American Express Employee Reviews

Found 226 reviews matching the search See all 6,150 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is was it is on the tin
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Brighton9 November 2018
fast corporate environment with a aim to be the best with an American attitude, a good team and you felt professional working there and gave good opportunities.....if you are a yes person and take on the American dream you ll go far
Pros
benefits
Cons
cant take another call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burgess Hill, West Sussex1 November 2018
Fantastic colleagues great place good team building
fully supported me following my Mum's death am so grateful for this.

always good days at work

the people, the place, the vision
Pros
great team building
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Recruitment Partner (Current Employee) –  Brighton and Hove26 October 2018
Great culture and good company to work for. Lots of people in the building and great atmosphere. Lots of international employees. American Express invest a lot in their staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prima werkgever
Credit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brighton - UK25 October 2018
Altijd met veel plezier naar mijn werk gegaan en toen het tijd was om door te groeien werd ik hier aan alle kanten in gesteund. Als ik niet naar het buitenland was verhuisd was ik heel graag voor deze werkgever blijven werken.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable and well known company to work for
Learning Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex7 October 2018
I enjoyed working for American Express, I was there for just under 8 years.

In that time I was unfortunately made redundant twice due to restructuring of departments, the first time I secured a new new job the second time there was nothing suitable I felt so I took redundancy.

American Express is a very good company to work for they do look after their employees, good pensions and benefits.
Pros
Good staff benefits
Cons
Large company restructure departments regularly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mooie zaak
Travel & Lifestyle consultant (Former Employee) –  Brighton25 September 2018
Veel mogelijkheden om te leren. mooie mensen, mooi werk en mooie mogelijkheden om te leren binnen de reis wereld.
Pros
reis mogelijkheden
Cons
Kantoor baan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my place to say
nothing (Former Employee) –  London18 September 2018
I was here a week at aged 14. I don't know. I just got showed how a few of the departments within the company worked, and while I was there I did a little bit of research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Change Management
Project Analyst/Manager - Capabilities (Former Employee) –  Brighton17 September 2018
If you excite around change management & transitional change this is the company for you.

Excellent for new technology enthusiasts & Blue Working conditions, but don't expect lots of travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work For
Manager, Strategy and Process Improvement (Former Employee) –  Sheet27 August 2018
Great company to work for. You will get enough opportunities to challenge yourself and grow in the organisation. You can work across teams and learn how the work is performed in different LOBs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Hostess and Waiter (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London16 August 2018
It was great. easy, organised. Staff and management work well together. employee perks were great. nice location easy to get to. never had a bad day. i would recommend it to anyone.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
a lot os standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good when ill
Relationship Care Servicing Corporate (Former Employee) –  Home Based9 August 2018
do not deal with life threatening illness very well, very poor support after a very serious illness otherwise good to work for but a rather big drawback!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible working and amazing people
IT Prgramme Delivery Director (Current Employee) –  Burgess Hill, West Sussex8 August 2018
Amex an amazing place to work. There are always plenty of opportunities to develop and the people are amazing. You need to accept change as the norm and be accepting of the frequent organisation changes
Pros
great people
Cons
decision making takes a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, opportunities and flexible place to work
IT Programme Delivery Director (Current Employee) –  Burgess Hill, West Sussex23 July 2018
Amex is an amazing place to work. There is flexibility in working hours and location. Front and foremost are the people who are an incredible diverse group of people to work with globally
Pros
Flexibility and people
Cons
Restructures
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
AML Compliance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Brighton and Hove, East Sussex19 July 2018
A good company to work with plenty of opportunities and good management. Lot so of good benefits and they provide lots of training to help their staff grow and improve.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Senior Business Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London16 July 2018
Worked for 8 years, overall good, made good friends. Good pension and some benefits. Got to travel to different countries for work experience. Enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and demanding work place
Graduate Analyst (Former Employee) –  London14 July 2018
Incredibly high pressure, and demanding targets. Very stressful atmosphere with little to no support. It is a great opportunity if you are prepared for this, if not, stay away.
Pros
wage
Cons
pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training and support
Travel and Lifestyle Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brighton9 July 2018
American Express provides a lot of intense training and is always progressing, they do expect a lot and operate an unreasonable Refer To Friend scheme to which your bonus is connected
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great corporation but too focused on the core products
Business Development Manager (Current Employee) –  London4 July 2018
The company is fantastic and it's core products have served them well for so many years which is great to see and I'm sure they will for years to come but the business has some really innovative business units that struggles to get the focus needed to take it to the next level. The cross border payments/FX Sales business is a specialized unit that has performed tremendously over the years, the founding GM of the department, Paul Hargreaves, was fantastic at growing the business and keeping the teams engaged but alot of that has been lost since the integration within the wider business units.
Pros
Working for a brand that is so well known and respected is a joy
Cons
Always re-structuring the organisation which causes distraction, It's fairly difficult to move across business units as they tend to sway towards product experienced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brighton26 June 2018
Monitoring CCTV
Pass checking people coming in and out of the building
Observing outside patrols in and outside of building
Checking fire systems
Long hours
Pros
The wages
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, East Sussex25 June 2018
this is a great first job, although the 0 hours aspect meant i didnt get a steady amount of work, with shifts being taken very quickly. i also worked on matchdays, which meant when the game was on, there was an hour and a half of unpaid work, waiting to go back for another hour or so. aside from this, the management was good and i gained a lot of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at American Express. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 6,151 reviews
52.8K
42K
3875
2248
1175

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture