ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have the right attitude
Refuse Collector (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City30 April 2018
It's had it's ups and downs, but generally speaking I have loved working here..
The workers - loaders and drivers are easy going and friendly.
strenuous work at times, but your crew are there to motivate you-vice versa.
Pros
Early mornings, Early afternoon finishes
Cons
Usually need a Nap after work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Council job
School crossing patroller (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen30 April 2018
Lollipop lady for Council. The job started badly when my manager woke me at 5.30am, texting about something minor and non-urgent. Other than that the job was OK but I had to resign because of child care issues.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Tree Surgeon (Current Employee) –  Duthie Park19 April 2018
From 2006 to present I have been employed with Aberdeen City Council as an Arborist (Tree Surgeon), HGV Driver. Team work is an important factor as often the work can be dangerous and challenging.
The importance is that in this institution I can to combine my existing skills, work and life experience with the constantly training and development.
Pros
Security
Cons
Slow mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going downhill
Driver/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City11 January 2018
Poor organization and lack of communication from management. stable job, however there is very little opportunities to progress or further career prospects.
Pros
easy job
Cons
poor organization and lack of respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a nice place to work
YourHR Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City8 January 2018
Personally not had the best of times due to constant chasing up of my fixed term contracts and changes to HR. There have been vast changes to my team and i feel i have not had the full support behind the project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home support manager
Home support manager (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen31 December 2017
During my time with Aberdeeen City I had various care positions which I very much enjoyed.
I find assisting people to live independently very rewarding and challenging which I enjoy
Due to budget cuts I had no choice and was redeployed to an SVQ assessor post
Pros
Job satisfaction
Cons
Demands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for mums
Catering Assistant (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City8 December 2017
I have two children and as I only work term time great for mums or dads with kids as it allows you to work during school hours and you are off all holidays apart from the inservice days
Pros
Works around children
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resonable
ITS Engineer (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen18 October 2017
Good place to work with flexible working and a range of interesting projects. Opportunities to work abroad and take responsibility for projects. Reasonable training programmes.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good, a great company to work for
Community Bus Escort (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City15 October 2017
Very good company to work for. Training is excellent, staff are well supported and looked after, the working environment is generally excellent. Staff morale is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was okay good
Aberdeen (Current Employee) –  Aberdeen13 September 2017
Its a outdoor job which in sunny weather its fine but old and rainy days are horrible anf the employees are fun and the management is okay needs a bit of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best of employers
Refuge loader (Current Employee) –  altens east1 August 2017
Poor organization .lack of communication and no moral among staff .wouldn't recommend working for Aberdeen city council unless you like early starts and finishes .
Pros
early start and finish
Cons
no organization and lack of respect for employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Apprentice Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen4 July 2017
It is a fun place to work you get a lot of experience from the older workers who have been working for years. I would recommend to others as others are friendly and are willing to teach you new things.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Telephonist (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen28 June 2017
Good benefits
Amazing culture in Frederick St
Good work/life balance - friendly atmosphere
Con - Loud open plan office
Lovely staff - welcoming and good managerial staff
Con is the sickness policy - 2 sicknesses in a year and action is taken
Culture is improving with team building days etc
Pros
So many
Cons
Sickness Policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working within the school
PUPIL SUPPORT ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen19 June 2017
Unfortunately due to school closures my time there ended. Fantastic time over the years. Until management came in and closed the school. Unfortunately after a period of time you discovered you are only a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Adminstration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City19 June 2017
I found the training was not very good if you only have a temporary contract. There seemed to be no consistency in the way people did things. They all seemed to do things differently. So if you asked one person how to do things they will tell you one way and yet another person would tell you a differnet wasy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each Day Different
Admin Support (Current Employee) –  City Centre15 June 2017
Deal mainly with the public as this is an exhibition space that is open to the public. Collate numbers for visitors to the premises and also direct and inform public. Make ready for new exhibitors and assist to de-stall.
Pros
Get to see new art work, and new technologies.
Cons
Can be a bit boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rate of fees
Foster carer (Former Employee) –  Home Based16 March 2017
I worked with ACC for 10 years as a foster carer and worked as part of a team involved with looked after children. They have good policies and we're supportive in my role as a carer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Budget driven
Social work manager (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen4 March 2017
Difficult job when budgets were reduced , services closed and staff were made redundant.
Multiple changes in Senior manager posts which caused much disruption and uncertainty
Prior to that very enjoyable
I took voluntary severance in 2010
Pros
The clients
Cons
Politicians
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and good people
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Marshall college25 February 2017
My job role in Aberdeen city council was work around house in Aberdeen area I had too clear out the abandoned home that people left behind. I learned to be professional about the public area because I sometime had to go with the line management to someone's house to help clean it and remove anything. The hardest part about the job for me was trying to clear a fridge out went the food is all bad and out of day. The best about the job was I got to work with good friends and be able to forget how bad the house was.
Pros
Good lunch breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexi hours a major bonus
Assistant Property Officer (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen city, UK22 February 2017
Enjoyed my time here plenty of training provided, friendly colleagues made friends for life working here.
Kept busy most days and always had new tasks.
Plenty of opportunity to move within departments if jobs come up internally.
Pros
Flexi time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 61 reviews
517
415
321
25
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

ABERDEEN CITY COUNCIL Reviews by Location