ANCHOR TRUST Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care Home
Senior Carer and Trainer (Former Employee) –  Manchester16 October 2017
Hard work
To train staff and mentor new staff
Management at the unit not always in touch with staff needs
Work place was good
Supporting the people I cared for to have a full filled life
Pros
Food good we all have the same
Cons
long hours some times poor breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubbish place to work
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham8 October 2017
Worked for over a year did care work and did cleaning.most of the careers sit on bums most of the time .managment are rubbish.carers don't care about washing or feeding the old people.
Pros
None
Cons
All above
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting company
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire1 October 2017
Management are useless and only care about how many rooms are empty, constantly told ‘budget’ when asking for necessities. Housekeepers often have their orders reduced due to costs which then leads to customers purchasing their own toilet roll’s, washing powder, cleaning materials etc. Care staff allowed to do as they please by management. Administrator claims to be professional but is far from it and spends most her day on her phone while moaning about others on their phones. Customers left soiled and moving and handling procedures go out the window. Acting team leaders cause medication errors but are not dealt with and seen as the best thing since sliced bread. Chef manager never attends and is allowed to do as he pleases. Care staff expected to cover all departments yet no other department covers theirs. If your face fits your okay, too much back biting and manager allows this sweeping every issue under the carpet as she has serious issues in her own life so likes to listen to others drama’s all while customers are being neglected and told they cannot have a cup of tea when they request because staff are busy hiding in rooms, in the staff room or outside smoking for 20 minutes at a time. About time CQC shut the place down!
Pros
None
Cons
All above
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work.
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bidston27 September 2017
Excellent manager and a great place to work. Colleagues are all fantastic and all make you smile and laugh.
Fantastic care home, best one I've ever been to, so well maintained and looked after.
Pros
Great work colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear12 September 2017
Worked here for a couple of months, training was very basic so didn't really learn much, management was disgusting and the other staff were rude and unhelpful and kept making errors and putting the blame on everyone else
Care staff were doing cleaners job as well as caring for residents

Horrible place to work
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very nice company to work for at all
Night Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Hatfield house31 August 2017
I did not like working for this company over worked and never appreciated
I did meet some lovely people at the home but as a company i would not recommend to work for them
Pros
I met some nice staff
Cons
Over worked staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting management
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire29 August 2017
Organisation is full of bullies, all stick together and make staff members lives misserable! Would not work for this company if in Middlesbrough area UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed it alot
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Leeds25 August 2017
I loved volunteering at Anchor because the staff and the residents were such lovely people, I was always excited to go back and spend time there. I learnt how to deal with elderly with dementia and how something as simple as painting their nails meant they felt better about themselves and so did I. The staff were wonderful, bright happy people who clearly loved their job. The care home was tidy and well taken care of. The hardest part of the job was realising people would forget I was there, however it meant I could keep making new memories with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bishopstoke orchard gardens
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Orchard gardens21 August 2017
New management in but supportive and sorting things atmosphere more positive and turning into great place to work.long hours yes but so worth it. Please don't listen to negative comments apply and make your own mind up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strangled atmosphere. No appreciation.
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishopstoke, Hampshire5 August 2017
Worst company ever worked for. Understaffed-teamleaders do as little as possible. No support when you need it . Carers showing disrespect towards other carers . Horrible atmosphere.
No proper shadowing. Training or induction. More agency staff than Anchor staff-of which quite often never showed up.
Carehome iis a very nice building in a lovely location in a retirement village.
Just very poorly managed. Low morale.
Pros
Many nice customers and family members
Cons
Long hours. No breaks. Expectations unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very supportive
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  South East4 August 2017
I am a current employee at an Anchor care home and we are lucky with our home manager she is very supportive to both our residents needs and ours as staff. She is aware the job can be hard and gives us rewards for our hard work.
Pros
Supportive manager and lots of training
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shockingly bad company to work for
Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Southport, Merseyside3 August 2017
Was treated very poorly by Anchor. When I tried to get help I was informed (by HR at Head Office) that HR was there to support the managers and not the staff so they couldn't help me. Management is appalling and Head Office has no regard for 'lower grade' staff whatsoever. In my case ACAS best practice guidelines were not followed. Complaints dismissed rather than investigated as it was easier. Would certainly avoid. Have only rated 1 star as it wouldnt let me rate zero.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff need more consideration
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Grassington8 July 2017
The staff need more consideration and management needs to speak to staff better and not gonbehind staffs back if there is a problem with their work.atmosphere needs to be better
Pros
Nobe
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company i have ever worked for
Chef (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London4 July 2017
You are not made to feel worth while what so ever. Min wage paid and still having to work as hard as anyone else in there. no pay rise yet the big ceo's etc get massive bonuses etc. yet they say they're not for profit. modern day slavery and if u say u dont like well your answer is then u can leave. which shows they dont care.
Pros
people you work with.
Cons
pay, heat, management/company bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste off time to work for
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  North West23 June 2017
Management rubbish. got no say in anything running it down. No pay increases because of leaving EU not a nice company to work for. Stay away from the company
Pros
Non
Cons
No morals
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advantages to move forward
Activity Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Tealbeck House Otley2 June 2017
spending time with the customers and interacting with them , cognitive games , exercises, and craft and baking. Having a history lesson everytime you walk through the door, as these peoples lives are so interesting. Its like a home from home enviroment, and very place to work.
Pros
flexible
Cons
shift pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stirling, Stirlingshire1 June 2017
It is a good company I injoyed working for them. The job was good. The staff was all good and I injoyed working with them. I looking for another job that is near to improve my carer
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shocking place to work
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear8 May 2017
Worst home I have ever worked in over a 19 year career. Management was not understanding when I needed time off as my dad was on life support. Basically told to terminate my contract to go on bank, basically wanted rid of me. Very bad management indeed. To many clicks and manager has her favorites. Would never go into another Anchor home ever, or any care home for that matter, enough is enough.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long nights, to many hourly checks, No breaks, no smoking, to many threats to staff, the list goes on!
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place I have worked at.
care assistant (Current Employee) –  oakwood grange2 May 2017
Current care worker at oakwood grange deputy whos outstanding ran oakwood grange for alot of months new manager came in and changed things my deputy got the moral up clean home everything in place and does management think that we stupid new management are rubbish and they will lose all good staff just feel sorry for residents
Pros
Nothing
Cons
to much hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice residential
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Birmingham29 April 2017
I currently work here and I enjoy the happy work envirment as well and the opportunity to learn and develop skills within a residential setting. I enjoy the overall experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ANCHOR TRUST. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0