ALDI Employee Reviews in Atherstone

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the benefits and get out when you can.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire5 July 2018
Enjoy earning some money then Aldi is the place for you! This is not somewhere you can build a career unless you are mentally and physically able to run yourself into the ground 48 hours a week. Exceptional salaries and benefits for all, however the downside is that work life balance goes out the window. You will be expected to hit unreasonable productivity targets that affect everything you do within your store. Despite the success the company is not looking after the people within the stores and continues to let them 'burnout' with no duty of care from higher up. Area Managers have very little people skills and no experience of how a store works. The Area Managers are the biggest issue with this company but not the only one, if your face fits you get away with whatever you want. I fit doesn't you will not survive.
Pros
Money, Money, Money!
Cons
Working hours, Work Life Balance, Culture, Expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid
Order picker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire23 June 2018
Good workplace to work for, very helpful managers, nice staff, job not great but ways to work up into the management system, lorry driving and different equipment.
Pros
money
Cons
dont know finish time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voice picker
Voice Picker (Former Employee) –  Atherstone13 April 2018
it was a good and fit job unable to co operative with team leader i learned to work at a fast pace at the workplace the mangment was stricked on the worker to get the order out in time for trailer departures was hardest part of the job was lifting
Pros
cheap in cantine
Cons
nice hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire26 March 2018
Great place to work, friendly culture and flat management structure means you are expected to achieve a lot in your role in a really hands on basis.
A place that you would never want to leave, if you could be recognised for your work and could progress within your desired field.
Pros
well paid, overtime not encouraged
Cons
low progression for assistants
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse selector
warehouse selector (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire2 January 2018
-Early morning starts and difference hours daily depending on orders.
-Learn to pick fast and efficiently.
-fast pace environment
-even though it s high pay a lot is expected of you
-use of different machines including Llop and Bulk mover
Pros
hourly rate
Cons
distance from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked
Goods In Operative and Reach Truck operative (Current Employee) –  Atherstone7 November 2017
your overworked at ALDi, good money but the job to life balance is not good as shift work and never knowing what time you will finsih makes it hard to plan your days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for.
Selector (Former Employee) –  Atherstone1 November 2017
Aldi is committed to investing into its workers, and allowed me to develop and grow during my part time years in the warehouse within Atherstone. Though the hours were long they were worth the effort as you felt valued and your time whilst working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hate it
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire15 October 2017
First of all, the managers do not give a toss, if theres a customer complaining and is actually legit and you actually want to help them they still dont care! The "managers" are young and think they're ahead of everyone else, arrogant and disgusting!!! There is only one manager that everyone likes and he is lovely, but seriously all the rest are actually morons, look down at you ect, the job it self would be ok if the staff were actually decent, everyones too up themselves and dont know how to have a laugh, stay away as nothing is enjoyable here.
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything pretty much
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work
Selector (Current Employee) –  Atherstone23 September 2017
To me it's not worth the money, even though the hourly rate is the best i've had, it is a very physically demanding job but the thing i struggled most with is the loneliness and depressive atmosphere of the work place and the people, no one wants to be there at all they just feel trapped and are used to the money which is hard to find else where without qualifications as such.
Pros
Money
Cons
The job
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast pace environment.
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire10 May 2017
My main roles in this position was to ensure that the customer went away happy and with the information they called for in the first instance. It was a very busy department, but I enjoyed the fast pace atmosphere in the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Selector
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire16 April 2017
worst management I've ever known!!, the staff turnover in this place is ridiculous and mainly down to the way the managers treat them.

over worked and not enough breaks, typical 15 minutes on a 10 hour shift is not enough when this job is manual handling none stop!
Pros
the collegues are what makes the place
Cons
poor managment, over worked, not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to develop skills
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, UK17 February 2017
Overall it isn't a bad place to work, just make sure you 100% check out the job description, mine changed 3 times within the first month, they change what they expect of you. They do train you well to start but lack offering any further development. Management seems lacking as most don't seem to know whats going on themselves and refuse to take responsibility or make decisions. The other staff (non management) are fantastic and pretty welcoming and always seem in high spirits. if you are in a manual position you get treated better than office staff, Office staff however get better opportunities to develop and progress.
Pros
well priced canteen, good parking, good initial training
Cons
management, development, lack of progression through roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No ladder
Logistics Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire16 January 2017
ALDI has a good culture of recruiting high quality people, but there is no room for growth due to the extremely flat structure. Stay for a couple of years then move on.
Pros
No weekend working or late nights
Cons
Terrible pension, no progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Selector (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, Warwickshire19 December 2016
I have previously worked for aldi warehouse, the staff turnover is .. alot, the management look down on you, the hours are awful, 20 ins break in an 8 hour shift is just not on, especially how hard they want you to graft, it was the biggest mistake of my life moving to this company.
Pros
Staff (not managers) are a laugh
Cons
One of the worst companys i have worked for
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aldi Life
Corporate Buying Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atherstone23 May 2016
A really enjoyable place to work, but be prepared to learn quickly!
This is a challenging and demanding environment that is expanding and growing on a daily basis.
You will get out what you put in, as with any job of course.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly workplace
Selector (Current Employee) –  Atherstone15 January 2016
I get on with everybody at ALDI, staff are great and so are the management.
We all work together to get the work done and get home, the hardest part of my job would be getting up so early in the morning!
Other than this I enjoy going in to see my work colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Pay, Difficult Environment
GBDA (Former Employee) –  Atherstone23 June 2015
The pay and benefits are extraordinary, however it is a very cliquey environment and it is extremely difficult to fit in. In the 6 months I was there I saw 6 employees fired for various reasons. Namely, didn't fit in with "ALDI" persona
Pros
Fresh fruit daily, great Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aldi Graduate Scheme
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, ENG7 March 2015
There is no such thing as a typical day for a trainee area manager because although there are planned and scheduled meetings, a quick call can completely change the day.
Pros
Skills, Training
Cons
Long hours, Little Career Progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Warehouse Assistant Reach Truck (Former Employee) –  Atherstone, ENG21 January 2015
ok place to work just not enough hours in the working day to earn what i require. very chaotic and unorganised.
co workers very helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
FORKLIFT OPERATOR / STOCK REPLENISHER (Current Employee) –  Atherstone27 February 2014
Nice early starts
Learned new skills through my journey such as using a new kind of reach truck
Team members were a delight to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 4,158 reviews
5977
41.3K
31K
2455
1394

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture