Wren Kitchens Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unlikely place to get a career
ASM (Former Employee) –  York, North Yorkshire17 January 2018
Not the best place, management changes a lot which un settles.
Training programme good but poor support once in showrooms.
All about figures, they find ways to penalise when they can.
Hard place to stay motivated to work.
Pros
Can be lucrative, training is good.
Cons
Long hours, high expectations. Impersonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Multiple Stores General Manager (Former Employee) –  Oxford, Oxfordshire16 January 2018
regional manager and retail director are vergood, hard work pays off good pay good commissions demading daily targets but achivable all in all a very good company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only pro was the money
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire13 January 2018
The only pro to this role was the money and some of the Friends I made.

Middle management were awful and non supportive. Got made to feel the job was not secure on a daily basis.

At one point one of the managers in a team meeting even said that people had to think if the job was for them and to leave if they didn't like what she had to say.

Hardly any progression.

Talked to like rubbish from designers when didn't get their own way.

Customers didn't get items and we were told we needed to charge for them when it was not the customers fault.

I left on my own accord.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, could not get out of seat, business ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place
Kitchen Designer (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth9 January 2018
Days were extremely busy but enjoyable. Downsides were no time to have lunch or breals. The company expected this from all members of staff. No option to take time back or be paid for the extra hours that you work.
It was a challenging roll on a daily basis. All staff are contracted to 44 hrs per week over a 6 day period. Time away from work was not enough. On average it was more like 50 hrs per week. Sales period would increase to anything up to 60 hrs plus but again no time back and no option to have it paid as overtime. The staff are very click and tended to bully.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Kitchen Designer / Cad Designer (Former Employee) –  Birstall, West Yorkshire5 January 2018
1. train you to in sales before even designing, how can you give customers what they want when you dont know what your doing.

2. minimum wage, do not listen to the 30k yearly salary its a load of rubbish. expect £800 a month wage for at least 3 months.

3. very childish atmosphere with next to no help with what your doing.

4. 30 hour contract signed but was given 34 hours in the week to work (when quested just said to shut up and leave it).

5. expected to work 50 hours plus in peak times with no overtime at all. most of this time your sat doing nothing.

6. any mistake done wrong on kitchen plans you pay 50% of it so that comes out your wage and you cannot contest this.

7. 2 year contract so they can get rid of you if your not performing or say something the company doesn't like.
Pros
nothing, im being serous about this
Cons
just do not work here
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as amazing job
Kitchens designer (Former Employee) –  Chester4 January 2018
it was really great job with very good experience but I had to leave to join my family great team work with an amazing team management I hope they open in northen ireland
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Kitchen designer (Current Employee) –  Leeds28 December 2017
Training was 2 weeks wasted learning the wrong kind of things, no support once back in the store - training is promised time and time again but never materialises and they wonder why you don't improve but you ask for support and get ignored staff turnover is terrible for this reason, you're encouraged to lie to customers and pass the book. No one higher up will take responsibility when things do go wrong and your hands as a colleague are tied. Currently looking for other work after being there 6 months as the company is a joke who doesn't care about staff or customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Junior Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Howden13 December 2017
Stupid menagment, stupid people. Wasting of time, resources, calm. When after one year I ask for changing departament I got fired. Very bad place. Workcamp
Pros
no agency. but you still have no rights
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare company
Dispatch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Howden22 November 2017
There is no choice of overtimes.u have to stay at overtime everytime.employees are nothing for company managment .They doesnt care about employees.Comunication language is polish
Pros
correct pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
goals
Information Advisor (Former Employee) –  Southend1 November 2017
at work i like learning new things everyday but have new goals everyday. some jobs can be boring but i like to make them fun and better but every job iv had has had goals and i have completed them goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional place to work
Installation Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Barton-upon-Humber17 October 2017
Excellent place to work.
The company is expanding and there are a lot of opportunities to progress which include new roles that are being created as a result of the company's success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don't consider working at Wren Kitchens
Kitchen Designer (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, Gloucestershire11 October 2017
Pay is very poor. Contract 30 hours but expected to work more, for the same pay. You might not get the commission you expect due to claw backs. Your customers are given to other designers who are favoured. Boy culture of smoking and talking football. Very unprofessional. I have never worked anywhere like it, please avoid this company.

The pros of parking outside and free coffee are not unique to Wren so go elsewhere to get them - or even get paid enough to buy your own coffee
Pros
there are none
Cons
terrible management, huge turnover of staff. products not up to standard
Was this review helpful?Yes 38NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very low integrity business
Kitchen Designer (Current Employee) –  Colchester, Essex2 October 2017
Pay was good when I joined but company now charge you for every mistake which is fair but when they charge you at 50% of cost you can quickly loose all commission earned on the sale. I have also been charged for items that was not my mistake. Simply a case of customer change mind. If you complain about a charge against you the company believe it or not charge you £100 so you have no Human resources to complain to. They will happily deduct 50% off your salary by taking back commission if a kitchen is not delivered in 6 months. You are encouraged to sell at all cost but management will be first to throw you under the bus if any issues arise. Head office management also do not care about customers once they have a customers money. I find working with the low integrity and lies very difficult
Pros
None
Cons
dishonest leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the wore place i have ever worked
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey22 September 2017
they dont care about any customer just making enough money to fund the drug and drink habbis.
you will be expected to work 12 hour days and only be paid for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Engagement / Sales advisor (Former Employee) –  Ipswich, Suffolk20 September 2017
Wren is a great company with a lot of training and guidance to ensure employees are excelling in their job. The management are very good and will always be supportive and happy to help any customers or kitchen designers.
Pros
Fantastic working environment
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 39Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management no idea
Kitchen Designer and surveyor (Former Employee) –  Colchester18 September 2017
you are pushed to make a sale on the day ... if no sale your manager will drop the price until the customer buys or walks out. You will have to phone the customer within 72 hours to push home the sale, if still no sale you will have to carry on harrying the customer by phone and email.
Most of your day is standing around or chasing outstanding customers.
Pros
pay
Cons
hours, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good as long as it's busy
Information Advisor (Current Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester17 September 2017
During the busy period it's great because you can make a lot of commission but when it's not busy your wage can be very low.

Since I have been there I have worked 72 hours overtime and have not been paid for any of it and still waiting 3 months on.
Pros
The chance to make great money with commissions
Cons
Majority of wage is commission based
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviews misleading, most enjoyable job
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barton-upon-Humber, Lincolnshire6 September 2017
After reading reviews before I started I was very hesitant to accept, however I went for it and have to say I am happy I did, the management is relaxed and helpful, the team is very welcoming and never failed to help me if and when I've been stuck, as long as you do your job and crack on during the day you won't find a more pleasent job, half an hour unpaid break but you barely notice it, being busy throughout the day makes your days fly. Overall good team, good company reccomended!
Pros
Very welcoming team
Cons
Unpaid break
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 31Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely people and company to work with
Driver mate porter (Former Employee) –  Seven beach avonmonth5 September 2017
Work hard be polite to customers be a good time keeper handle goods with good care I only left there to look for work in Somerset to see more of my wife and for a better life
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Long hours and very early
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spoilt by install team
Designer (Former Employee) –  Aylesford, Kent1 September 2017
You work so hard to create the perfect design for the customer only for the experience to be tainted by the poor install team . The management are more for some employees then others
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wren Kitchens. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.4
Based on 90 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.3
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
1.8
Management
2.0
Culture
2.1