ANCHOR TRUST Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont bother !!
Skivy (Former Employee) –  Oldham30 July 2018
No support for staff from management & can single you out if your not in the click or when the cats away pick on the prey !!! More like hotel not a care
HOME and on nights teamleaders are pot washers (kitchen asaistant) laundry assistants cleaners and carers aswell as their own role (aswell as all other duty ontop passed over for u to do !!
Pros
Non
Cons
All above
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
7 August 2018

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with Anchor. We are dedicated on ensuring that employees are given the best support throughout their employment. If you would like to tell me more about your experience then please do not hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: Adam.Peck@Anchor.org.uk.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
Chef (Former Employee) –  Surrey28 July 2018
All of the management stick together. Management are corrupt.
Management have no care for the residents.
They will turn a blind eye if your part of there “gang”.
No compassion
No morals
So if your heartless and good at bullying and unprofessional,
Anchor will welcome you with open arms .
If you are hard working,honest & caring , Anchor will ruin you.
STAY AWAY !!!
Pros
Some lovely work colleagues
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patronising workplace useless organisation
Handyman (Former Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex16 July 2018
was told I was to start last monday and bring new DBS so I drove to workplace manager then sneered at my DBS and all knowledge of what I had shared in interview was overlooked even when I'd shown them my recent DBS had to wait another week to start which made the wait 10 weeks in total and when I started this Monday I was patronised by staff member and when I asked to get some lunch at the shop she said I had too bring my own lunch as we can't leave the premises and then backtracked on start times and lied about what had been agreed in interview and hiring process I lasted 2 hours and walked out if I wanted a job in a prison i would of applied I have 30 years of electrical and maintenance skills behind me this company is a joke this is the reason I've gone back to self employment I'll never work for companies like this again
Pros
Don't bother
Cons
The moment you start
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Relief Scheme Manager/House Keeper (Current Employee) –  Peterborough10 July 2018
My job at anchor is amazing I love coming to work , residents are friendly and my manager is fab 💕 I would highly recommend getting a job here . Good working hours and fantastic facilities
Pros
Good work hours, friendly
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 17Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
12 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Thank you for all your hard work, keep it up!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Chef Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds9 July 2018
You are not chef manager. You have no right to run the kitchen. I had to leave as I was unable to do my job. Management are very selfish, they expecting you to cover all the shifts, half time you are on your own working in the kitchen because they taking staff from the kitchen to help the cares. Note appropriate company. They want more from you each day, no please or thank you. Any problems they don't want to know. Cqc report is bad, residents complaining about the management Inc relatives.
Pros
Poor management
Cons
Unreliable management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
12 July 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We’re committed to providing the best services for our customers and a positive working environment and support for our colleagues. If you’d like to tell me more about your experience, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: adam.peck@anchor.org.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the home is nice and the staff
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 July 2018
i have learnt a lot of things since i become working in care.

i really enjoy my job love caring for the residents.
you get so much training.

the most enjoyable part is if i have time to do activities with them
Pros
after pay for lunches
Cons
12 hours 3 in 3 off
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
6 July 2018

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoy your job and the residents so much and that you've been able to learn. Could you please give us a little more information as to why you have rated us only one star and not higher? Thank you

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work!!!
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Buckinghamshire28 June 2018
I worked at anchor - Buckingham lodge for a year and a half, it was awful. Everyday we were short staffed, often having 1 member of staff to 14 residents, disgusting! Management were not interested in helping, they came in did their 9-5 and left. The management were more interested in staff uniforms than the residents themselves.

The food that was served to these residents was awful considering the amount they pay to live there weekly! I would NEVER work for anchor again, EVER even if you paid me above the minimum wage that you barely get there!!!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, poor salary, awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
3 July 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We’re committed to providing the best services for our customers and a positive working environment and support for our colleagues. If you’d like to tell me more about your experience, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: adam.peck@anchor.org.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Home manager (Current Employee) –  Blackbrook House28 June 2018
I really enjoy my job as a home manager, I have great team in my home and lots of support from my district manager. I would really recommend Anchor as great place to work.
Pros
Good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 15Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
3 July 2018

Thank you for your continued hard work and dedication to your residents and Anchor. Keep up the good work!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Essex28 June 2018
I have worked in the same home for 9 years and got taken over by anchor trust and I can honestly say it's the best company I have ever worked for. There is so much support and I couldn't be happier.
Pros
Support from management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 15Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
3 July 2018

Thank you for your lovely, positive review as well as all our your years of commitment to your home. Thanks again

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke!
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Selby, North Yorkshire26 June 2018
I worked for this company and the managment and seniors are shocking. The manger is the worst manager ive ever encounted as if the deputy. Absolute joke! Tried to basically blame the staff because the residents was dying and leaving empty bedrooms that they couldnt fill. All about money, no compassion. Too much of a workload.

