ALDI Employee Reviews

Found 1,004 reviews matching the search See all 4,567 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied, Fast- Paced Role
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cumbria16 July 2018
This is a very varied and fast-paced role which makes this the ideal supermarket job if you get bored doing the same thing everyday and need more autonomy.

The benefits and salary are very good and performance reviews have been improved. The company itself have invested in its employees and the effort made by them overall shows.

The thing that ruins this is the tyrant middle management, unrealistic targets and lack of compassion or care for employees and staff turnover or professional development.

The work life balance is usually poor as you work irregular shift patterns.
Pros
Salary, varied, fast -pased
Cons
irregular shift patterns, poor management, uncompassionate and lack of E.I.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham16 July 2018
Good range of work different from the normal HGV Driver job.
Every day is not the same goog pay and working conditions working clothes supplied.
5 weeks Holiday.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic teamwork
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grimsby16 July 2018
ALDI is a brilliant company to work for, they really take care of their staff. The job can be challenging at times and physically draining but the team work easily makes the shifts fly by.

I cannot stress enough about the amazing team work at ALDI stores, everybody has the same training and knows exactly how things should be and how tough a long shift can be there was always a lot of respect for each other.

Management were always understanding and would do their best to provide a reasonable solution to any issues that would arise and were always ready to roll up their sleeves should the occasion call for it.

The most enjoyable park of the job was helping customers in store, ALDI staff are well trained and knowledgeable about their company, store and products.

Date checks were probably my least favourite part of the job, it was not difficult, just tedious.

