Alton Towers Resort

Alton Towers Resort Employee Reviews for Ride Operator

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 268 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place with a friendly environment
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire11 October 2018
A friendly environment with people who are willing to work in a team, I’m a hardworking individual who kid a quick learner and willing to learn new skills
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Social Job
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire22 September 2018
Great social weekend job. Most enjoyable part of the job was working with different people everyday and everyday was different. Managers were great and the workplace culture was brilliant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work for if you are willing to be responsible and work hard
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Monorail17 August 2017
The training provided was very thorough. I felt you were accepted whatever you age and background. The management were always really supportive and looking at ways to improve your working day, and the fellow staff were lovely.
Pros
Enjoyable atmosphere
Cons
Long hours when the season got in full swing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Ride Operator (Current Employee) –  Stafford8 November 2016
ride operator, operating rides daily training hosts, safety checks, paperwork.

most enjoyable is being part of a fantastic team and working for a fun place owned by merlin,

I have learnt how to lead a team, be an operator take on responsibilities my opinion counts in our team.

management on our team is fantastic, well organised.

on going training all the time chances to better yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good fun place
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, ENG17 August 2015
ride operator good co-workers good management learned to love the job typical day runing the rides the most enjoyable was working there the hardest part was haveing a day off and not working there
Pros
just working for them
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal for students
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Alton, ENG1 November 2014
Good hours and fun to work for.
Lots of variation as you are roatated around different rides each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Thrill Ride Host/Operator (Former Employee) –  stoke-on-trent3 December 2013
if you are looking for a fun environment it is a good place to be but if you are looking for a good wage, a good career, good prospects on moving up the ladder it is not so good

I learned how to give good customer service how to lead a team and motivate a team, and operate rides.

the management are stuck in there own ways and there is a lot of favouritism within teams and if you are not willing to go the extra mile for a min-wage job you wont last long and wont progress far within the business

most of my co workers were good to be around when you work there your team becomes like family you spend more time with them than you will your family

the hardest part of the job was the pressure that you are put under as an operator to get everything right all the time with little support

the best thing about the job was working with the guests seeing how excited they get when they get off one of the rides and the people that are working with you
Pros
20 free tickets to any mirlin attraction
Cons
seasonal work, re apply and intervew agine to get another job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Ride Operator (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire6 October 2013
It is very enjoyable working at Alton Towers but you have to work alot of hours especially towards end of season with very late finishes.
Pros
meeting people
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Ride Operator/Host (Former Employee) –  Alton, Staffordshire31 October 2012
My typical day was to operate which ever ride I was on in a safe manner and interact with as many quests as possible to make there time more enjoyable, I learnt a lot about health and safety as working on the rides puts people lives at risk, the management were not the best as you hardly ever saw them as they did not interact much with the staff, my co workers were brilliant it is each of us that made the job most enjoyable, helping each other through the days. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unhappy customers as the set of rules we had to follow for the quests safety did not go down to well with some guests but the most enjoyable thing about the job is I got to operate some of the rides which is a very unique job to have.
Pros
40 free tickets to use at any of merlin entertainments parks
Cons
not much contact with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Alton Towers Resort reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Alton Towers Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 268 reviews
597
487
355
212
117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Alton Towers Resort Reviews by Location