Management made a rule of care assistants and senior care assistants not being able to socialise outside of work? Strange
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, unapreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
3 July 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We’re committed to providing the best services for our customers and a positive working environment and support for our colleagues. If you’d like to tell me more about your experience, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: adam.peck@anchor.org.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time at larchfeild
Night Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  hunslet lds1017 June 2018
I'm a caring compassionate good work I'm a good team player and also I can use my own initiative when in a rut I enjoyed the job very much it was challenging on a daily basis the hardest part and upsetting part was one off the customers went in to cardiac arrest on one off our checks early hours of the morning so me and colleague had to do C.P.R and the worst part was he didn't pull through the best part paramedic couldn't praise me and colleague and told us that we did brilliantly for him and that was really hard and whilst my time in the care home I've done my N.V.Q.2 my boots 1.2.3. I done all my manadadtory training
Pros
it was very hard working with mental health but rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback. We're sorry to hear of the los of one of your residents but we can not praise and thank you enough for the work you did for him. Thanks again

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Location Manager (Former Employee) –  Broome court12 June 2018
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organisation to work for, great opportunities to progress
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  London11 June 2018
Fab company to work for.
Great values, strong business plan in place
Good career opportunities
Also willing to teach those that are willing to learn.
Pros
Career opportunities, training and inductions, myFuture programme to help develop colleagues
Cons
None that I’m able to think of at present
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 15Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant is just a joke !
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Bishopstoke, Hampshire1 June 2018
I am leaving because new management is a joke, never on duty & unbelievably asks their friend who has no experience in catering to interfere & undermine the restaurant staff. Never seen this practice anywhere before & dont want to stick around to see the consequences. Would not recommend anyone to take a job in the bistro unless they sack the manager
Pros
help yourself to what you want as manager never there
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 8Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
3 July 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We’re committed to providing the best services for our customers and a positive working environment and support for our colleagues. If you’d like to tell me more about your experience, please don’t hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: adam.peck@anchor.org.uk

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Essex29 May 2018
I have been working for Anchor for nearly 3 years now and I can see big improvements. Rates of pay have gone up significantly and and support is always there when needed.
Pros
Good rates of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 17Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you so much for your continued dedication to your residents and the company. It's employees like you that really make the difference! Thanks again and keep up the brilliant work

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun filled and inspirational
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands16 May 2018
I love working for anchor, it comes with a sense of pride to say that I work for a company that supports the customers to live the best they can. It is a demanding job, but well worth every second of it I wouldnt leave Godiva.
Pros
Supporting customers
Cons
Lots of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 22Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you for our five-star review, this is heartwarming to hear that you are able to live your days with pride in the work you do. Thank you for your continued hard work and for all you do for your residents and colleagues. Keep it up!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care Assistant - Great home, poor management
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newquay16 May 2018
The home is lovely, the residents great but the lack of support from senior staff was awful. Care staff under appreciated and the managers only cared about filling rooms and taking holiday.

Home manager was selfish and never left her office to spend time with residents or other staff. Care manager only cared about covering shifts even when staff were on annual leave. Majority of shifts were short staffed and there was no help from senior staff.
Cons
Being pestered on days off, expected to do the work of three staff members on certain shifts, poor management and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 6Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
7 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review and thank you for your time with us. We're sorry to hear that you have decided to move on and were made to feel unsupported in your role. If you would like to tell us more about your experience then please do not hesitate to get in contact with me directly at: Adam.Peck@Anchor.org.uk.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best move i ever made
Worker (Current Employee) –  West hall12 May 2018
I joined Anchor Trust at West Hall last July and without doubt its the best move I ever made. My colleagues are great to work with and I love being around the residents as there is never a dull moment. My future is Anchors assurance that you progress at your own speed and you do the job that is suitable for you but the progression is there if you want it. Anchor shopping benefits are great I've saved so much money, most recently on a new oven after our old one gave up. Can't recommend Anchor enoigh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 20Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you for such kind words regarding not only us, but also your team. We're happy to hear you're enjoying our shopping benefits so much too!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Morecambe1 May 2018
this is a good fair company to work for however there are some things that the higher management could learn some things.

the hours and good and the pay is adequate
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 14Report
Official response from ANCHOR TRUST
7 August 2018

Thank you for your review and for your continued hard work with us. If you have anymore information regarding how we could improve your experience with us, then please feel free to let me know at Adam.Peck@Anchor.org.uk. Thank you

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire27 April 2018
Work at Prior Bank Sheffield lovely home and residents. Supportive managers who have turned the home round. Happy place to work. Nice district manager. Good activities in the home.
Pros
Lovely home
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 14Report

Comment – 29 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you're enjoying your time with us so much and have such a supportive management team. Thank you for all your hard work, keep it up!

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ANCHOR TRUST. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 163 reviews
541
427
322
216
157

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture