ALDI Employee Reviews for Order Picker

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy environment
Selector (Current Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire14 September 2018
Good company to work for, provides great facilities for the employees, from the canteen to the changing rooms and toilets.
Aldi gives high expectations on the daily targets, if you are able to meet them at the start of your job, you will have not any issues in the rest of your career in there.
Hard working for this company pays off, and its one of the only distribution centers you will be more worried about getting your job done instead of looking at your watch.
If you are a hard worker, i highly recommend you ALDI
Pros
Salary, facilities, work environment
Cons
Rotation shifts, unset finish times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to earn money, but only have money... This is the place
Picker (Current Employee) –  Bolton22 August 2018
A typical day would include picking products with a headset, using a truck. You get assessed on your performance with a pick rate. The higher the better. Also, accuracy. The lower your errors the better.
The job can be physically demanding due to heavy items and long hours and is not for the faint hearted.
If you want to progress, it can be easy if you have certain personality traits. The most valued is that of brown-nosing. If you are nice to management who are constantly taking advantage of you (basically walking over you) you will go far. The snitch also seems to go far in the Aldi Management system, so I would recommend working on you're snitching skills if you want to progress.
Aside from the pay the best thing about the job in my view is the people, more specifically the workers. i have made some good friends and their is usually a good atmosphere amongst us.
The best thing perk about working at Aldi IMO is the pay, as a general unskilled workier I am on £14 an hour. I don't think you can find anything neark this scale of pay in such a job. Furthermore the fact you have no life in this job enables you to save bare ££££.
Pros
Good money, can be flexible if a good worker
Cons
No work life balance, look for the wrong qualities in management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Warehouse (Selector) Picker (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford24 June 2018
Keeping up with Pick rates can be tough and can be very hard work. Although the hours are based on an 8 hour shift, this is not usually the case. if work is don't you go home early (not paid) and if not finished you could be doing up to 3 hours extra each night, no negotiations.
Management are good when you need help or advice and always available to ask any questions
The most enjoyable part of my day is achieving the daily picks required.
Pros
Employee Benefits
Cons
Working Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid
Order picker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire23 June 2018
Good workplace to work for, very helpful managers, nice staff, job not great but ways to work up into the management system, lorry driving and different equipment.
Pros
money
Cons
dont know finish time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company 2 stars
Picker and higene (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire21 June 2018
there is no organization for 2 or 3 departments to work as a team. the only concern is work getting done, it does not matter if it's 2-for-1 work, there's a lot of disrespect at work, pickers think they're more than other workers just because they earn a little more. all departments should work together and team to work flow.
Pros
canteen and changing rooms
Cons
no organization for 2 or 3 departments working in team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no life balance
selector (Former Employee) –  Bolton upon Dearne11 June 2018
work all the time, to tired to on days off and 6 day weeks at times. work all day everyday and sleep never see friends never go out and work work work everyday the end
Pros
salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly but Tiring
Selector (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford16 April 2018
this is a good place to work and you get free hot drinks on your break but there are very long days starting very early in the morning. you know what time you start but you dont know when you finish until halfway though the day and you have a very high personal target to meet when picking.
Pros
Free hot drinks
Cons
Long hours, dont know when you finish until during the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voice picker
Voice Picker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone13 April 2018
it was a good and fit job unable to co operative with team leader i learned to work at a fast pace at the workplace the mangment was stricked on the worker to get the order out in time for trailer departures was hardest part of the job was lifting
Pros
cheap in cantine
Cons
nice hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Picker (Former Employee) –  Bathgate, West Lothian27 February 2018
Picking products to go to stores, usage of pallet truck. Putting away stock, general housekeeping, good place to work and everyone is friendly and good atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Rotherham20 February 2018
i was at aldi for a placement and everyone welcomed me with open arms and made it feel like a fun and friendly place to start a career even though i was outside in the gardening sector
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Enviroment
Selector (Former Employee) –  Bathgate, West Lothian10 January 2018
I typical day at work would involve picking up crates of produces and putting them into their correct lanes so that they can be shipped to stores. As a whole, the management is very good as it is a very efficient team.
Pros
Paid Break
Cons
Tough to keep up to speed
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse selector
warehouse selector (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire2 January 2018
-Early morning starts and difference hours daily depending on orders.
-Learn to pick fast and efficiently.
-fast pace environment
-even though it s high pay a lot is expected of you
-use of different machines including Llop and Bulk mover
Pros
hourly rate
Cons
distance from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aldi warehouse
Selector (Former Employee) –  Swindon, Wiltshire10 November 2017
Bad management . Mobbing, power abuse, i not recomend work for this company after couple years service, Health condition gone to minimum wasnt worth to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Selector (Former Employee) –  Atherstone1 November 2017
Aldi is committed to investing into its workers, and allowed me to develop and grow during my part time years in the warehouse within Atherstone. Though the hours were long they were worth the effort as you felt valued and your time whilst working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Selector (Current Employee) –  Atherstone23 September 2017
To me it's not worth the money, even though the hourly rate is the best i've had, it is a very physically demanding job but the thing i struggled most with is the loneliness and depressive atmosphere of the work place and the people, no one wants to be there at all they just feel trapped and are used to the money which is hard to find else where without qualifications as such.
Pros
Money
Cons
The job
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work place
Warehouse Selector (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester7 June 2017
I find Aldi a challenge at times, I am 47 and some days going into work so early is a big issue when you are dealing with a heavy manual lifting Job. It is not an easy Job at all so although the pay is high the actual physical side of it can be debilitating. The staff who work there make the place everyone gets on well together so it's like a family on the worker's side. Seems that there no loyalty for people who have worked for longer periods.
Pros
fantastic guys and girls who work there and
Cons
no way for progression, same job day in day out really
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job
Picker (Former Employee) –  Darlington, Durham1 June 2017
Horrible company to work for. Full of grasses who will do anything to get you in trouble , management are very very poor needs to be sorted immediatel
Pros
15 mins break, finish early
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring and no life
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Goldthorpe, South Yorkshire18 May 2017
Aldi pay good wages but for a reason! Your bodie is in bits and you don't have much of a life! It's more for single people it's having a impact on my relationship effecting my sleeping pattern
Pros
Free fruit and coffee
Cons
Long hours lifting heavy produce
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Selector (Current Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex24 April 2017
If you like to wake up early and finish work by lunch time it's a very good place to work. Bad things are that the pick rate sometimes is just not achievable. But no one wants to know about it... I was told by my line manager that I can get a disciplinary if I don't reach the target, witch is 300 cases an hour. So you really have to manage every minute of your work... Sometimes even going to toilet can get you in to trouble, because you will lose your pick rate...
Pros
Free tea or coffe
Cons
early mornings and pick rate is to high
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Picker
Picker (Current Employee) –  Swindon22 March 2017
Good money but it's not a good job for someone who owns a family as the hours of work are variable.
It is quite heavy lifting job and may cause some back problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,399 reviews
51K
41.4K
31.1K
2481
1417

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture