ALDI Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Store assistant (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester11 April 2018
Morning shift- delivery in the morning
After delivery is finished you get break or going on the tills. Depends of the managers and store.
Afternoon shift- working back stock, carding the store, till operating
Pros
good money, good place to work
Cons
horrible customers but that can be anywhere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but satisfying
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester9 April 2018
A good company giving store assistants experience in all areas of the store from customer service to stock control. The job is varied and can involve many roles in one day keeping the job interesting. Customer interaction is the most important part of the jo whatever your role might be that day.
Pros
Reasonable pay
Cons
Unpredictable hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire7 April 2018
I worked for Aldi for about 1 year. I have to say that I was really happy with the company. Colleagues are nice and hard workers. Even the management is nice what is really unusual in these days. The job is well paid and the working hours basically depends on you. If u want you can do progress really quick.
My only cons are not really the company's fault so I won't write it to the "Cons" section but I must mention that you need a lot of patience when you dealing with costumers. Aldi is one of the cheapest so many of the costumers come from the "living on benefits level" or simply just stupid. People do "amazing" things, making the shop really messy every day. Of course there are many nice costumers as well.
After all it is a good place to work full with opportunities.
Pros
Good money, nice colleagues and management
Cons
Can't really think on anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough6 April 2018
every Aldi you step into to work feels like a close knit team and a family, everyone is supportive from the caretakers to the management. the work is fast paced but you are paid extremely well from the job at hand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but horrible hours
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coalville, Leicestershire4 April 2018
It is a nice place to work but 1. you are not guaranteed the hours 2. You will be put down for all types of shifts including evening, weekends and nights 3. You might even go into work one day to find your shift has been crossed off and no one told you.
Pros
Hourly rate
Cons
Working hours are 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast paced environment
store assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear4 April 2018
productive fast paced busy environment
working on the tills
returns
refunds
customer service
stocking shelves
tidying shop
stock rotation
availability of products
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good but 2 much work for 1 cleaner
Cleaner Operative (Former Employee) –  harlow4 April 2018
cleaning shop floor and other areas litter picking dusting toilets cleaning carpet cleaning hoovering helping customers cleaning where the staff have there break taking out rubbish
Pros
start at 6 finsh at 11 having something a laugh with workers
Cons
to much for 1 cleamer
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Thamesmead, Greater London4 April 2018
A typical day at work , consist of getting a till , been told what to do if not on till , eg working back stock delivery , put backs and tidying the shop floor and able to deal with customers when very busy. Have to be flexiable as sometimes routers change at last minute and you have to be able to work . Long hours and short breaks .
Pros
good pay
Cons
Long hours and very early starts plus late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work hard this is the palce
Assistant Manager (Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Herefordshire3 April 2018
A very busy role where you earn the money they pay. It will only suit a small amount of people but it is worth the effort at times. Great people and you will never be bored.
Pros
money
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bearwood28 March 2018
Long hours and hard work but can be rewarding
Hard to progress because turnover is high
Very early starts near Christmas (sometimes 3 or 4am which can be hard)
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

Want to know more about ALDI?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire26 March 2018
Great place to work, friendly culture and flat management structure means you are expected to achieve a lot in your role in a really hands on basis.
A place that you would never want to leave, if you could be recognised for your work and could progress within your desired field.
Pros
well paid, overtime not encouraged
Cons
low progression for assistants
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprenticeship
Store Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Rhyl20 March 2018
I was on an apprenticeship at Aldi where I was only on 5 pounds an hour compared to everyone else who was on 8-10 pounds and hour! i enjoyed my time at Aldi and gained valuable experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still awaiting my last months pay
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands17 March 2018
Worked for the company for over 4 years. Long shifts, minimal breaks. I left over two years ago, and the never paid me my last months wages. Tried chasing them only to be palmed off to various departments, by the time i decided to take legal action it was too late. Feel like i was fobbed off by them on purpose. I know of several other employees they did this too also.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work but good money
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brierley Hill15 March 2018
Fast pace. non-stop.I would be cashing tills up or on the till myself or I would be on the shop floor ensuring a smooth running store. Never really had chance for a proper break. As I would constantly busy. The store I worked in was very small so everything would go off sale very quickly. The management would always recognized hard working individuals.
Pros
first choice for special buys
Cons
long hours and unsocial-able
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Logisitics Assistant (Current Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire14 March 2018
A busy role in a busy business, Job security is there but not advancement. They do train you on all aspects of your role and on any equipment needed to help you fullfill that role.
Cons
Shift pattern
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work colleagues are the best bit
Store Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Leek, Staffordshire13 March 2018
The management within my store was horrific, the amount of staff that come and go is unreal, and this is all because of the management and the way they talk and treat you, you can cut the tension with a knife its that bad, don't get me wrong its not every manager. I have dealt with this company and the way my manager is for one year but its gotten too much to handle, i don't enjoy going to work nor working there, i honestly wouldn't recommend for anyone to work for this company. The best part of my job is the other store assistants, as they are in the same boat as me and they know how awful it is, however its not even like i can talk to them because when i do, i get shouted at.

I can balance a fast consistent work pace with also enjoying my work life.
Pros
Work colleagues
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to be a great company.
HGV Class 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  Neston, Cheshire6 March 2018
Aldi has the potential to be a brilliant company to work for which is ruined by poor man management staff. I was promoted during my time there and ended up leaving because of the way I was treated. The salary is great (I was a hgv driver) but being unfairly treated outweighed the money side of things.
Pros
Lots of promotions.
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Wilnecote6 March 2018
Im a temp
Lovely job
Lovely staff
Lovely management
Pay rate is good
Good support
Customer service
Staff are helpful and friendly
Workplace is brilliant
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  North wales5 March 2018
I love working at Aldi.long hours but good pay.I was self employed before so used to hard work and long shifts.would recommend this as a workplace as a store assistant.
Pros
Good pay and close knit staff
Cons
No discount in the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
TRAINEE ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Swinton4 March 2018
• Grown major account by 21% profit over last 12 months
• Liaise with client Procurement Directors / Managers
• Source bespoke / niche products to very specific requirements
• Project Manage & Tender High Value Quotations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,149 reviews
5976
41.3K
31K
2453
1394

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture