ALDI Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but good team work.
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire7 February 2018
Aldi is a great company to work for the only thing letting them down is the promotion side..Aldi has great benefits every shop is differently ran but the postions are always changing which I don't like. They take back responsibility alot.
Pros
Productivity bonus
Cons
Late hours no promotions when promised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Store assistant (Current Employee) –  England31 January 2018
Pay is good but they do not give enough hours and every week your shifts change sometimes get my days off in a week and they give me all my hours over weekends
Pros
Paid break
Cons
Long hours on till
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Aldi Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham29 January 2018
Fun place to work as a team player always working alongside colleagues and management. Great benefits offered by Aldi and great opportunities to progress a career within this big company.
Daily routines date checks and stocking shelves also scanning items at checkout being flexible.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands28 January 2018
Great wage, friendly place. Fast paced and always something to do. Good company to work in general for but 10 hour shifts with only half an hour breaks is extreme.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours, no discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very regimented. Everything is timed and monitored.
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barrow-In-Furness28 January 2018
You're expected to arrive 15 minutes prior to your shift unpaid. Breaks are hard to come by, if at all.
The moral is quite high as everyone is pulling in one direction for one common goal (to get home)
Very high standards expected.
Day flys in, as you're so busy.
Hourly rate is good.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Kept behind until job is satisfactory and lack of break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Aldi Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Haddington, East Lothian24 January 2018
Brilliant job sadly my dads ill health made my career come to an end the staff I worked with were very present and I met some new frwinds, the only bad thing is long hours !
Pros
Good colleagues
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Firm
Store Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Heaton Chapel, Greater Manchester15 January 2018
Good well run business. With the perfect chance of progressing within the company. This job is not for the faint hearted. High pressured job at times but perfect for those who hate clock watching.
Pros
Salary.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Stock Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 January 2018
Aldi is a great company to work for who value their employees and offer an enjoying working environment. The salary and benefits package are the highest is comparison to other retail companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire3 January 2018
I really injoyed working her best job i have had and would like to go back and work there one day good rate of pay very fast work place very good management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Swindon29 December 2017
not very good on health and safetyand when things were pointed out to the management nothing was done until there was an accident or near miss glad to be leaving in one piece
Pros
good wages
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester29 December 2017
Hectic days at work, as expected due to being the busiest store in England. I learened to work in a fast paced environment as calmly as possible i.e putting out stock and helping customers out at the same time and still managing to work in a time limit. Hardest part of the job would be working pallets during the day time and still having an expected time to finish each delivery. A lot of pressure.
Pros
Good pay, paid lunch, double pay on public holidays, socialising.
Cons
Long hours, finishing after the store assistants (even when we finish before them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 December 2017
when i was there to cut a long story short the hours were good when you actually had hours to work there was one month where i only had 20 hours !!!!! totalling a pay check of around £250 but when i questioned management about my 15 hour contract they explained that as long as i average 15 hours a week over 12 weeks then it does not matter
Pros
not much
Cons
management (dependant upon store)
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not professional
Sale Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 December 2017
Worked in few retail before (like lidl). But Aldi is the worst so far. Good pay but that's about it.
Menager changing your clock in hours in system so on the end you are not paid for your overtime.
Menager making you to stay and threats you that he will fire u or make you to write your leaving note.
Breaks in 8 hours work are just 20 minutes long. Short notice about changes in rota.
So unprofessional
Pros
good pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment suited to hard working employees
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Northamptonshire17 December 2017
Great place to work
Great salary’s
High chance of advancement
Great career building prospects
Chances to transfer to different stores
All training provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, everything else is awful.
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wales27 November 2017
Work/life balance is non existent. The quality of work expected far outweighs the pay, although the pay is above average for retail. Double pay for bank holiday is great. Awful management, worse rota organisation. Shifts are swapped last minute and you can't refuse.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great wages, long hours
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton27 November 2017
Great wages and a great company to work for. Very long hours though and very early starts, very good management team.
Shifts go very quick, really good place to work in order to save money for the future
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bebington, Merseyside24 November 2017
Worst place I've worked with little skills really needed, not people driven at all.
Dangle bonus as a reason to remain employed before you eligible for it.
Pros
Basic salary
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be great.
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 November 2017
Work life to home life balance can be stressful, just talk it out. 9/10 times they will sort it for you. Lots to do every day, and it can differ as long as you want to do the work. If you don't bother doing the work properly then you will be shoved on a till. They need fast and enthusiastic workers. Pay is good and continues to get better every year. Staff get along well, have a laugh and a joke while working, makes the day go well. Work can get stressful when people don't turn up to work, time limits are tight if you are short staffed. Some managers are hard to get along with but you figure it out with time. Lots of time/chances to get promoted (i myself am getting promoted very soon after nearly 2 years). Overall i would recommend, as long as you want to progress and are not just lazy.
Pros
Aldi benefits and promotions
Cons
Other staff can be lazy which makes your job harder
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good rate of pay
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire15 November 2017
fun and exciting place to work with great rates of pay. working different hours isnt for everyone. fast paced and very customer focused. good potential to progress within the company.
Pros
pay
Cons
mixed shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Served a purpose
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire14 November 2017
I had no intention to stay for the long term, however, it served a fair purpose during my 3 year undergraduate degree. The pay is good for the sector and it is basic, achievable work.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,350 reviews
5798
41K
3840
2357
1320

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture