleagues in a business, which I believe is transferable to other job roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Angus Council
Print Technician (Current Employee) –  Forfar, SCT30 September 2015
Some very decent and fun employees suffering as a lot of Local Authority employees are from not knowing what the story behind restructuring is about.
Can be said that maybe too many Chiefs and not enough indians to do the work. Or that the Indians are getting too much of the Chiefs work without the reward or thanks
Pros
easy access
Cons
wages are lower than private sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ANGUS COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36 reviews
514
410
35
22
15

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

ANGUS COUNCIL Reviews by Location