A.F. Blakemore and Sons Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad, bad, bad
Manager (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire28 November 2018
Horrendous place to work in management, no training, no support expected to be in the store everyday... Told to tell sales assistants they have to work.... They can be on 12 hr contracts doing 50+hrs p/w holidays cancelled at last miniute.
Pros
Great team
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Hygiene assistant/ Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Willenhall, West Midlands20 November 2018
Only managed to do 8 days. Cleaning was irrelevant it was more a case of feeding the egos of management and staff by making endless cups of tea and coffee and toast every morning.
Pros
None
Cons
Standing and waiting around to make tea/ coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good luck
Manager (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands2 November 2018
A company that realises it needs to change. With luck, the good managers will be patient and stay. I personally hope the company does well as the owner has set a strong set of values. These values get diluted in the management layer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Willenhall, West Midlands12 October 2018
good work and good pay, employee's are kind, working environment is great, easy to stay motivated whilst working, training is easy to follow and you are advised accordingly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rude management
Supervisor - Full Time (Former Employee) –  Louth, Lincolnshire8 October 2018
Face has to fit, manager uses swearing to motivate. Often told faking this faking that, only for strong hearted. Shops are pristine though very modern, advancement is again if face fits. Promised training nothing delivered
Pros
Discount and salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for!!
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Teams, Tyne and Wear22 September 2018
My partner had a miscarriage which required me to be with her. Management classed this as an absence with no compassionate leave or grievance. Was told it would go on my record and would be held against me in future. Absolutely ashamed to say I worked for them.
Pros
None
Cons
Management are heartless
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
picker (Former Employee) –  talbot green13 August 2018
A good company to work for if you want to earn good money, issues can arise in terms of not having equipment to do your job which results in you working longer
Pros
opportunity to earn good money
Cons
long hours, miss management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Willenhall19 July 2018
Great People to work with , great rates of pay , shame about the demanding bonus system.

Could do with lowering the bonus system and helping staff acheieve there bonus by not sending them to different departments all the while.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Bad bonus scheme
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Order Processing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pontyclun, Rhondda Cynon Taff1 May 2018
Great atmosphere, friendly people. Lots of different jobs to do so always occupied, which makes the day go quicker. Management is good and friendly and treat you as an equal.
Pros
people, environment, fun
Cons
time of hours, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have to fit in
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire24 April 2018
If your face doesn’t fit you are ignored by some staff , you are taken on as part time but end up with full time hours , be prepared to work lots of days with only one day off at a time , hours are given to some staff ie favourites and you end up doing all the other hours if you value your weekends stay clear you never get a full weekend off , and you work like a dog while other staff stand doing nothing
Pros
Non
Cons
Long hours no days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Pontyclun, Rhondda Cynon Taff10 April 2018
I first worked for cappa and then af blakemore logistics took over from cappa about six years ago it not bad company to work for I am shop steward down in af blakemore logistics for the usdaw union I enjoy my job but it is time for a change need Monday to Friday to spend more time with my family .
Pros
Cateen
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours,no social life
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  West Midlands7 March 2018
Company is failing they have got a big turn over but profit is tiny, equipment is outdated and unsafe to use at most times only decent part of working for this company is a good work team if your in the right department
Pros
Not any
Cons
Unsafe working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going culture but no chance for advancement
Retail IT (Current Employee) –  Willenhall10 January 2018
Advancement is only possible if you have been here for 10+years

If you dont want to advance then it is a good 9 to 5 job

Training is normally in house but some jobs offers industry standard certfication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Order Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton5 October 2017
Long hours only casional seasonal working. Achive a daily score out of 100%. theirs discount on whateva product you purchase from the stores. Fun work place to work if you like long hours and order picker/Labeling goods.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does alot for the community
Manager (Current Employee) –  Wales3 September 2017
This is a good family run company to work for. They do a lot for the community and charity. They do well to keep you updated with everything going on with the company and if you work hard it will be recognised
Pros
Awards for excellence
Cons
Quite a pressured environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Wednesbury, West Midlands4 July 2017
the Staff at Blakemores HR department were very helpful and friendly. The work was fulfilling and interesting, and worth doing. very good company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a productive work place
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport, Newport19 May 2017
this company was a very good company I would advise many people to work there. I left the company to further my career and the was issues in the work place
Pros
good buy products from cash and carry
Cons
manegement is alawys hectic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery, fresh.frozen and non grocery products
clerk and team leader (Former Employee) –  Willenhall27 April 2017
Called customers and took there orders. Put the orders in run order and then invoiced. Also worked in the claims departments and chilled/frozen department.
Pros
30 minutes lunch & no breaks
Cons
worked 37 hours plus overtime and bank holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail workplace
Sales and Service (Former Employee) –  Sulley, Uk20 April 2017
I worked there as a Sales and service officer , again in UK under a british manager.
Learned a lot and really cherish the memories of working in such a place.
Pros
Flexible shifts
Cons
no place to sit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work for
HGV Class 1 & Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Willenhall, West Midlands29 March 2017
I have enjoyed working at A.F. Blakemore for over 10 years. I started as a Chilled Assembler and I have worked my way through. I now hold a full HGV Driving licence and fully enjoy driving. But after the transport department was taken over by new management I felt the work load had changed.
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Unappreciated in my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A.F. Blakemore and Sons Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 36 reviews
59
49
313
23
12

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.3Culture

A.F. Blakemore and Sons Ltd Reviews by Location