Age UK Employee Reviews

Found 1,067 reviews matching the search See all 1,077 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
living in a fear of losing your job!
Day Care Officer (Current Employee) –  London, UK11 December 2018
All I could say is that I worked here for more than 5 years and all I heard every day was that our department will close down due to the lack of funds. people in charge do not know how to value their workers and do not know how to keep their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worthwhile job
Equipment Worker (Current Employee) –  Cumbria, UK8 December 2018
Charitable organisation covering a wide area in a rural area. I have learned a great deal about supporting clients with a variety of help and advice.

Hardest part of the job is lack of funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Volunteer Befriender (Former Employee) –  Various6 December 2018
- Work as a befriender
- Balanced Role
- Approachable management who is very much in tune with your tasks carried out however the guidelines need to be addressed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Community Link Worker (Former Employee) –  West Sussex5 December 2018
Just don't work there - they don't know what they are doing!

They just want 'yes' people who will do as they are told.

The employees are scared to speak out as the managers bully them. There is no HR or anyone else to keep the managers from having complete control to do what they want, including sacking whoever they want to.

Scary little organisation in Sussex, with mini 'all powerful' managers who want 'yes' people.
Pros
some nice people trying to do good at the bottom
Cons
really, really bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Volunteer and Work (Current Employee) –  Ashton-in-Makerfield, Greater Manchester4 December 2018
My main role involves tagging clothes, washing dishes and general cleaning. I also speak to the public to show them what is for sale and where things are located in the shop
Pros
I get on well with everyone
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  Gillinham Kent1 December 2018
As i was only a volunteer i cannot review it as a job as i did it for helping the charity as this is how this charity works.
It was good fun to work there as i enjoyed talking to the elderly clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and interesting place to volunteer.
volunteer (Current Employee) –  Horsham, West Sussex1 December 2018
I volunteer at Age UK Horsham District, at least once a year for events such as summer and Christmas shows. I love being able to help in any way possible.
Pros
lovely people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Marketing (Current Employee) –  London27 November 2018
Outsiders coming in trying to run a charity like they did wherever they come from previous .. eg councils / corporate giant

Ok place to work - staff seem to stay either a year or for life !
Pros
9-5 hrs
Cons
Low pay - no perks / no bonus etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to mingle and put something back into the society.
Voluntary IT Trainer/Technician (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London21 November 2018
I have been able to put my profession and personal qualities to work in my engagements with different people from diverse ethnicity. The management has always been very appreciative of the general staff contribution towards the progress of the organisation. Volunteers are well treated and enjoyed similar work incentives as those set aside for permanent staff members.
Pros
Free lunches, Reasonable breaks, Maximum 30 days holidays.
Cons
Would not treat impromptu absence request.Kindly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really bad to work for
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barnard Castle, Durham21 November 2018
I learnt how to use the till and how to sort things in the back, the management could just be a little more better, it can be busy at times to meet targets for the shop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to improve yourself.
Volunteer counsellor (Former Employee) –  Camden19 November 2018
It was my second placement as a counsellor, and I was welcomed there. The small but demanding service gave me a chance to improve as a counsellor, altjough a slight lack of communication was in place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Consett18 November 2018
I enjoyed working for age UK. I enjoyed working with different people. It helped me with my confidence and also helped me to put myself out there and be able to help others.
Pros
Colleagues
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my time.
Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  North East17 November 2018
I loved my job and only left as I moved. The down side is low wage, but it is a charity so I expected as much, and it's not a 9-5 job as you often have to start early and finish late. That said it's very rewarding and enjoyable. I had a great team of volunteers and two hard working staff. If you get the chance I would recommend working with Age UK.
Pros
Helping a well deserved charity
Cons
Low pay for the work/hours you do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy firm
Volunteering (Current Employee) –  Margate14 November 2018
Keeping busy
office routine
computer setup
filing on the PC computer
meeting and greeting clients
answering the telephone and passing messages on
Pros
local to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, Cumbria11 November 2018
The Age UK workplace is fun as you get to meet new people in the workplace and you get to work with old people by doing helping and organising events, doing home care and other stuff
Pros
Free transport
Cons
Having to drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire6 November 2018
I have volunteered at age UK for a few months on and off and think I will do so again in future. I had a good relationship with the manager and he was helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and environment
Voluntary Worker (Current Employee) –  Leigh6 November 2018
I love working there I've met so many new people and have learnt a lot in the short time I've been there, very friendly staff and I would definitely recommend them :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Driffield5 November 2018
I enjoyed my time working here as a volunteer provide support to all the staff and residents cared for by the company to make everyone's lives a little bit easier everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  Redbridge5 November 2018
Working with Age UK was an experience, I was able to enjoy the comfort of meeting new people, and helping them experience new opportunities such as art, using technology and playing games like Dominos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Volunteering (Current Employee) –  Ellesmere Port4 November 2018
If you want to help and at the same time learn, this is a good place.
Good work environment in the Marina Dr. street store, For me this new experience has been different in every way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Age UK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,078 reviews
5543
4294
3150
235
156

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture