Yodel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Manager (Former Employee) –  Farnborough, Hampshire17 October 2017
Expect to work 6 days a week as standard, 7 for the six weeks of Christmas.

You’ll average a minimum of 60 hours a week.

Most of the team are nice, you always get one or two rotten apples, who ruin the overall feel.

Has the potential to be so much more than it is.
Pros
None
Cons
Hours, treatment of staff by senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gloucestershire10 October 2017
Nice staff and management but in my eyes they are incompetent and unable to manage warehouse. Shortage of vans and equipment and sometimes a shortage of staff. Management are friendly but I say it again incompetent (pass the blame) not me it should be her not me it’s my dogs job, Needs a big review Long hours are expected and the pay is not the best.
Pros
Chilled out and friendly
Cons
Long hours expected and unorganised warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life balance
Service Centre Manager (Former Employee) –  Farnborough9 October 2017
long hours starting early.

To ensure that all FTE 3PL contractors and driver are available,

and ensure that all customer expectations and agreed SLA re met and achieved
Pros
n/a
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long shifts but great staff
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester8 October 2017
very relaxed place to work, busy shifts but good managers and friendly colleagues, miss so many of the people i worked with, decent job security, but very few benefits.
Pros
good staff
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivery driver
Multi Drop Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Middleton4 October 2017
its a good job delivering multiple parcel's throughout the uk.... in a Mercedes sprinter van getting to know customers an travel directions working Saturday shift
Pros
meet new faces
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Saturday Driver (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham3 October 2017
I worked for Yodel as a Saturday driver and just wasted my own time. Wasn't trained properly
Management didn't care and just sent me out to partner another person who didn't seem to want to teach me anything
People bad mouthing senior people in their presence and and a blind eye turned
People kicking and throwing parcels with no regard for peoples property
I left after 5 weeks having learned nothing and before I was due out alone, luckily I have a week day job and this was just extra money to save and I could live without it
Pros
None
Cons
No training, bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
Courier Driver (Current Employee) –  Selby, North Yorkshire2 October 2017
No communication from head office.
Completely faceless industry .
No gratitude for hard work .
No recognition for anything ..
Long hours rubbish pay..
Pros
None
Cons
No security ..
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
courier
Multi-drop Driver (Former Employee) –  Alfreton16 September 2017
was enjoyable but very long hours....14 to 15 some days. but got well paid. could see most driver were really knackered. If youve got no kids or mrs then this would be great for you!
Pros
great pay packit
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Multi-drop Driver (Former Employee) –  Brighton13 September 2017
Nice to be out driving around and seeing places, even in inclement weather. And a real sense of pride in making people's lives better: bringing medicine or a children's gift or just a thing they were waiting for. It was a real pleasure, but only seasonal, so no career advancement and I was made redundant within a few weeks, as I had no van of my own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok but not happy with the way they treat you saying you have to be there for 7am when 9am still can finish by 6pm
Driving (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands12 September 2017
Got loads of experience in van driving an drops an home deliverys think there load is ok done loads of courier service aswell .so i think yodel is a very good based job but hard graft tough .
Pros
Ok
Cons
Too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wrexham, Wrexham11 September 2017
The company throws you in the deep end expecting you to do over time every month. Poor family life whilst working here. If you want cash in hand work this is the place for you as they will take anyone on so you can avoid paying your taxes but will pay poor. No breaks and long days on the road. No wonder this company is badly portrayed. The company is not legit it does not care for staff members and parcels are always thrown around and misplaced.
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Quedgeley, Gloucestershire5 September 2017
Worked there during agency and it was not a bad place to work, always knew my responsibilities and they were fair and realistic. Also the staff were friendly and helped when I needed it.
Pros
Good break
Cons
Inconsistent shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parcels carriers
Parcel Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bar Hill, Cambridgeshire5 September 2017
Not the best place I've work staff was bit rude never willing to lend a hand management had no clue what was really going on money ok but could be better
Pros
Night work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The more you do the more they want
Driver (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall27 August 2017
Dont bother, i worked as employed, you are expected to drive at speed limit of the road, long hours, flat rate overtime, pressurised into doing more and more, no home life, parcels have no weight limit, often parcels strapped together and treated as one parcel...AVOID
Pros
Meetin people
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire22 August 2017
I enjoyed working with yodel it was a fun place to work .management were not bad .my coworkers were very hard working as well and we all got on well as a team
Pros
Long break
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Leamington Spa13 August 2017
I worked at Yodel as a Saturday driver, to gain some driving experience for my class 2 test which benefited me a lot.

I found some managers very helpful, and some not. Everybody seemed pretty helpful if I needed help.

I would start at 530am and finish anytime between 1530-1700pm with 70 parcels.

70 parcels doesn't seem a lot, but the gps your given is useless at times... taken you down wrong routes etc...

Expect a lot of house names which are very hard to find.
Pros
Paid on time Helpful staff
Cons
poor gps some unhelpful managers multi drop
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Driver (Former Employee) –  manchester.11 August 2017
Awful company to work for, you have to attempt a delivery, at least 3 times, and the collections are the same, so the customer does not make the effort to be in, and you only get paid, once you have delivered or collected the parcel, so you could make 6 attempts, and only get paid for 2, don`t bother
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very long hours of work
Drivers Mate (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury10 August 2017
Good job being at New places all the time meeting friendly people but then there is bad side to it very long hours of work and the money wasn't that great
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Money wasnt worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Wrexham9 August 2017
my time working at yodel was a pleasant enough experience however i was promised a full time contract and was let down massively by management. i was strung along for two months and at the end of that two months there was no contract which left a sour taste in my mouth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering parcels and meeting new people.
Delivery Driver (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Ramsgate6 August 2017
Enjoyed my time here meeting new people have regulars to deliver to. Fitted around home life. Would recommend the job to other people. Need to have a fare sized vehicle for all the parcels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yodel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 406 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.8
Culture
2.8