Given the chance I would happily work for this company again.
Pros
Managers were extremely helpful and undertanding
Cons
Physically draining shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful.
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hilton15 July 2018
Management force unpaid overtime, change your rota without you knowing. And if you are ever actually geniunely poorly they make you feel horrendous. The management are often young and lack the life experience to motivate and inspire other people, instead they pick their favourites and leave the others. Expect 10 hours on a till with a half an hour break. Expect to be micromanaged with every little thing you do. The pay is great for what it is but the amount of unpaid overtime you will do is crippling. You will often find yourself leaving work an hour after your shift is over with no gratitude from management as this is expected.
Pros
Good pay for what it is.
Cons
Young management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed environment
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead14 July 2018
an enjoyable overall job, always lots to do! working with a good team.
downside lots of split shifts and long hours on checkouts and stores can be very busy which can be a struggle when restocking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good employer
Warehouse operative (Former Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire10 July 2018
Good pay rates, good atmosphere. Work balance is average, sometimes you have to work for 10 hours. Management always happy to help. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winchester10 July 2018
great place. you really feel as if you have earnt your wage. not very flexible but very dependable. an overall great management and a good amount of health and safety.
Pros
great work environment. hard work both mentally and physically but a great bunch.
Cons
negligibly small but there was a manager in particular who has since relocated. watch out
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but motivating employment
Dep store manager (Current Employee) –  Leicester6 July 2018
I worked for this company for 4 years spread over 3 stores, enabling a diverse set of experiences. The work was always fast paced and demanding, built on the platform of close-knit teams.
A day would include basic stock work including rotation, till work, due diligence achieving company goals and great customer service. I have learned how to be sales driven, work within a tight time frame and in difficult circumstances (eg in the event of sickness) and dealing with difficult team members. I have learnt that an honest and fair approach yields positive results. The most enjoyable parts of the job include working as part of a team and how quickly a work day will pass. The culture is usually positive and upbeat.
Pros
Fast days
Cons
Pressure applied to middle management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Prenton5 July 2018
This job consisted of working either on a till or with stock. Everyday I had to deal and engage with customers which I enjoyed and the physical work made this job engaging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the benefits and get out when you can.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire5 July 2018
Enjoy earning some money then Aldi is the place for you! This is not somewhere you can build a career unless you are mentally and physically able to run yourself into the ground 48 hours a week. Exceptional salaries and benefits for all, however the downside is that work life balance goes out the window. You will be expected to hit unreasonable productivity targets that affect everything you do within your store. Despite the success the company is not looking after the people within the stores and continues to let them 'burnout' with no duty of care from higher up. Area Managers have very little people skills and no experience of how a store works. The Area Managers are the biggest issue with this company but not the only one, if your face fits you get away with whatever you want. I fit doesn't you will not survive.
Pros
Money, Money, Money!
Cons
Working hours, Work Life Balance, Culture, Expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challanging
reatail (Former Employee) –  Mold, Flintshire2 July 2018
Typical duties include:
◾Greeting and serving customers as they enter the store.
◾Advising and assisting customers.
◾Handling complaints or forwarding serious issues to the manager on duty.
◾Conducting customer transactions.
◾Replenishing the supply of stock on the shelves.
◾Assisting with store deliveries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but great work/life balance
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Leeds29 June 2018
tough physical job but a great team and a great place to work with its endless flexibility. chance of promotion however only up to store manager as any higher requires you to be a graduate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair dismissal
Hygiene Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire27 June 2018
i have been working for them like 9 weeks and they considered that i am not suitable for hygiene job picking up pallets and swipe after that. I was working with another 4 English lads in the team and i as a Romanian was the only sacked from the team because- not suitable for the job.... I want to say that i had 100% attendance, good worker, and never say something negative about the never ending shifts. Thank you Aldi for giving me a chance for a permanent role....
Pros
canteen, wi fi, parking place, good payed
Cons
bad management, heavy work, endless shifts....
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and hard work
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Telford26 June 2018
the hardest part of the job is trying to fit all your job roles in to the time given they are very strict with productivity and constantly made to feel the pressure.
The team are amazing and can really pull together to make the job more enjoyable.
The management system is very strict and have a lot of responsibility, its trying to make sure you still hold the standards even with the added pressure.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours and strict on productivity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Stockroom Assistant (Current Employee) –  Eccles, Greater Manchester25 June 2018
During a shift at work things are very intense but all staff members work together and very hard to get tasks completed. I have learnt alot in my time working for aldi and this has enabled me to become a fast paced worker not onky on my own but also in groups to help others succeed like myself. Working for aldi is a fast paced enviroment some days it can seem hard but you find ways to make it work smoothly to the best of your ability so i dont believe the role i have is hard. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers becuase you meet differant types of people on a daily basis.
Pros
Aldi Perks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mold25 June 2018
Aldi is a superb company to work for, the management and people are all lovely and you are always clear on what tasks are at hand. Work morale is always high and everyone is always happy to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Warehouse (Selector) Picker (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford24 June 2018
Keeping up with Pick rates can be tough and can be very hard work. Although the hours are based on an 8 hour shift, this is not usually the case. if work is don't you go home early (not paid) and if not finished you could be doing up to 3 hours extra each night, no negotiations.
Management are good when you need help or advice and always available to ask any questions
The most enjoyable part of my day is achieving the daily picks required.
Pros
Employee Benefits
Cons
Working Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid
Order picker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire23 June 2018
Good workplace to work for, very helpful managers, nice staff, job not great but ways to work up into the management system, lorry driving and different equipment.
Pros
money
Cons
dont know finish time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did learn
Cleaner Operative (Former Employee) –  Norwich, Norfolk22 June 2018
I would like to stay in UK for the rest of my life, I dont like the hot in Spain and prefer the tranquility , I can adap to any situation , punctual and responsable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company but have areas to improve on
SALES ASSISSTANT (Former Employee) –  Herefordshire22 June 2018
Aldi is a great company to work for, great schemes, hierarchy in management, although it is hard to progress in the company now. Great salary and bonuses. Consideration towards employee's with children ( that is a recent one I've heard they introduced sadly while I was working in there this was not the case). Aldi is out there to make a difference and they are constantly improving.
Pros
Salary and bonuses
Cons
Harsh management style
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,571 reviews
51.1K
41.4K
31.2K
2509
1447

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture