American Express Employee Reviews for Travel Consultant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training and support
Travel and Lifestyle Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brighton9 July 2018
American Express provides a lot of intense training and is always progressing, they do expect a lot and operate an unreasonable Refer To Friend scheme to which your bonus is connected
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Travel and Lifestyle Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex24 April 2018
Management is awful. If your face doesn't fit forget it.
Un-Achievable targets.
No flexibility
No work life balance
Rude Customers
Only pro is great training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brighton30 October 2017
LEAVING there waS the biggest regret but unfortunately due to childcare issues i could not continue I was hoping i would get some extra help but unfortunately it couldnt be accommodated
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amex Review
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 September 2017
Travel consultant dealing with the corporate teams travel plans across the globe through booking of travel arrangements. 9-5 job based at Morgan Stanley.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wondeful learning experience - meeting so many different people from various cultures
Senior Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Town4 August 2017
Discussing travel plans with clients
Learning to be patient and listening to their needs
Interesting workplace with different people
Listening to the feedback both positive and negative
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there shame the branch closed
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Scotland22 February 2017
Was a great place to work I was only there for one year but would have stayed has the branch not closed.
They provided an extensive training program I felt confident doing my job by the end of training.
Pros
Offers winning trips from suppliers
Cons
stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business & Leisure Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham30 March 2016
My time at Amex can only be summarised as fantastic. No two days were the same. Faced many challenging itineraries and also straight forward holidays too. I enjoyed dealing with customers face to face and over the telephone. Managed business travel bookings and leisure travel.

I was always learning and I enjoyed the development opportunities.
Pros
Lots of travel related events
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Travel
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Swindon2 November 2015
Fast pace, travel consultancy job, quick turn around of business travel clients, loved working here but travel isn't the way forward for me now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for and very rewarding productive job
Executive Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Milton Keynes, ENG3 February 2015
Call centred office where first class service comes as a must. Phones answered within set time limits, clients dealt with in a the most appropriate courteous manner, their needs identified in a timely fashion and actioned immediately. Time management is key to the job and tasks have to be arranged and prioritised accordingly. My co-workers and I are fully committed to the companies KPI's and work as a co-operative and happy team. We work hard and have a great comradeship at team meetings and outside of office hours.

We work under pressure but the job is very rewarding with such appreciative clients who sometimes have very complex needs. Nothing is too much trouble and I am always prepared to go the extra mile. Being polite at all times costs you nothing and it makes the job more enjoyable having a 'can do' attitude. It makes every one in the team feel motivated and zealous. I am also very caring when somebody is not at their best.

I can do appraisals, presentations and staff training.
Pros
Concessions on holidays, flights, car hire, trains, insurance and currency exchange
Cons
Pressurised Call Centre
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent employer, very good at rewarding hard work
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  London9 October 2014
A typical day would involve multitasking, dealing with emails and telephone calls at the same time.
The hardest part was finding hotel rooms and flight seats during
very busy times, but also the most enjoyable when you secured that last seat on the plane or last room in a sold out city and the client was thrilled.
Pros
reward scheme, pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organisation to work for, but the shifts are not good in the travel department
Full time Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brighton, ENG31 January 2014
*Dealing with the inbound calls, very demanding high spender customers
*Challenging and exciting requests in the same time
*I learned about how to use GDS and book suitable flights, accommodation or car hire options...singular or as a part of a package for our valued card members
*Good time management and prioritizing the work
*Great team work
*Hardest part of the job are the shifts...every week different shift varying from a 7 am start and finishing to 10.30 pm...and working almost every weekend.... 3 weekends off in 4 months is affecting my work/life balance
*The most enjoyable part of the job are the unknown part of the calls and callers..every enquire is different and the time flies by..
Pros
Extensive training and career development
Cons
Every week different shifts and working almost every weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a excellent employer for the City of Brighton and Hove
Lifestyle/Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brighton and Hove29 January 2014
Main responsibilities are to ensure incoming service levels are manage and customers are serviced to the highest levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business travel consultant
Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, ENG29 November 2013
Good company to work for. Not a great salary.
Good benefits for staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good Company
BusinessTravel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Derby11 February 2013
Servicing a blue chip company

Meeting all their travel needs, adhering to targets and deadlines.
Pros
excellent pension scheme
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more American Express reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 5,699 reviews
52.6K
41.9K
3807
2217
1161

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

American Express Reviews by Location