ALDI Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Aldi Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham29 January 2018
Fun place to work as a team player always working alongside colleagues and management. Great benefits offered by Aldi and great opportunities to progress a career within this big company.
Daily routines date checks and stocking shelves also scanning items at checkout being flexible.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Stock Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 January 2018
Aldi is a great company to work for who value their employees and offer an enjoying working environment. The salary and benefits package are the highest is comparison to other retail companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth it
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands27 December 2017
when i was there to cut a long story short the hours were good when you actually had hours to work there was one month where i only had 20 hours !!!!! totalling a pay check of around £250 but when i questioned management about my 15 hour contract they explained that as long as i average 15 hours a week over 12 weeks then it does not matter
Pros
not much
Cons
management (dependant upon store)
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be great.
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 November 2017
Work life to home life balance can be stressful, just talk it out. 9/10 times they will sort it for you. Lots to do every day, and it can differ as long as you want to do the work. If you don't bother doing the work properly then you will be shoved on a till. They need fast and enthusiastic workers. Pay is good and continues to get better every year. Staff get along well, have a laugh and a joke while working, makes the day go well. Work can get stressful when people don't turn up to work, time limits are tight if you are short staffed. Some managers are hard to get along with but you figure it out with time. Lots of time/chances to get promoted (i myself am getting promoted very soon after nearly 2 years). Overall i would recommend, as long as you want to progress and are not just lazy.
Pros
Aldi benefits and promotions
Cons
Other staff can be lazy which makes your job harder
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, hard working, rewarding
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 October 2017
Ideal place to develop yourself on a personal and professional level. Develop many skills within a face paced environment while plenty of room for progression. Company is focussed on its people achieveing their best, while supporting progression at the right time. Amazing job security and a happy, fun working environment while remaining faced paced and friendly with regular and new customers.
Pros
Job security, staff friendliness, fast paced
Cons
Unpredictable shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not family friendly
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 May 2017
childcare costs to be available for this job far outway the income, lower contracts are given with the promise of overtime but youre lucky if you can get any extra. fixed days to lower childcare costs are not something they cater for. lots of promises and no results
Pros
decent hourly way
Cons
no hours, no care for family circumstances
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Deputy Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands2 December 2016
A typical day at Aldi is like no other supermarket, there is always something to do at Aldi even if it doesn`t seem that way. The company does teach you a lot along the way that is useful whatever job you do because Aldi is all about time management an making sure the customer is happy an satisfied. Co-workers are what make the job really, it helps a lot if you do have good workers around you or working for you. The management scheme Aldi offers is excellent but management in Aldi as a whole isn`t what it should be for such a successful company.
Pros
hourly pay
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and even better pay
Store Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham27 June 2016
Aldi is a great company to work for, they offer great salary and even more benefits, people on here are saying negative things about the company about the rules the company has but all the rules are outlined in your workbooks and handbooks, for example I've seen one talking about relationships within stores and them saying they didn't know and that it wasn't in the book. It is outlined that relationships are not the best and informs you that you must inform your manager, this is because Aldi likes there stores to run efficiently and having a relationship may effect your work, but otherwise Aldi is great and I would highly recommend it, if you believe your a proactive and hardworking person, the staff are Aldi and they expect you to perform to high standard and you are rewarded for this, it is easy to build your way up the company by working hard, believe me when I say you won't regret working for Aldi
Pros
Paid breaks, salary, structure, environment
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking enviroment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham20 June 2016
long hours, really hard graft, great people, fun environment. work life balance is questionable dependent upon role and hours worked. pay is good however you really work for your money here
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Stock Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham26 April 2016
Is a fun work environment, always busy so time passes buy rather quickly. Pay is very fair.

There are heavy time limits so there is very little to no down time.

Staff are fun and enjoyable.
Pros
High Pay
Cons
Early Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Caretaker/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Birmingham23 February 2016
a typical day at aldi was funny and productive the staff and management were fantastic. I learnt how to use a industrial buffering machine which was very hard at first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work ever
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham16 February 2016
One of the worst experiences of my life, the worst place you could ever imagine working for, because it wasnt work it was modern day slavery. You name it, they do IT. Not paying staff the right wages or from the time they start work till the end of shift... check, poor working conditions and a lack of trainng and development ... check, favourtism among management and fellow staff members ... check, mis advertising of ACTUAL PAY ... check, holidays when they want you to have them and not when you want them ... check, working an hour or so over your allocated shiift and not getting paid for it so it leads to managers getting a higher bonus because it seems they are managing their productivity well ... check, no consideration or family emergencys ... check, a pathetic excuse of an area manager who picks on you for having ONE day off ill ... check. These are just a few things as well as being pressurised constantly with no reward or bonus scheme, no staff discount, and depression and stress. Having left to work elsewhere i am a different person who is happy and embracing life. FOLKS DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND DONT APPLY
Pros
Met some great friends
Cons
Long hours, not paid correctly, bad management, no career progression if your not a favourite, depression, stress, no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 134No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,enjoyable and good team
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG11 January 2016
A typical day at work would include socialising with team due to start shift together, then a brief meeting with management team outlining targets/important topics and roles for the shift. Then work could consist of a varied day from tills to deliveries, or even warehouse work.
I learned a lot at Aldi, how team work and effective/cohesive work can achieve great results in a very busy store with less than most workplaces levels of staff.
Management were on the whole approachable and easy to talk to, they also treated staff fairly and with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham6 November 2015
Very hard work and not much reward very old fashioned management. Everyone who works here is very hard working. The hardest part of the job is the long hours and early starts and late finishes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but lacks proper leadership
Apprentice manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG30 September 2015
Aldi majority of the time was a good place to work, good rate of pay, decent benefits.

However the management team lacks essential leadership skills to carry and look after a big workforce as my previous store had. Also training wasnt the best quality.
Pros
good pay, benefits
Cons
unsociable work hours, lack of proper management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing, frustrating and exhausting
stock assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham6 September 2015
aldi has got to be the worst company I have ever worked for. do you enjoy working every weekend? getting up at 4am to work 2 and a half hour shifts? how about taking orders from people who dont have two brain cells to rub together? enjoy getting lied to on a daily basis? hearing endless gossip about colleagues and then wondering what they're saying about you behind your back?! then aldi is the place for you! there is such a lack of care and responsibility by this company you are literally treated like a slave. im at a loss as to why people say the money is good, its not! how can it be when you are given less than your contracted hours! dont be surprised to be working 10 hour weeks. in all aldi stores there is a warehouse which is the most disgusting place I have ever been in, the smell of rotting food and all over types of pungent odors which will have you playing guess the smell with fellow workers. avoid this company like the plague.
Pros
handing in your notice
Cons
poor management, poor money, disgusting hygiene
Was this review helpful?Yes 94No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly managed teams acheive goals and targets
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG26 August 2015
A great company to work for but without a degree you are unable to progress passed store manager level.
I have learnt a lot from aldi such as productivity of a business, the ethos behind low priced great quality products.
I have also learnt new management styles and techniques when leading a team.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham16 July 2015
Work life was okay there, it was tough with the poor management I had at my particular store the hours were pretty short but there was definitely job security and the pay wasn't too bad
Pros
Job security
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a nice place to work
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG9 June 2015
always working weekends and long days, always shift changes at last minute. Dont get many or long breaks, even when doing a long shift.
Pros
good pay
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and fast paced environment
Stock Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ENG22 February 2015
I would replenish stock, sort delivery and ensure the shop floor, warehouse and customers were organised.

I further developed my ability to work independently, think on my feet and to analyse patterns; questioning norms.

The management varied, the area managers ranged in tendencies but my main area manager was a credit to the organisation. The store was without a direct manager for a while and was ran by two assistant managers. The new manager's style and actions was different but they had vision and exhibited good execution.

The Aldi staff was all helpful, passionate and hard working. The culture was interesting and the impact/influence I had on the staff but nevertheless, enjoyable to work with.

The hardest part of the job was the physical impact it had on my health.

The most enjoyable part was being able to meet and assist those in the community and knowing exactly what I would be doing.
Pros
Good pay, friendly community
Cons
Misdirection, constant change to structure of my hours (changing from day delivery to am - to night - back to am)
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 3,814 reviews
5904
41.2K
3959
2416
1361

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture