Aberdeenshire Council Employee Reviews

Found 77 reviews matching the search See all 81 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place ot work
ADMIN SUPPORT (Current Employee) –  Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire3 August 2018
Great place to work with the option of progression. Very good with flexible hours working in the office or at home.
Management are approachable
Workplace is very comfortable and laid back.
Hardest park of the job is working with the public especially when they are upset.
I
Pros
flexiible hours
Cons
not the best hourly rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
homecarer
Assisting individuals (Former Employee) –  Peterhead, Aberdeenshire3 July 2018
the job was fulfilling as caring for individuals was a rewarding job to do .. the team I was in was great we communicated well together . I would do it again
Pros
gloves and aprons supplied
Cons
petrol costs never increased
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Culture
Lifeguard/Swimming Teacher (Former Employee) –  Inverurie21 June 2018
Working for aberdeenshire council was a great experience. I found the job to be very flexible to my needs as a student and had a great team around me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great unit to work in
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeenshire18 June 2018
My job fits in with my children at school
I really enjoy my job. Would like to work a few more hours now the girls are getting bigger
My unit manager is a fair and brillant boss.
As a team we all get o. With the job.
Working with the children is rewarding to watch them grow and listen to them in the dinner hall
I love my job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work at
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City15 May 2018
Aberdeenshire Council is an enjoyable place to work at with friendly colleagues to work with. The work is productive and perfectly manageable to do in the given time periods.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Creche Worker (Current Employee) –  Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire6 April 2018
This is a nice place to work. Friendly staff and very efficient.
Would recommend working here.
Plenty of variety and good rate of pay..
Good holidays .
Pros
Good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity, good wages and benefits.
Relief Early Years Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Aberdeenshire3 April 2018
Working with Aberdeenshire came with great benefits and wages. It was good hours, especially for anyone with children, to work within a nursery and have all the school holidays. Overall a pleasant company to work for if you are keen for a career in a nursery environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good old days
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mintlaw8 February 2018
working for the council was like going back in time but in a good way where everything could be fixed and would be fixed the worst part was working on the refuse trucks and on the equipment in the skips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To much people picking and chosen where and when they work
Skilled waste operative (Former Employee) –  Mintlaw5 January 2018
There is a horrible attitude in the Aberdeenshire council especially in the waste section. Where there is far to many people not willing to work but willing to claim a wage I think it is wrong and that attitude is from the mangers rite the way down to the street sweepers
Pros
You get a decent wage decent breaks and a 4 day week
Cons
Expected to not work for your wahe
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work for
Domestic Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Turriff26 December 2017
I have worked for this company a lot of years and have always enjoyed enjoy my work as They look after their employees, always resolve any issues anyone may have
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reasonable
Landscape Operative (Former Employee) –  Ellon, Aberdeenshire5 December 2017
was a good job but job security was not good as they would hire people who were not willing to do work needed and ignored people who would, overall training was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Skilled waste operative (Current Employee) –  Mintlaw, Aberdeenshire1 December 2017
Great place to work. 4 day week is amazing. Good bunch of lads. Great laugh. Every one gets along with each other. One of the best jobs ive had.

Sometimes the rounds feel like they are never ending. But its best just to not think about it and just get on with it.
Pros
4 day week. Great pay
Cons
Rounds can feel never ending at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taken for granted
Social Care Worker (Current Employee) –  South Aberdeenshire18 November 2017
Client work rewarding , job not as in job description. Management take it for granted that you are a pawn to be managed how they want.
Line manager very good.
Colleges supportive.
Payslips not transparent , you never quite know if overtime is correctly calculated .
Pros
Usually have use of a company vehicle, good training
Cons
Expected to work over time with no choice or notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Labourer/Groundworker (Former Employee) –  Peterhead, Aberdeenshire23 October 2017
Was a really good place to work was only seasonal so contract ended would consider looking into something similar but would take anything to see me through the festive period
Pros
Good lads
Cons
To much driving about
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Relief Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Aberdeenshire1 October 2017
I am a relief worker and so can choose when I work. My line manager is great and works well around when I am available. I sometimes cover the same places but it is nice to have the variation of working elsewhere and with different people.
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good teaching experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pitmedden30 September 2017
Lovely working environment with some great colleagues and a rich work experience. Thoroughly enjoyed the time there and made some great friends who I keep in touch with now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Pupil Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Banff, Aberdeenshire11 September 2017
They are a fair company. Provide good support. Pay is quite good. Ideal getting summer holidays with the children. Can be quite challenging when children don't behave.
Pros
Local
Cons
Payoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good secure role.
Day centre coordinator (Current Employee) –  Aberdeenshire26 August 2017
I have enjoyed my job here but feel it is time for a change and a new challenge. I have met many wonderful people and look forward to a new journey. Thanks
Pros
Car benefit
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not exactly secure
Landscape operative (Former Employee) –  Kemnay, Aberdeenshire16 August 2017
Spent seven years working hard for the council which would ultimately see me fired on capability grounds while waiting for back surgery. Its not what you know but who, in terms of advancement and job duties. Management would fail to look competent at solving the most basic problems. Any criticism of colleagues or management will see you blacklisted.
Pros
Winter hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be nice place if....
Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Inverurie, Aberdeenshire1 July 2017
It would be a nice place if some of the managers weren't so arrogant.

It is a nice place to work, but it is not secure at all.
You may get the feeling that the management and the HR are in a conspiracy against the non-management staff.
The rules and the HR policies in place do not give a chance to the average low hierarchy worker to defend him/herself.
Therefore you may get a permanent contract and you may think that you will get pensioned as an Aberdeenshire council employee, but do not rely on it - after the next in role "tighten the belt" initiative and you may be out... but they may employ new managers or increase the pay rate of the existing management at the same time because that has nothing to do with the tighten the belt.
Another negative site effect of working for the council is that it attracts many climbers. Individuals that couldn't survive themselves as independent businessmen find it easy to climb up in the intercompany hierarchy.
Be prepared that any of the climbers may step on your toes, shoulders or even on your head on their way to the top of the hierarchy
But if you climb up to any (even the lowest) manager level you are much safer. The only you need to show is enthusiasm and initiative whenever the next in role "tighten the belt" initiative takes place. You need to produce one after another agenda and to find a mentor higher in the hierarchy.

On another hand, you may be lucky to have a line manager that know and love his job and support his staff, but that is rear (but not impossible).
If you get that chance you may have a long, relaxed
  more... and satisfying career.

In general, it is a nice place to work for Aberdeenshire if you are one of the luckiest.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Aberdeenshire Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 81 reviews
525
426
316
28
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture